We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 Suites this Spring
Ranked #54 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davenport, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of November for a weekend break before heading to a photo seminar at the convention centre.

We live in Orlando so its a short easy drive and we arrived much earlier than we thought we might as we were anticipating having to work in the morning, called the front desk on our way to the hotel and we were told we could check in early no problem.

Our Hilton Honors requests were met and we were on the top floor of the hotel away from the elevator. Rooms are nicely appointed and modern, obviously they keep up on maintenance as there was a guy caulking in the room when we arrived! No biggie he was very polite and was finished anyway - remember we were super early.

Managers reception is a nice touch and busy on a Saturday night it was popular! On the second night it was much quieter and held in Trolleys bar. We ate dinner in there, which was delicious, reasonably priced and service was OK. Breakfast was busy both mornings but excellent and the omelet guys and girls worked super fast to get everyone served. Choice of other items was great too, the usual toast, fruit, cereal as well as complementary hot items like potatoes and sausage.

Great location to ride the trolley, we bought a 3 day pass for $11.00 each and rode around a lot! Took a trip to Ybor and toured the warship at Channelside and watched the cruise ships.

Monday was my seminar and a really easy walk across the bridge from the hotel had me there in about 3 mins!

Would highly recommend for a short break, ideally situated for a pre cruise stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Would have loved an end room with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Embassy Suites hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    231
    105
    42
    43
See reviews for
150
162
33
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here in April. Free breakfast, free drinks, amazing bay views, huge rooms! What more could you ask for! When we first checked in the computer systems were down and the front desk staff kept their cool and checked us in like nothing. That speaks great volumes about the staff! Not letting something out of their control impact their attitudes towards guests. Very nice! The pool could have been slightly warmer, but a unique pool area. The rooms were very clean for the space you get. Restaurant was very good as well, a young lady with black hair served us and she was very personable! Valet staff great and funny as well.
All and all one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We will be back next April!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont miss the breakfast! The men who makes the omelettes are so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for staying here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary Manager’s Reception and “free, cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before our Western Caribbean cruise on Norwegian Dawn. Before arriving in Tampa I called the hotel to inquire about airport transportation. Embass Suites is contracted with The Blue One transportation Service. We were picked up at the airport within 5 minutes of picking up our luggage. The driver told us about an all-inclusive transportation package which would take us from the airport to the hotel, then to the cruise terminal the next morning and then from the cruise terminal to the airport when we returned from our cruise. It was flawless and for a total cost of $46.00 for two it couldn't be beat. Our room was a standard 2 room suite. I am a HHonors Diamond member but we arrived too early (10:30 am) to get an upgrade. The room was comfortable. We needed some pre-cruise supplies and Publix & CVS are a short 10 minute walk. The manager's reception is always a nice touch. Breakfast was fine although the pancakes were actually cold. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and actually wish we had more time to enjoy what Tampa has to affoer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown before departing on your cruise. I will share your kind words with our team members. Hope to see you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel should be number one in Tampa, the service and amenities are ridiculous. First you get breakfast included. Great breakfast included, they even make omeletes made to order, i prefer to stay healthy so i like egg whites omelete, I asked the blonde girl that was doing and she said "it would be a pleasure" she was interacting while she still had a big line. Jessica at check in was very friendly, and since I was celebrating a friend's birthday, I got upgrade to the top floor, it's nice to see that people still care to make special dates a little more special. The rooms are big and has everything you need. You can see that it comes down from leader shift, the front office manager Jason was very helpfull, from the very first begining. He helped us to get last minute rooms, and we never felt like an inconvinience. We look forward to come back to this hotel and send everyone here.

Oh, of course, free drinks from 5:30 to 7:30. NO JOKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Jessica was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with her. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just arrived so will write more later. Here for Thanksgiving with my family. First, parking is a mess here. Second, Although I am a Gold member I was told there was no upgrade as the hotel was sold out. I find the statement is not the case. I even offered to pay for an upgrade. I plan to switch my Loyalty to Marriot. Enough of Hilton,

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving with us. We appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member and value your feedback. We regret that we could not offer a room upgrade due to full occupancy but we would be happy to discuss your stay further. Please contact us at jason.bowers@hilton.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is great. I've stayed here a few times over the past few years for weddings, workshops and conventions. Rooms are typical Embassy suites. Nice big living area, and mini kitchen area, small economical bathrooms and nice sized bedrooms. Floor 19, the room we were given for this stay 1910 has a great view overlooking Tampa. The pool on level 3 is very nice and has a great view. The complementary cocktail reception and cooked to order breakfast are great additions for the price. The trolley stop just outside is perfect for hopping on to go to dinner and drinks without having to take a cab and drive. The only problem that I have had with this hotel in ALL of my past stays for the parking. Valet is $25 per day. The line for parking took us 20 minutes just to get an attendant to help. They were VERY backed up. When having our car pulled around by valet we were told it was "first come first serve" and we waiting 30 minutes to have our car pulled around once down at the valet area. They were swamped. Other then the parking situation a nice hotel for a good price and great perks.

Room Tip: ask for a high room 19 and & have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed your suite at our Embassy Suites. I apologize that the parking was of concern during your time with us. I’ve brought your comments to our team for review. I appreciate your comments and hope that if you're travels bring you back to Tampa that you will choose to stay at our Embassy Suites again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was recommended through trip advisor as a place for a getaway weekend before a cruise. Overall, it was a great find in terms of the bang for your buck. Clean, free breakfast, friendly staff, free happy hour (yes, you read that right), and it was close to the trolley line. In terms of a location..it was easy to find, felt like a safe neighborhood, and seemed centralized.

it's NOT the in the nightlife section of town for a weekend, and didn't have a lot of options around for restaurants/bars. (some, just not tons). We were really disappointed in the Riverwalk - there's really not much there. However, that's not the hotel's fault, just a badly publicized, over exaggerated part of Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Embassy Suites Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
#56 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.