We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #94 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

My primary reason for staying here was its proximity to the Bucs game. Clean room, great location, friendly staff, and within walking distance to Raymond James Stadium. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    80
    54
    38
    25
See reviews for
65
67
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Price, cleanlines,area was perfect. Mostly Giant fans took over the hotel. Nice steak House nearby, stadium has a shuttle with a 15 minute walk back. Good continental breakfast in the morning. No complaints

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My wife and I were on a weekend get away from Minneapolis. We booked a standard room on line. Check in was easy and fast. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived in Tampa on a late fight, so we only spent 6 hours there.

Pretty easy to find from airport. For 55 bones a night, it is a very nice place.

We would stay again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The wife wants to move to mid-Florida West Coast. So we decided to take a weekend trip just to check out the various residential areas above, around and below Tampa.

Made no reservations because I have relatives here, but we really wanted to be on our own.
Decided near the Tampa Airport would be the most central locations for us cruising up and down the coast. Used a Florida rest stop coupon book that I'd picked up on an earlier trip to hunt hotels. Decided on a Comfort Inn at $58 per night on Dale Mabry Road, about a mile up from the stadium. Pulled into the parking lot and noticed hardly any cars at all. Also decided that something was not just quite right, but we couldn't put our fingers on it.

As we were about to leave, noticed what looked like a shiny, brand new Holiday Inn Express at the back of the lot. Negotiated a price of $72 per night and checked-in.

Exterior: The hotel looks like it was just built yesterday, flown over to there by a huge Sikorsky helicopter and just dropped into the back of this parking lot. There is a steak restaurant facing the street and the Comfort Inn on the corner. I did notice security cruising through the lot when we returned the first night.

Location: It is on Dale Mabry, which is a major thoroughfare going north and south just west of Tampa. It is about a mile at the most from the stadium. It would be an easy walk if there were a game you wanted to attend. Dale Mabry has a ton of restaurants as you move north of the hotel. Also the area north is more upscale and gives you several moderate and high end restaurants, like Outback, Red Lobster, Bonefish Grill. Closer to the hotel on Dale Mabry are fast food places, breakfast places, a Best Buy and some other shops. You are only 5 minutes from the airport, but you don't here any planes.

Interior: Again looks like it was just built, with nice tile floor, a large eat -in breakfast area (complimentary) and nice earth tone colors.

Room: Large and spacious in the same earth tone type colors, huge bed that was very comfortable (I'd fly it home with me if I could), large bathroom that the two of us could move around in. There is a microwave and little fridge in the room, so you can bring stuff in. Hallways were bright and also had cameras mounted at various corners so the front desk could see what was happening. I actually liked that.

Other items: They do have 'wired' internet access in the rooms. Wireless is only available in the lobby and breakfast area. However, since my room was facing forward, my ipod picked up a public signal from the Comfort Inn. So as long as I stayed near the window I could stay in my room. There are two computer in the lobby, I'm using one now. The complimentary breakfast consist of sausage, toast, bagels, bacon, juices, tea and coffee, plus some type of pancake. Okay, but we're going to my favorite breakfast place, Perkins.

Entertainment: Clearwater beach is about 25 minutes from here. Busch Gardens is about 20 minutes. Downtown is about 10 minutes and Ybor City is about 13 minutes.

I think we did well and for the price I paid, I think it is a great value.

One more thing! This hotel is totally NON-smoking and no pets are allowed. I love it! Yes, they will penalize any guest that smoke by the tune of $100. My Avis rental car has a penalty of $250, if someone smokes in it.

Sorry, no photos this time, my battery died while visiting the beach yesterday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed here pre-cruise. The rooms were clean and roomy and they let us have five people in the room! They informed us when we checked in that the roll-away bed wouldn't be delivered for a few hours, but when we returned from dinner it was set up and made as promised. The grounds are actually landscaped a bit with a pond and walkway. Very nice and relaxing. We didn't use the pool, but it seemed very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and responded to our call for extra towels very promptly. Sam Seltzers is in the same parking lot and is an EXCELLENT place to eat. Not too pricey and very, very good. Very close to the airport and the free shuttle to the hotel was a bit hard to find (actually, he found US!). They would have provided a ride to the cruise terminal but the fare was cheaper using a taxi service.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at this airport hotel for our first night in Tampa as we were picking up a hire car the following morning. There is a phone in the airport to call for a free shuttle to take you straight to the hotel, which is perfect especially after a long flight.
The rooms are a good size and beautifully clean with a huge flat screen tv.
There isn't much around the immediate area of the hotel other than a very good steak restaurant literally right outside - this i would definately recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee,Ma.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We really were impressed with this hotel. Nicely appointed rooms. Clean. Updated. Friendly staff. The only downside was the shuttle at airport was very late because of traffic, and lots of it. The bridge got backed up for miles and much traffic for Yankees Stadium which was very close to hotel. There is a steakhouse next door,(Seltzer's)which is a chain but seemed a little upscale from the one we ate at in Fort Myers. Good food. I would recommend this hotel because of the rooms and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.