We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surprised.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #84 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Was pleasantly surprised.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to a cruise. Checked in really late and didn't expect much. Pricing was reasonable, accommodations were nice. Breakfast came with the room and was typical, typical.

Overall, a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    35
    20
    11
See reviews for
44
39
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Upon first arriving at the Holiday Inn Express we noticed that it wasn't in exactly the "best part" of Tampa along Dale Mabry Blvd. It is just up from the football stadium, and from the Yankees Spring Training home/stadium; which makes it a convenient place to stay.

The nice thing was that it did have a shuttle that would take you around to anywhere within a few mile radius. They took us to the Hooters about a mile away on Hillsborough Avenue where we enjoyed the first half of the Green Bay Packer game on Sunday, our arrival day.

Our room was upgraded to a suite, but one could see some imperfections they were trying to cover up. The room was actually a handicapped room and was very large. It was fitted with a refrigerator which was nice, but was used to cover up two roughed in pipes for faucets either as an afterthought or for the purposes of putting a sink in and they ran out of $$.

Heating and cooling were comfortable and the room was very quiet. Again, although this Holiday Inn Express has been upgraded, it doesn't look like its been inspected for a while.

We decided to also try the pool and hot tub outside that late afternoon. The pool was very nice and accommodating. The hot tub unfortunately would run, but would not heat up which was too bad. I know they are difficult to maintain, but if they aren't going to work, please don't have them on property. When we asked the desk clerk about this she said she would call maintenance, but maintenance never came and we got no reply or satisfaction to getting the hot tub working. Disappointing for a Holiday Inn Express.

Breakfast was good with eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy. Not the usual waffle or pancake maker that we're accustomed to seeing. My wife noticed that there were only cinnamon and raisin bagels, none were plain. When you don't like raisins, this can be a big deal. :-) Of course there was the healthy supply of their fabulous cinnamon rolls. Did I just use healthy in the same sentence with those rolls? :-) Probably about 400 calories each!! But they are delicious.

The overriding feeling I got was that this Holiday Inn Express, (neighbors with the adjacent Comfort Inn), was living down to the Comfort Inn standards. It just appeared that it was missing those little comforts and niceties that Holiday Inn Express has become known for and is becoming famous for. All in all a satisfying stay, but we know that it could have been better.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgrenier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Guest input is our most valuable tool to continually improve. Our goal is always superior product & service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. I was upgraded to a suite but there was no television in the "suite" area so I had to move the television in the bedroom around. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Nice having free internet available. Breakfast was good and seating area was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the staff were very pleasant and wonderful. when I got there in the evening and they assigned my room, the room had a bit of a smell so I asked for another room and they were immediately ready to change me and make the room good for me. the only reason I didn't do a 5 star is because the internet was down both nights I was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Shuttle to the airport and to different restaurants is a plus. Always on time. Room was very clean. breakfast was excellent. holiday inn is doing a great job as far as breakfast items. All the staff,is very friendly and proffesional. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

yes, I get it. This motel is close to the stadium, but pulease, does that mean that the cleanliness and the niceties have to go by the board. This motel really does need to close for a couple of weeks and CLEAN, clean, clean and then add some touches to the rooms. Currently the facilities are meager, barren and certainly in need of attention. I came with two other couples and yes, the stadium proximity was a determining factor but I can promise you that this wont be a factor next time. As a holiday inn, this place really needs work and again, if it was my facility, I would have to say, shut it down and give it a good steam cleaning, decorate, put new mattresses on each of the beds, and generally make the place just a little bit warm and friendly. The hot tub outside was absolutely disgusting and totally unusable...although there was water (dirty) in it along ŵith grime and stains and a bushel of dirty leaves.
My one 4/5 mark goes to the two girls who were on the front desk, I believe their names were Felicity and Gina. They were definetely understaffed but maintained their composure and looked after the long lines waiting to check in. Other staff came and went without offering any assistance. I will give my report on the breakfast in another review las I think I've said enough about this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Bonitabeach33,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel I appreciate you giving the location of the hotel a high score and for noticing how efficient our front desk were during your check-in. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall cleanliness of the hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at HEI for two weeks. This was the most relaxing vacation weve had in a long time. We just came to get away. The service here is unbeatable. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There breakfast was very good and nice and quiet. Everything was fresh daily. We also had a problem of our doing when we came home because we left something very inportant in the safe. They had it Fedex to us the next day in less than 12 hours. Thank you! Thank you! A special thanks to Felicity, Debbie and Mike. Thank you to all the others who's name we don't know. This is our second time staying here for two weeks and we will be back next year. Also the pool area is very clean and relaxing. The rooms were also very clean , i think they had little elfs come in and do them, I never saw them but they were always cleaned right after we left the room. Thank you again for a job well done. Rick and Barbara Schoen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.