We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a great downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $119
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hernando, FL (ex-new yorker)
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with a great downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We checked in early around 1:30 and the checkin was quick and efficient. We noticed the lobby and atrium were a bit smaller than most Embassy Suites we have been to. The room was very clean and we were very happy it was very quiet too! We used the outside swimming area
which is kind of unique as it is more of a very big outdoor spa with jets. It was heated which was fortunate as the weather for April on Easter was cool. The Free Managers Reception was like most other Embassy Suites and very nice. Custom made omeletes the next morning were excellent too. Only thing we were not happy with was very high valet parking fee. We would
stay here again!

Room Tip: Left sided rooms have a nice view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    298
    136
    56
    49
See reviews for
203
202
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

No Convention going, so very quiet. But took avantage of Trolley stop in front of Hotel, Jackson's Bistro had excellent Sushi, beautiful RIverwalk, Yankee Spring Training game, and an Excellent Breakfast.

If you haven't tried an Embassy Suites I recommend it, this may be the one to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a terrible experience my family and I had at this hotel. Carpet was all stained, furniture torn and dirty, could here pool pump from 3rd floor, we were on 5th floor....
room too cold...if tried to raise it there was a burning smell.
Only lukewarm water and then would turn to cold and then too hot...staff said to let it run for 20 minutes!
Breakfast was awful.
Lost an item during housecleaning
Just an unpleasant experience overall
would not stay here ever again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand how important a hot shower and clean, comfortable environment is for our guest. We are actively addressing these issues and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and opinions with me. Our guests comfort and safety are my first priorities. We'd really hate to lose you as a valuable guest. I hope that when you travel back to the area you will consider staying with us again. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent one night in Tampa during spring break and wanted a hotel close to the Forum for a Lightning game. Not a lot of options and this hotel looked pretty good. The hotel itself was nice. Room clean, great view of the Forum and Bay - get a front facing corner room. Comfy beds. Pull out couch TERRIBLE. So uncomfortable.
Elevator situation awful. Not enough for the number of guests. Had to wait 10 mins and the mornings are the worse getting down if not on a high floor. Check in extremely slow - maybe hiring a few more front desk staff during peak hours a good idea???
Breakfast good if you can get a table - which is a challenge. A lot of used, dirty dishes scattered over the restaurant area and lobby as no clear place to put them
Valet parking a zoo! Took longer to get out of hotel in the morning than to eat breakfast. Good idea to send one person down with valet ticket while others are waiting for an elevator with room in it for luggage!
Overall - great location, great beds, clean room, poor service and elevators!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed with the elevator wait, and having to wait at valet for your vehicle.

I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We found this hotel a convenient location for exploring Tampa's waterfront. Riverwalk, the Trolley and the Streetcar are right outside the door. As well, there are some nice restaurants nearby - we had excellent sushi at Jackson's Bistro while sitting outside enjoying the view. I think we got one of the nicer rooms, on the 19th floor at the west end. It had views both east and west with very comfortable double beds. As Hilton Gold members we also got free internet and bottled water. We did find the breakfast buffet got jammed up a bit but the hotel had a server dish out the hot items which sped that process up. Be aware that the Trolley does not run at convenient times for tourists (6:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.). Also downtown Tampa really empties out and is quiet after all the office workers go home. We are not sure how comfortable we would be walking some of the streets after dark (and we live in downtown Toronto!). Minor quibbles with the hotel: the in-room safe was locked when we checked in, the clock was still showing the old time before the time change in March (and is impossible to figure out how to change). Although we did not hear our next door neighbours when they were in their suite, we could hear them loud and clear in the hallway.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1901 at the west end of the hallway. It looks like the biggest suite on the floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

All up a reasonable hotel, generally good service. Unfortunately our first week was during 'spring break', the queues for breakfast were endless and often could not get a table once you had your food. Similarily during the evening 'free managers coctails' very crowded, difficult to get a seat to enjoy your drink. The valet parking queues were again quite long during the spring break period.

Once spring break was over, service and queues were far better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate your flexibility and patience as we experienced during our peak season. All of our guests' comfort and convenience is very important to us and we certainly do our best to ensure this. Your feedback will help us to reevaluate our staffing levels during such high occupancy so we can be more mindful of our efforts and focus our attention on each individual guest. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a good hotel for 1 or 2 nites business stay thats all. First the check inn process is extremely slow it took them 25 minutes to check me in and forget about your Hilton Status they just don't honored the sign is in place but just for show. Horrible check inn experience not only for me but also for other people including my colleagues that came an hour earlier and it was not rush hour. Also if you call the front desk to notify that you are leaving earlier make sure you write down the name of the person you talk too because they will try to charge you another night , they did with me! My colleague was not so lucky and the lady in the front desk with attidude told her in my face to call Hilton Honors desk because she could not do anything for her however, she did for me!!! Also make sure you requeste room service because if not they won't show up thats it. Checkin out another problem YES Manager call your staff you do have a serious customer service problem I did check out on 4/2/2013. Valet parking good . If you have business in Tampa ok but if you are going on vacations please they are many other choices. NO I dont recommend this hotel is just another Embassy , Clean very nice but with poor customer service attention. Breakfast is very good and the staff great but the welcome and check out committee need to be retrain!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I truly apologize for the delays during check-in, service issues, and misunderstanding at check-out. I can assure you that this type of poor service is very rare for us, however; I can very much empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your loyalty as a rewards member and feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration and addressed. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.