We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence beginning at the front desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #79 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellence beginning at the front desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved my 2 night stay here starting with the warm welcome from Gina at the front desk. She made me feel like family during our stay. She gave me helpful information and was so friendly. She was extremely busy at the desk by herself, but remained calm and professional while multitasking as customers came and went. I told her when we registered that we were here to look for a new home. She remembered and asked us how our hunt went when we came back at the end of the day. Great, clean room. Nice buffet breakfast and the hotel was very convenient for us getting around Tampa/Clearwater and St Pete, where we eventually bought a home. We'll be seeing you again! Keep up the great work Gina S.

Room Tip: There didn't appear to be any bad rooms. The hotel is set back from the road so the noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello, and thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us! Gina works very hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay, and I am very pleased you mentioned her in your review. We all have been striving to exceed expectations of our guests, and we love seeing your comments when we do! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Take Care!

Ryan Cornelius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
43
37
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I called the front desk prior to my arrival and Felicity answered the phone. So was very helpful and very pleasant to speak to on the phone. She was able to help with my questions very promptly and enthusiacaticly. The hotel was located close to the airport and my shuttle driver picked me up and was also very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review about your recent stay with us! Felicity is going to be so excited to see her name mentioned in another review! She works very hard to make sure all her guests get everything they need, and I am proud to have her on my team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENS FALLS
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent location, rooms clean, bed comfortable. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Had minor problem with a/c unit and staff(front desk lady with down under accent) fixed problem right away. Sorry for not remembering her name, I had flown in for funeral and was pre occupied. The nice lady(from cuba) who prepared and served food and beverages during manager night event was polite and always had a smile for whoever came in. Great hotel and staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Ed! Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! Felicity (from down under) and OMaris will be thrilled to see your comments! There is a new thing going on here where everyone is competing to see who gets their name mentioned on Trip Advisor the most! We just wish your visit had been under better circumstances. Take care, and we hope you get to visit us again for pleasure soon!

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you have tickets for a Football or a Baseball game and you want to stay close to the stadiums to avoid longer taxi or car rides - this hotel is perfect. If you just look for a good hotel I think you can get something cheaper with the same quality. Its a 20 minutes walk to the Raymond James Stadium. For the games they also have shuttle Service foc.The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Forget about the breakfast, go better to Moms Place just around the Corner.

Room Tip: Book early and cheaper and take a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello Peter2406, and thank you for your review of our hotel. As I am sure you have read below, I am the new General Manager for this property. I appreciate the feedback about our breakfast, and although I can't compete with a restaurant named "Mom's," (I mean seriously, who can beat MOM's Cooking? ;-) I can tell you we are constantly making improvements every day. We are coaching and training and are improving our product and service. We hope you get a chance to come back and see how far we have come.

Take Care,
Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

the location is near the stadium therefore you would think that you would be getting a better quality Hotel however first night I requested to be moved after I started to itch once I was in the bed and getting bumps all over my body. The carpet was dirty doors broken and towels we're not thoroughly clean. The chair on had three legs..will not recommend this location to anyone..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Rippedstang05,

Please let me start by sincerely apologizing for your experience during your stay. I would be very interested in speaking with you directly to help me better understand the issues you had with your room.

As I have been recently posting, I just took over this property, and each and every comment I get - good or bad - is needed so I can prioritize the next improvement I make here. I am in the middle of personally inspecting each and every room on property to make sure I get an accurate list of items I need to repair. Fortunately, it seems like most of the rooms here are in really good shape for being 8 years old. I agree a carpet cleaning is needed, and we have recently contracted a vendor and they are starting the process of getting all 147 rooms carpet cleaned.

Please reach out to me here at the hotel so I can get the room number you stayed in so I can give it a really good once over.

Thanks.

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I will say some of the staff was great (if they acknowledged you). The room on the other hand was a mess! Shower handle was hanging off making the water so hot that it burnt my kids. Telephones did not work and I expressed my dislike with front desk simply to be told "well I am nice so can you give me a good review?". The free hot breakfast was convenient but not very tasty. It was nice having the free shuttle but the driver that he was Mario Andretti and scared us to death. Will consider staying again for a game but I will never take my kids back to this unsafe hotel.

Room Tip: Do not take your children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Lara T,

Please let me sincerely apologize to you regarding your experience with us during your stay. As the new General Manager of the property, I can't tell you how valuable your comments are to me. It allows me to make immediate and needed changes so we can improve our service and quality of stay for our guests.

I would love to speak to you further regarding which room you were in so I can make sure our maintenance team corrects the issues.

In the mean time, please rest assured I am taking steps to make sure our response to our guests when things don't go 100% correct is being addressed and coached.

Thank you again for taking time out of your schedule to fill out a review, and I hope we get a chance to speak soon.

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

No problems found at this hotel, free shuttle service only to R J Stadium. Return trip was $7 cab ride or walkable (approximately 1/2 mile). Staff very welcoming and helpful, answered our questions.

Hotel was clean, well maintained. Free breakfast buffet included scrambled eggs, sausage patties, cinnamon rolls and all the other usual items. Lots of choices. Would go there again. It's not a resort, but serves the purpose for an overnight stay and the location is convenient if you need an overnight stay after a football event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Ravens Fan,

You are the first review I get to respond to. My name is Ryan Cornelius, and I am the new General Manager of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport. I was previously at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Tampa USF Busch Gardens.

Please let me first thank you for your review of our hotel. Since I have only been here a week, it is nice to see reviews since your are seeing the property in the same way I am. Everything is new to me here, and I look forward to learning everything there is to know about my new hotel. I know I truly appreciate the value guest reviews has for future guests, but for us as well. We can take the opportunity to learn how to do better.

There is a lot of things I want to accomplish here, and I am happy to start off on a good note.

Thank you!

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#79 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list