We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tampa/Embassy Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites w/ Bkfst from $99
Ranked #54 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tampa/Embassy Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very good location if you have business at the Tampa Convention Center. Otherwise, not a lot to do in downtown Tampa, which obviously isn't Embassy Suites' fault. No major complaints, though I hate that I had to deal with valet parking. The room was clean, though the pillows were too soft. In-room Internet was a rip-off at $15 per night, though at least it worked w/o issues. It was quiet; I was not woken up during the night. My room had two nice flat screen TV, which was crucial since I had a very important hockey game to watch after my business concluded. (Go Blackhawks!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    260
    120
    48
    48
See reviews for
171
171
34
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The usual two room suite which is excellent. Nicely furnished and clean. Helpful staff. If you are going to an event at the Convention Center this is great as there is an elevated walkway to the center. The price was reasonable, at least at the convention rate.

Would have been 5 rating, but the in-house restaurant/bar is very limited. The food is good however and we ate there twice for the convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. They gave us adjoining rooms, as well as a corner king, which was much larger and nicer than the typical Embassy Suites room. This hotel is newer than many Embassy Suites, though it does maintain the atrium style. It has many floors, but is extremely narrow - making it slightly scary when looking down from your upper floor hotel room. Recommend staying on a low floor if you have a fear of heights. The third floor pool is small, but nice for relaxing as it has jets - they call it a spa/swim pool. Temperature was great. Breakfast was standard Embassy Suites fare, no Belgian waffles to my family's dismay. Manager's reception has chips, pretzels, and dips. Location is wonderful; great view of the river walk and super close to the airport. Hotel connects to the convention center. We could see the cable car from our window, but didn't have time to give it a try to see the rest of downtown Tampa. Only negative would be that the room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon (e.g., we left for the day and came back; the room was not done; we had to call the front desk to get this done).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent hotel in downtown Tampa. Good value for the price. Beautiful lobby and amenities. Next door to the convention center, this hotel is very convenient for business travelers. Excellent staff that are friendly and willing to address any questions guests may have. Rooms are clean and fresh. Beautiful views! It is a great value in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooksville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our view from our hotel was very pictoric. My children totally enjoyed the breakfast, having 4 kids they had a lot to choice from. even though we had a car the public transportation was just outside the hotel. Only issue was that it's start run was after 12 noon. This is one place we plan to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Twenty floors with each floor overlooking the lobby; elevators that you can either view Tampa or the inside of the hotel.
The breakfast is nice with made to order omelettes. At night, the hotel offers free drinks and bar food (pretzels, chips, and salsa).
Now the problems:
The carpet in the room was dirty or should I say stained? The carpet did not need to be cleaned, but it probably should have been replaced. There was the imprint of an iron on the carpet and other stains. The carpet to entrance of bedroom was coming up.
There was no place to hang hand towels in the bathroom other than a hook on the back of the bathroom door.
The parking is $22 per day. This is Tampa. The Waldorf Astoria in Orlando is $20 per day.
And as a business traveler this was particularly frustrating: the business center is an afterthought. The printer did not work. There was no tape, staples, or paperclips in the business center. I had to repeatedly go to the front desk for things. I had to email a staff member my documents to print. This is pretty low rent for an Embassy Suites.

And to top it off, when I mentioned my concerns to a front desk staff member, I was told to email my concerns to a manager which I did on June 20. A week later and I have not received a response. That's a bit annoying for a Hilton Honors gold level member.

One of the few bright spots was April when I checked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel tops the bar in great breakfast omelets to order - done quickly and professionally. Entire complementary breakfast was excellent if you don't care for omelets. The managers reception was very high in value with excellent bartenders and limited snacks. In any case, a great job at the start and end of the day!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#54 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#54 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.