We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #79 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent one night here before flying out of Tampa. We had a king room, it was a nice size. The staff was friendly and efficient. It was roughly a 10 minute (or less) drive to the airport. We were impressed by the complimentary breakfast, more than the standard found in most hotels: there was sausage, eggs, pancakes, toast cereal, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, plus coffee, juices, etc. it's not a really fancy place, but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello CeeCeeK. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to fill out a review for us! Although you stayed here before I took over as General Manager, it is good to see I have a good foundation to build all of our improvements on. We hope you get a chance to come and see us again soon!

Ryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    58
    34
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
41
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Pro:
-13 minutes from airport/ 5 minutes from Bucs/Rays.

Cons:
-Big comfy chair had a leg MISSING!
-Thick layer dust on back and arm of chair.
Front desk said it was too late to do anything- maybe they could move me. I said I would just stay out of chair- my issue is why did housekeeping miss this and what's with the dust???
-No WiFi Internet access on 4th floor- I called front desk again and she said, your on the east side, only the west side has trouble usually. She said if you see the Comfort Inn WiFi the password is (and rattled off something). I said I don't see Comfort Inn either.
-Room was very run down and out dated.- shower rod was 'rigged' up with some crazy screws and looked like it could fall.
-Carpet had big red stains??? Wax?? Blood?? Red koolaid?? Looked like it had been cleaned, but could still see it- right in front of fridge.

*Just stay somewhere else.*

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear SenatorMcCain,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel within the area. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, we have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for Yankees spring training. Great location. We were within easy walking distance to the stadium, though a shuttle was available. The place is not fancy, but it is modern, clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Shuttle service was available for some nearby trips. The manager's reception during the week was a great perk. Again, not fancy, but a good way to have a light meal before you go to the ballpark--and those ballpark food/drink prices. Overall, a great visit and one we are likely to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I, because of office scheduling, stay in a good number of 3 Star properties - at least 15 days a month are somewhere else ! I've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns as well. Everybody's stayed at a Holiday Inn so I'll just hit what was really good.
Check in was less than a minute ! !
Room was bright (no low level lighting to hide the dirt)
I actually felt like I wouldn't catch something if I walked on the carpet or floors in the bathroom. You could actually see the pattern in the carpet. The whites were White White.
There were enough outlets to plug in Lap top, phone and still have outlets left over.
The work station wasn't directly in front of the AC so you don't freeze to death working.
This is one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in ! !
The only difficulty was trying to shave . The lighting in the bathroom was good enough for evrything but trying to shave !

Room Tip: If you're not paying attention to things you will drive right past. There is a closed restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Found this hotel on last leg of our vacation. Location was very convenient and we had a great experience with night staff, Rafael who was very friendly and accommodating.
Clean beautiful room and good breakfast!
Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is great for location. You are near the stadium and the shuttle can take you to International Mall for shopping. Lots of good restaurants along Dale Mabry. As for the property itself, it sits back off the highway behind a closed steakhouse. The staff is efficient but not overly friendly. There is a good breakfast each morning and a passable happy hour with food in the late afternoon. I found it odd that they offer only beer or soft drinks, no wine.

The room was clean, well equipped, but it appeared that everything was cheap. Cheap soap, small plastic glasses, worn towels. Instead of Holiday Inn Express, it had more of a DaysInn feel. If you are going to stay here, I recommend that you do so for location.

Interesting that Holiday Inn still doesn't get that Hilton and Marriott have really upgraded the guest experience for a few dollars more. Don't they ever check out their competition?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear AtlStew,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. However, It is unfortunate the room amenities prevented you from fully enjoying your stay at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was clean and almost everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. They had a shuttle that saved us from having to rent a car and an evening welcome with some food. The location was good, with the airport and places to eat within the free shuttle's radius of 3 miles.

On the bad side, there was no hot water in the shower and 1 of the 2 queen beds had a crater in the middle of it. I had read about others having hot water problems a few months ago but dismissed it as a short term problem, but now that I experienced it again several months later, it appears to be a long term issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear SCOTT T,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are truly sorry about the hot water issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.