We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $189/nt
Ranked #47 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice,clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The location was great as was close to cruise port. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lighting was bad in the living area as are most Embassy Suites. The breakfast was good and the managers reception was nice in that they offered it daily. The snacks at the managers reception were greatly lacking. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again,but think it is pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    315
    146
    61
    54
See reviews for
222
220
36
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was not impressed by this Embassy Suites. First of all, everything seems really "cramped" when you first walk in - the lobby, the Trolley restaurant, the fitness center, and the pool (although the rooms are very spacious). The main issue I had was that my air conditioner wouldn't go above 69 degrees. An engineer came to take a look at it and he changed a sensor in the unit, but it still didn't work after he left. I would turn the unit to 77 degrees before bed, and woke up to a cold 69 degrees.

I really appreciated the free breakfast, but it was always crowded and the food wasn't the best - lots of variety (pancakes, eggs, bacon, omelets, cereals, etc.) but not the best quality (eggs/pancakes were room temperature). There is a nice Starbucks in the lobby if you'd prefer that for breakfast, and a Publix a 1/2 mile away.

The rooms are very spacious with 2 large TVs, a sitting area, and small kitchen table, and I enjoyed having a mini-fridge and microwave in my room. However, little things like a napkin wadded up in the air vent and hair on the bedspread grossed me out. The shower temperature went back and forth between hot and cold and the water pressure wasn't very strong. There were a lot of events and conventions in Tampa during my stay, so perhaps the lack of service was due to the number of people.

Valet parking is $22/night, and Internet is $15/day/device, which make the stay a little pricey. Great location and most of the staff is nice, especially the valet staff. Internet was fast once you paid, and I slept really well. Overall, my stay was fairly comfortable minus a few annoyances, but I don't know if I'd stay again. My preferred choice is the Marriott Waterside right across the street.

Room Tip: A corner room had 2 windows, and the higher floors have great city/bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed.

I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is my first review.
i had the most pleasing surprise when checking in.

i was greeted by Sam, the Bell Man who gladly helped me with all my luggage we brought to the convention.

Then at the front desk by the manager who gave us a nice welcome.

You can feel how important customer service is at this hotel on every step you make.

The manager gave me a medallion and told me to award it to the employee who really make my stay enjoyable.

I knew right away it would be Sam who really goes out of his way to help in any way he can.

To our surprise when we came to our room tonight a big bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us to celebrate our anniversary compliments of the hotel!!!!.

This is our second night and so far we are very pleased!

Room Tip: High floor has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff have it together @ this hotel, courteous attentive & very professional, a pleasure to stay @ this hotel. The view & amenities are top notch. Very convenient to the Convention center. The breakfast was more than adequate.The staff make the vist very pleasurable including front desk ladies that were there on Sunday.STAFF DESERVE A RAISE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent two nights at the Embassy Suites Downtown Convention Center in Tampa. This was 2 days prior to a large convention in Tampa, so the hotel was crowded. The room was fine, comfortable, but some of the other advertised amenities was less than what I expected. The good, the cooked to order breakfast was excellent. There was an omelet station, and steam table with scrambled eggs, link sausage, bacon and home fries. Pancakes and oatmeal were also offered with yogurt, fruit, juices, toast, bagels, No complaints there. The also advertise a "manager's reception" in the evening with appetizers. Chips, salsa and pretzels were the only offering. Drinks at the bar were reduced but I didn't partake. Another sore spot was the WiFi. $15 per day. To access WiFi, I went across the street to the Marriott which had free WiFi in their lobby. You'd think they have WiFi in the lobby. Another sore spot was the so called business center -- a caged room with a few computers and a printer but it's kind of hard to print boarding passes when the printer is out of order. So a mixed bag of experience -- a nice room but not so nice with amenities, except for the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your business travels to the area. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet selections and have shared your compliments with our culinary team. I regret to hear that you were disappointed by some of the amenity charges. We're always looking for ways to keep costs low without sacrificing quality amenities and services. Your feedback lets me know that we need to reevaluate our current offerings and make some changes. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you'll come back to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Enjoyed our stay before our cruise. Hotel was beautiful. Rooms spaceous. Free breakfast was wonderful. Will stay here again if in the area. We walked to the cruise port cause it was that close. The riverwalk is nice. Street car/Trolley right outside of hotel to take you to Ybor City and many other places.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel would be great, we were with two other couples, and their rooms were in diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I just spent 4 days at this hotel.for a convention. It is very convenient and close to the convention center. When I arrived, the front desk clerks were snippy and rude. When we got to our room, we had to call housekeeping for facial tissue and toiletry items. The next day, we had to call for clean towels. The same snippy clerks were on the front desk and just as snippy. Finally, on the 3rd day they had very nice helpful front desk clerks. They were very nice and finally we felt like we were in an Embassy Suites. The rooms are smaller than other Embassy Suites I have stayed in. The breakfast is great, but Trolley's is nothing to get excited about. This is the worst Embassy Suites I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so all the windows were on outside walls instead of the inner corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for the poor level of service you received. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and your review has provided valuable insight. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you will consider giving us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.