We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites w/ Bkfst from $99
Ranked #55 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
tampa
2 reviews
“Last Minute reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Had to book unexpectedly but was treated like family. didnt try the restaurant but loved my stay. The property is very clean which is most important to me If it wasnt I would Have walked out on the spot

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    272
    125
    51
    48
See reviews for
185
178
35
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place if you don't care to sleep at all. Clean and the staff seems very pleasant, however the noise level is beyond ridiculous. I am here now and wish I could post the audio of what I am listening to. Even in a suite with the interior door closed can hear this. Save yourself the money and stay anywhere else. I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I’m sorry your comfort has been disrupted by neighboring noises. I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not a problem in the future.

Warm regards,

Jason Bowers
Front Office Manager
jason.bowers@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here the night prior to leaving on a cruise. Close to Carnival Cruise terminal. Great sized rooms.Friendly front desk staff. Had free Managers party in bar in the evening with free drinks and dips etc. Although foyer was full of noisy football fans, in our room it was quiet. Nice pool for a swim in the afternoon. Tram stop out the front of the hotel to get to tourist locations. Would definitely stay again if in Tampa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Many travellers find out location to the Port of Tampa convenient. I will defintely pass your kind words along to our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel for my business trip which included a gig at the convention center in downtown Tampa. The rooms are beautifully updated, with nice furnishings and great amenities. As a Diamond Hilton member, I received an 'upgrade' to a double-bed suite, even though I was jealous of the Marriott residents across the street with balconies on their rooms. That said, the rooms here were very spacious, and mine had a nice view of the Bay.

Pros:
Great rooms, great views
Trolley stop literally right in front of the hotel - we went to Ybor City and had a great dinner.
Third floor balcony pool
Bridge to Convention Center
Giftshop - friendly staff and surprisingly well-stocked
Valet staff - friendly and busy!

Cons:
Third floor fitness facility - small, in some disrepair (especially ellipticals), and light weights - dumbbells maxed out at 20#
Trolley's Restaurant - bland chicken noodle soup, and the pistachio-encrusted salmon I ordered to go to my suite was whitefish. Really? Did they think I wouldn't notice?

With some minor attention to detail, this place could be top-notch. As it is today, it's well worth a visit if you'll be in the downtown vicinity.

Room Tip: Go for a Bay view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team. I hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's 2:30 in the morning and I'm on the 19th floor of this otherwise lovely hotel. For the past 4 hours our room has been vibrating due to extremely loud music playing at Jackson's bistro which I'm told is somewhere in the vicinity. The front desk tells us they have received tons of calls and that they've called the police however the music just keeps getting louder and louder. I am disgusted and disappointed, called the police myself and was told that Jackson's will play their music loudly until 3:00 AM. My husband and I came to Tampa for a relaxing night away, used 40,000 HHonors points to listen ghetto, gangsta music until 3:00 AM....will never come back here!

Room Tip: Stay away or bring sleeping pills and ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty as a rewards member and your candid feedback. Your comfort and safety to us is a top priority and we will do everything we can to ensure that. I have shared your comments with our leadership team. We will be meeting with Jackson's management to seek a swift and appropriate resolution to the noise issue. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will reconsider staying with us again for a quieter experience.

Sincerely,

Jason Bowers
Director of Front Office
jason.bowers@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of November for a weekend break before heading to a photo seminar at the convention centre.

We live in Orlando so its a short easy drive and we arrived much earlier than we thought we might as we were anticipating having to work in the morning, called the front desk on our way to the hotel and we were told we could check in early no problem.

Our Hilton Honors requests were met and we were on the top floor of the hotel away from the elevator. Rooms are nicely appointed and modern, obviously they keep up on maintenance as there was a guy caulking in the room when we arrived! No biggie he was very polite and was finished anyway - remember we were super early.

Managers reception is a nice touch and busy on a Saturday night it was popular! On the second night it was much quieter and held in Trolleys bar. We ate dinner in there, which was delicious, reasonably priced and service was OK. Breakfast was busy both mornings but excellent and the omelet guys and girls worked super fast to get everyone served. Choice of other items was great too, the usual toast, fruit, cereal as well as complementary hot items like potatoes and sausage.

Great location to ride the trolley, we bought a 3 day pass for $11.00 each and rode around a lot! Took a trip to Ybor and toured the warship at Channelside and watched the cruise ships.

Monday was my seminar and a really easy walk across the bridge from the hotel had me there in about 3 mins!

Would highly recommend for a short break, ideally situated for a pre cruise stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Would have loved an end room with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Embassy Suites hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here in April. Free breakfast, free drinks, amazing bay views, huge rooms! What more could you ask for! When we first checked in the computer systems were down and the front desk staff kept their cool and checked us in like nothing. That speaks great volumes about the staff! Not letting something out of their control impact their attitudes towards guests. Very nice! The pool could have been slightly warmer, but a unique pool area. The rooms were very clean for the space you get. Restaurant was very good as well, a young lady with black hair served us and she was very personable! Valet staff great and funny as well.
All and all one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We will be back next April!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont miss the breakfast! The men who makes the omelettes are so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for staying here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary Manager’s Reception and “free, cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.