We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $124/nt
Ranked #46 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here on the 14th floor with my 2 teenagers while my husband was recovering in Tampa General Hospital. Had a nice view of the pool and the harbor and we were very happy with the hotel and the room. The room was very large which I didn't expect for a downtown hotel, with new linens and decor and everything was very clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    373
    164
    68
    64
See reviews for
271
240
39
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I decided to book this hotel for NYE. Granted, the booking was last minute, but when we arrived at the hotel, the entrance was blocked off by cones and we could not get on the property to check in. There were several things going on in the area, so there was no where to park and walk up to check in. We had to keep driving around the block to try to find someone to speak with. Finally, after four trips around the block, I called the hotel, only to be told the parking garage was full, due to renting the spaces out to the general public and I would have to park in a lot down the street and walk up, luggage and all. By the time we finally got checked in, it was after 11:00 pm. During all of this, I asked to speak with a manager and was put through to the valet parking manager. Not exactly the person I was looking for. He was extremely rude and told me he was in charge, there was no manager on duty. I went inside to the front desk, and immediately found a manager on duty. I requested to just have my reservation canceled, as I was not comfortable parking my car off site. This was not going to happen. The manager did find a place for me to leave my car and told me once the non guest left, my car would be moved to the parking garage. Great! Except, when I picked my car up the next day, some sticky substance had been poured all over it. Since there was no time to get ready and go out to the function we were going to attend, we decided to order food in and just forget about going out. Which is why we were even there in the first place. We get our food, and the fire alarm sounds. We were evacuated from our room and did not get back in until almost 4:00 am. The room keys for each room would not work. They had one key for the entire property. Mind you, it's New Years Eve and people are returning, let's say "feeling no pain", but getting very angry at not being allowed to enter there rooms. This place broke into pandemonium! I'm talking very scary pandemonium! I thought people were going to riot! The staff did nothing to control the situation. Things were being thrown off the top balconies to the ground floor, people were screaming as if being attacked, it was insane! When they finally got to our floor to let us in our room, I went inside and locked myself in the second room, scared to death. I would have left, but could not find my car. This went on, these blood curdling screams, people kicking doors, things being thrown from balconies into the atrium, until day light. I called down several times to find out when the police would be arriving, only to be told they were there. I did not see them and I had a good view of the atrium floor from my room. And, if they were there, why were these people not being removed from the property? I'll tell you, I was terrified the place would be set on fire for real and the fire alarm continued to go off throughout the night, until the morning hours. Everyone, from the GM to the staff on duty should not have a job today. I managed hotels for several years and would have been there, on site, making sure every unruly individual was removed and would have had the best IT support I could find onsite to fix the computer glitches that were causing the room keys not to work and the fire alarm to continually sound. So, due to not being able to get on the property, we missed what we had planned for NYE. By the time four hours had gone by and I we were allowed to enter our room, the food we had ordered was ice cold. Then, I had to huddle in the bedroom, behind two locked doors, scared out of my wits. THEN THEY HAD THE NERVE TO CHARGE MY CARD $340.00!!!!!! After I had been told this would not happen. I am a Hilton Honors member, but there is no honor for me, in this property. UNBELIEVABLE!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We hope you are enjoying your New Year and apologize for any inconvenience you may have encounter during your stay over New Year's eve. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly, if you feel that there is still a discrepancy with your bill. I will be more than happy to go over your concerns and ensure this was rectified to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were another guest on New Years Eve. As we learned you could not get into our room we too were stuck in the hallway FOR 4 HOURS. The staff would not provide water, pillows, blankets, etc. They ignored me when asking for a glass of water for a guest that was feeling ill. Guests were so angry they were throwing items off the balcony, making it very unsafe for guests. When I suggested to the staff that they set up an area with some water and snacks so people can sit and relax while they figure out what the problem was they stated "we cant do that". I have never seen such incompetence before. This made the situation so much worse. It was like a prison cell block, thanks to the staff.

It took them 4 hours to come to our door and open the room. I do not recommend staying at this hotel until all staff is replaced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xxxxxxxx
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My fiance and I attended a New Years Eve party in Tampa and the Embassy Suites was offering an attractive deal on suites to partygoers. With shuttle service to and from the party this seemed like a great way to make sure the night had a safe and comfortable conclusion but it was anything but.

We arrived at the hotel around 1500 and, as other visitors have mentioned, the parking situation is a complete mess. It took a long time to get valet service and there is no option for self parking. I was told by Annette in her usual, as it seems from reading other reviews, less than cordial tone at the front desk that I could use the front desk or "take my chances" at a nearby parking garage. With her attitude, I'm very surprised she is employed in a customer service role.

Another oddity to valet service is that you arrive at the attractive front of the building but leave through the dingy parking garage and have to wend your way between densely parked vehicles to get out to the road.

The elevators were slow, but I expected things to be a bit busy on New Years Eve. The room was nice but perhaps not quite the "suite" it was billed to be.

We left for our evening and returned around 0100 the next morning to find 20 floors of angry people either sitting on the floor outside their room, sleeping on common area furniture, or standing at the railing overlooking the open-air area that spans upward from the lobby to the top floor and catcalling the hotel staff or making other very loud comments. The entire place sounded like a prison cell-block with NYE revelers returning from their events at various levels of inebriation and finding themselves locked out of the rooms with no plan by the hotel staff to get them inside.

Fire alarms continued to be set off throughout the night, wether from actual events or simply angered guests I don't know but it added a nice touch to the prison-block atmosphere in the hotel this evening.

We eventually were let into our room by the one maintenance man with a master key after well over an hour's wait. By this time the noise was very loud even inside the room and there was no way were getting any sleep so we immediately packed our things and checked out.

The line at the front desk was long, as I expected to be, but when I arrived at the counter and explained that we wanted to check out the clerk (do not remember her name, a young red-haired lady) replied with a shockingly flippant response given the number of angry and upset people in her hotel. A small, crying boy and his father had just left the desk. The boy had been swimming and was cold, tired, and miserable because he wanted to dry off, get warm, and go to sleep but they could not get into their room. l find it hard to believe this was an appropriate time for the clerk to try to engage in banter.

I explained the various reasons why we were leaving and requested I not be charged for the room which was, to the clerk's credit, immediately agreed to. We left at around 0315 by which time we were both stone cold sober, angry, tired, miserable, and determined to never stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please know that we do take these seriously and use them for continued training/development. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encounter during your stay over New Year's eve. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly, if you feel that there is still a discrepancy with your bill. I will be more than happy to go over your concerns and ensure this was rectified to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have stayed at many embassy's throughout the country. This is my favorite. There is much to do in the eve with kids or without. There is the trolly out front with short trip to channel side shops with movie theater and bowling and a trolly stop to ybor city for good dining.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife, son and I stayed here on a Pre-Cruise. We used the trolley to go into Ybor City and was withing walking distance of many dinning and shopping venues. Very beautiful, walking in the pier area and shops in open courts. We would have stayed here again next month but it seems the prices have gone way up. If money is not a issue and you want a very nice place near cruise port then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My wife and I reserved four nights at the Downtown Tampa Embassy Suites in late September for a national convention. Changes to our travel plans were made that had us traveling into Orlando and spending the first night near Disney, and the remaining three nights as planned at Embassy Suites. All changes were communicated thru the convention center's travel department / housing bureau.

I have gone out of my way to stay at Embassy Suites in the past because I find them to be clean, quiet, pleasant places to stay. This trip itself was no different... and this location was attractive due to its close proximity to the convention center. Note again, we DID STAY three nights at this location and I am an HHonors reward member. But to our surprise when we returned home and received our credit card statement, we were charged for all four nights from the original reservation.

I e-mailed the Embassy Suites customer relations department, and asked them to get involved and disputed the charge via American Express. They sent me a reply stating that because I could not provide the cancellation change #, that I would be charged the full amount due to the hotel's 24-hour cancellation policy. I again e-mailed the customer relations department at the Embassy Suites web site, and never received a reply.

I just reconciled my credit card account, and it galls me to authorize a charge of $290 for a hotel reservation I cancelled a week prior to traveling! I recently reserved a room at a Marriott hotel in Los Angeles for 5 nights and secured the reservation with a credit card. They informed me during the call that cancellation of the entire stay was allowed until 6:00 p.m. the first night of check-in.

I have found Marriot to be comparable with Embassy Suites in quality and price. I will not spend another dollar with Embassy Suites, and I would recommend that business travelers in particular go elsewhere with their lodging needs. The 24-hour cancellation policy of this hotel is neither realistic nor sensible for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#25 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Le Meridien Tampa
#24 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.