We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but not up to usual HI Express standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but not up to usual HI Express standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel because of a family medical emergency. The hotel did offer a special rate for family members of patients at a nearby hospital. The front desk staff who checked us in were very kind and sympathetic. Unfortunately, our room on the second floor was adjacent to a roof area where there was standing water. There was a terrible musty, moldy smell in the room. We should have asked to move immediately, but we asked the staff to at least spray with some air freshener while we were out. When we returned, the smell was still there. It was late, so we spent the first night in the room. The next morning we were moved to a fourth floor room which was very large but had a large dirty spot on the carpet near the refrigerator/bar area. It seemed that some of the furnishings were missing -- no coffee table in the "living" area and no hassock with the chair. The shower curtain looked as if it had been left in the dryer overnight and was terribly wrinkled. The dust ruffle on the bed was askew -- about three inches too long on one side and hiked up several inches off the floor on the other. We did not call these problems to the attention of the staff because we were busy attending to issues related to the family illness. Our room on the fourth floor was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The pillows were in need of replacement as they were lumpy.

The breakfast area was large and looked out on a lovely pool and hot tub area. The food was more or less typical of HI Express but on one morning there was no fruit whatsoever. When we asked the attendant about fruit, she just said there wasn't any. On the other two mornings, there were bananas.

Overall, the stay was in a convenient location for us for this trip, but disappointing otherwise. The front desk willingly moved us from our first room and offered us compensation of the total of two snack items for our trouble. The wi-fi connection worked well. There were two computers near the elevators for guests to use which were usually occupied by children. We did not check out the fitness center. The hotel is conveniently located to the football stadium.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor rooms adjoining the roof area. Our fourth floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear TravelingfoolGeorgia,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    38
    23
    15
See reviews for
48
49
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to a cruise. Checked in really late and didn't expect much. Pricing was reasonable, accommodations were nice. Breakfast came with the room and was typical, typical.

Overall, a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Upon first arriving at the Holiday Inn Express we noticed that it wasn't in exactly the "best part" of Tampa along Dale Mabry Blvd. It is just up from the football stadium, and from the Yankees Spring Training home/stadium; which makes it a convenient place to stay.

The nice thing was that it did have a shuttle that would take you around to anywhere within a few mile radius. They took us to the Hooters about a mile away on Hillsborough Avenue where we enjoyed the first half of the Green Bay Packer game on Sunday, our arrival day.

Our room was upgraded to a suite, but one could see some imperfections they were trying to cover up. The room was actually a handicapped room and was very large. It was fitted with a refrigerator which was nice, but was used to cover up two roughed in pipes for faucets either as an afterthought or for the purposes of putting a sink in and they ran out of $$.

Heating and cooling were comfortable and the room was very quiet. Again, although this Holiday Inn Express has been upgraded, it doesn't look like its been inspected for a while.

We decided to also try the pool and hot tub outside that late afternoon. The pool was very nice and accommodating. The hot tub unfortunately would run, but would not heat up which was too bad. I know they are difficult to maintain, but if they aren't going to work, please don't have them on property. When we asked the desk clerk about this she said she would call maintenance, but maintenance never came and we got no reply or satisfaction to getting the hot tub working. Disappointing for a Holiday Inn Express.

Breakfast was good with eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy. Not the usual waffle or pancake maker that we're accustomed to seeing. My wife noticed that there were only cinnamon and raisin bagels, none were plain. When you don't like raisins, this can be a big deal. :-) Of course there was the healthy supply of their fabulous cinnamon rolls. Did I just use healthy in the same sentence with those rolls? :-) Probably about 400 calories each!! But they are delicious.

The overriding feeling I got was that this Holiday Inn Express, (neighbors with the adjacent Comfort Inn), was living down to the Comfort Inn standards. It just appeared that it was missing those little comforts and niceties that Holiday Inn Express has become known for and is becoming famous for. All in all a satisfying stay, but we know that it could have been better.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgrenier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Guest input is our most valuable tool to continually improve. Our goal is always superior product & service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. I was upgraded to a suite but there was no television in the "suite" area so I had to move the television in the bedroom around. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Nice having free internet available. Breakfast was good and seating area was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the staff were very pleasant and wonderful. when I got there in the evening and they assigned my room, the room had a bit of a smell so I asked for another room and they were immediately ready to change me and make the room good for me. the only reason I didn't do a 5 star is because the internet was down both nights I was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Shuttle to the airport and to different restaurants is a plus. Always on time. Room was very clean. breakfast was excellent. holiday inn is doing a great job as far as breakfast items. All the staff,is very friendly and proffesional. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

yes, I get it. This motel is close to the stadium, but pulease, does that mean that the cleanliness and the niceties have to go by the board. This motel really does need to close for a couple of weeks and CLEAN, clean, clean and then add some touches to the rooms. Currently the facilities are meager, barren and certainly in need of attention. I came with two other couples and yes, the stadium proximity was a determining factor but I can promise you that this wont be a factor next time. As a holiday inn, this place really needs work and again, if it was my facility, I would have to say, shut it down and give it a good steam cleaning, decorate, put new mattresses on each of the beds, and generally make the place just a little bit warm and friendly. The hot tub outside was absolutely disgusting and totally unusable...although there was water (dirty) in it along ŵith grime and stains and a bushel of dirty leaves.
My one 4/5 mark goes to the two girls who were on the front desk, I believe their names were Felicity and Gina. They were definetely understaffed but maintained their composure and looked after the long lines waiting to check in. Other staff came and went without offering any assistance. I will give my report on the breakfast in another review las I think I've said enough about this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Bonitabeach33,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel I appreciate you giving the location of the hotel a high score and for noticing how efficient our front desk were during your check-in. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall cleanliness of the hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.