We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly upset with customer service, but otherwise, a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rates from $119
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slightly upset with customer service, but otherwise, a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

A group of four of us stayed during the IDBF dragonboat festival. We had booked ahead of time and got a price of 179$ for the room. When I checked the hotel website, and the price has decreased to 149$ per night, I asked for the new (updated) price. The hotel refused to honor the price change, and started spouting off rules of why we couldn't cancel and then re-book. I was a little upset at this (most other hotels would have honored a lower price).

In any case, the hotel was rather good. We were happy with the free breakfast which was WAY more than muffins and juice. The room was nice, but I wouldn't book it for the view (we were looking out over a parking lot/highway); we were happy that the maid service provided towels for quad occupancy without us having to ask every day. The managers reception was a nice touch. The pool was too warm (they heat it) for the climate - it's not very relaxing to enter a pool that is warmer than the ambient temperature.

The best part of the hotel was the ease of access to our race site (literally across the street). Dining options within 2km of the hotel were good.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay during the Dragon Races. I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. Althougvh we do our best to work with our guests and honor best rate available, at times, we are unable to do so based on the way in which the reservations are made. When it comes to third party bookings, rate policies are slight different than when booked through the company directly. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Tampa Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    297
    136
    56
    49
See reviews for
203
200
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is in good condition and is close to a number of attractions. The tampa trolly service has a station right outside the hotel. You can purchase a one day pass for a family of 4 for about $12 and get on and off as much as you want. With stops at the Tampa Aquarium and Ybor city, it's the best way to get around. The staff were always pleasant and very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was great. The 2 hour managers reception in the lobby is a great way to just sit back and relax. Rooms were clean and in good condition. If I had to come up with one issue it would be that everytime we went down to the pool we had to call for towels.

Room Tip: Rooms come with a refrigerator and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and had an opportunity to enjoy the the area's attraction as well. we look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Me and my family enjoyed staying here. It was very quiet and relaxing. The accomadations were more than expected. Complementary breakfast was a little hectic with long lines but other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed the hotel room and the location is extremely convenient for the convention center. We got a triple A discount and then paid extra to upgrade to an upper floor and a bay view. Breakfast provided was excellent. Happy hour drink on the hotel too. There is a business center with 15 minutes of computer time.at a shot for free and an internet kiosk for free internet too. There is a $15 charge for 24 hours of internet in the room though.

Room Tip: Northwest corner rooms were best view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights to help our friend celebrate taking the bar exam at the nearby convention centre.
We tried to check-in at 2:15pm, and our room wasn't ready, which we were fine with. We were told we could wait in the lobby. However, there was no free wi-fi, so we had to go to the Starbucks in the lobby and buy a coffee to get two free hours of internet. Not good. What's more, there wasn't even free wi-fi in the room. $15 a day is not acceptable. It was $20 for valet parking, too. (And there was no option to non-valet park, either.)
The 5:30pm-7:30pm happy hour, with free booze, is decent - as is the free breakfast. But I'd rather have free valet and internet over those, to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent visit to Tampa. We do ofer different type packages to our guests, some which do include internet. I encourage you to join the Hilton HHonors program. This rewards stay program offers various benefits to the members and It is free to join. As a Gold/Diamond member, our guests recieve complimentary WiFi during their stay. We wish you much success in your career and hope you did well on your exams. We look forward to seeing you back should your travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is great! Everyday you have free cooked to order breakfast and a two hour managers reception with an open bar! Awesome accommodations and a great location! The bay view room are beautiful too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Embassy Suites Downtown Tampa. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again should your future travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Convention Center. The hotel boasts an easy walkway thru straight to the Center. First, let me say that the hotel is across the street and the bridge is not covered. That leads me to the second closest hotel, the Marriott Waterside, also across the street, and with the same distance from the steps of the Center. The Marriott is by far less expensive, is more nicely planned out, has spectacular views from the room facing the water, and has 4 restaurants.
Embassy Suites has only 2 advantages - the room is spacious, and the breakfast is free. The room has the traditional living room area with a refrig and microwave. The Marriott does not. The breakfast is fine - omelet station, fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, potatoes, cereals, bread and bagels. But, for the price of this hotel, you could better at the Waterside Cafe and cheaper too. There, breakfast, lunch, and dinner is served at reasonable prices and with more varied options.
Embassy has 1 restaurant, Trolley Cafe, but it is awful. The service stinks - it took 45 min to get our meals and there were only 4 other tables occupied. Then, two meals were sent back to the kitchen because of taste (something we never do). The prices were high and the food was bad, and you have no other option.
The Embassy boasts a manager's reception with free drinks every nite. The drinks are free from 5:30 - 7:30 but the only food served are 1 bowl of stale pretzels and 2 bowls of tortilla chips with salsa. Nothing, nothing like the promo add on the tv.We were there 4 nites, and each nite was the same!
So, for convenience - both hotels are equi-distant to the Con. Center. If it rains, you get wet either way! The views are superior in the Marriott, and the food choices are better. Remember, these hotels are downtown, so food choices are limited within walking distance. Price is better at the Marriott. For my money, choose the Waterside.

Room Tip: Forget about Hilton Honors program - it gave me nothing more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thak you for staying with us at Embassy Suites Downtown Tampa! We appreciate the feedback you provided us regarding the Manager's reception and our restaurant. Please know that we take these seriously and use them as training tool. I have forwarded your comments to the respctive department managers for immediate follow up. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.