We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Flagship Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $119
Ranked #55 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Flagship Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We all know there are many Embassy Suites in many cities of many stripes. If Hilton wants to point to a property and show how things can be done; this would be the flagship for the ES Brand. Nothing was missed, everything was just as it should be.
Service was professional and not dripping with an artificial tenor. I genuinely believe the staff does care and do everything they can to make the guest visit as memorable as possible.
I have stayed in hundreds of Convention Center Hotels over the years and every single one had an attitude that the conventioner was a captive audience and they knew it and the service reflected it. This property made this guest feel like he was at a resort.
5 Stars just are not enough to describe this property and staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We thank you for your loyalty to Hilton branded hotels and for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your stay during your recent trip to Tampa. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    298
    136
    56
    49
See reviews for
203
201
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 before leaving out of the nearby port on Norwegian Cruise Line. It is very close and convenient, but it was not worth the 393.00 per night. They did not provide complimentary or any service from the airport. That was another 25 dollars for transportation. We decided to save some money and eat at Embassy's famous free manager's reception. They were completely out of all food after only 30 minutes into it. We waited a half hour for some food, and workers said they were not going to refill the food buffet. So that was another 70 dollars for food and transportation for trolley to a restaurant. The workers told us there were no restaurants within walking distance. So we took the trolley, which is right out the front door of the hotel ( that is convenient) The hotel's free shuttle to the cruise port was late and no one seemed to know where to go to wait. One worker said to wait out front at valet, the other said no you have to go in back to wait for the cruise shuttle. We had to wait 50 minutes and could have almost walked if we had a little less luggage. I wrote to management 4 weeks ago and decided to hold off writing a review until i heard back, in order to give them a chance to explain their mistakes. I never heard back from mgmt, so I decided I needed to warn people that this is not worth nearly $400 per night. Realistically, in all fairness to the hotel, it would be worth the level of service if you get it in the 80-100 dollar/nite range. And I would quite possibly stay here again if it was under 100 dollars/nite. A person can tolerate all of the incoveniences we had if you were paying 100 bucks. We just frankly did not get that extra services in which paid 300 extra dollars. We had reservations at the Airport Hampton ( I believe) for $89 with free shuttle to and from the airport AND cruise port. We waited until the last minute to cancel the Hampton, deciding to stay right in the thick of all the downtown action at the Embassy. This was a mistake, we talked to other cruisers who did this Hampton package and they were very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Should you have any concerns regarding this stay, please feel free to contact the hotel directly so we could look up your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburbs of Buffalo, Ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before our cruise and we loved it! It was in a very convenient location. There was alot to do and the staff at the hotel was great. Our room was clean and we had a great view of the harbor area. As a matter of fact, we liked it so much we changed our post cruise hotel to stay here again. The only "complaint" I could have was the airport shuttle didn't show up at the top of the hour so we ended up taking a taxi back to the airport...but the hotel doesn't run the shuttle so it really wasn't their fault.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, We appredciate your loyalty. As you stated, the shuttle service is a third party, however, we work very closely with the company and have forwarded your feedback to the copany's management for immediate follow up. We hope to see youn again soon at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This Embassy Suites is located in a convenient location in downtown Tampa. It is within walking distance of many nice restaurants and bars. The hotel very clean and the rooms are very large with a living area and separate bedroom. Front desk staff were friendly and the concierge staff was very knowledgeable and courteous. I was here for a work convention and the meeting rooms were very large and well lit, with great service including water and mints on the tables that were refreshed between sessions.

Now for the not so great points. Like others have said before, valet parking is required and is $20 for overnight, plus tax. But! They do get your car very fast and the parking attendants were very friendly.

There is a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel called Trolleys American Cafe . This is staffed by the same people that run the happy hour in the lobby between 5 and 7(or whatever the hours are). The Trolleys American Cafe closes at midnight during the week. At 11:15pm each night we were there the staff started turning the lights up really bright and started mopping the floors around us. They made it very clear they were not happy to be there. I am willing to bet that they do not get paid after midnight and do not want to be there after midnight working for free(I can't say I blame them). So Hilton, if this is true, please change this! I don't like to feel unwelcome in a place that is supposed to be relaxing.

Room Tip: Corner suites on high floors have awesome views and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback. Please know that we have forwarded your comments to the respective departments for training and development. We apologize for the way you felt while visiting Trolley's Cafe. It certainly is not the way we train our team and hope that when you return you encounter a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had 3 familes and we stayed here for a weekend. It was nice having the trolly stop right out front. We took the trolley to Ybor City for lunch. We attended a hockey game and it was nice to walk to the arena. A longer walk, but on the trolly ride, was Channelside, which was nice with the night time activities and the restaurants. Breakfast was busy as it was probably a sold out night at the hotel. It was odd that they had servers serving the bacon and such. There must have been some people taking too much in the past or they are trying to move along the lines. Happy hour is always good, but again, so busy it was a long wait in line to get a drink. The snacks were chips and pretzels. I did not eat many of the snacks as they were in open bowls and I saw kids just putting their hands in and grabbing some.

We did not eat in the bar so I cannot comment on how it was.

The kids liked the pool. It was a regular pool, nothing too fancy. However, it was on the third floor and had a nice view.

Overall, it was a good stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Check in was a breeze and the staff was friendly as you would expect in a hotel of this caliber.

First, I must point out there is MANDATORY VALET service at the cost of 20$ overnight, or 12$ daily - added to your room bill. I did not check the website when I booked, and overlooked this detail. The hotel is clean, TALL (20 floors!), gorgeously furnished and very popular. It is connected to the convention center via skywalk, and only a 2 block (about ~5 minute) walk to the Tampa Bay Times Forum. (Go Bolts!) There is a street car station at the hotel (where you can buy passes) that will take you to Ybor and of course, anywhere else on the route you need to go.

I booked a suite, situated on the 12th floor. Glass elevators take you by surprise and offer great views of either the inside of the hotel, or the outside pool area. In the room there were plenty of perks, a Microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, two huge LCD TV's, (one in the bedroom and one in the living room for the sofa bed sleepers!) plenty of towels, and extra linen. The room was filled with furniture. A desk, multiple dressers, cabinets, table, 2 ottomans - so much space to relax and unpack.

At night, from 5:30-7:30 complementary drinks are served at the lobby bar, but the lines are LONG so be prepared to wait and get there early.

Free hot breakfast in the morning with "create-your-own" omelets, and all the bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes you could want, for an entire 3 hours. Lots of yogurt, fruit, and dry cereal/oatmeal too.

You can check out from the TV so you don't need to wait in line to leave, however, you do need to go to the back of the hotel and wait for your car to be delivered. This system was disorganized, and very busy when we left in the morning. It did not take too long to get through it all and be on the way but other people were frustrated at the lack of clear instructions on how to get your car.

Room Tip: The center suites (or handicap accessible) are larger! See if you can snag one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Service: Very good. Friendly staff. We left out do not disturb sign out all day by accident and housekeeping left clean towels outside the room in a bag. Valet service was fast.

Room: Clean and spacious. Mini fridge and microwave on a wet bar.

Location: Excellent. Right outside is a trolley stop. The arena, convention center and channelside are within walking distance.

Minor issues: I didn't really like having to pay an extra $20/day for parking (although this is normal in this area). Ice machine was broken on three floors.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.