We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #84 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Stuart, Florida
1 review
“An unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family and I were visiting Tampa for a long weekend when an emergency came up and I found myself in the position of having to find a room for a couple nights near St. Joseph Hospital. This Holiday Inn Express was the closest so I took a chance and was I glad I did. The staff was so helpful in assisting with directions, helping with the courtesy shuttle to get me from the hotel to the hospital, and ending with helping us to print our boarding passes and getting the patient and his mom to the airport. The room was spacious, very quiet, and very clean. The free breakfast was very fresh each morning. It was only a mile from the hospital, within a couple miles from any type of shopping needed, and within a couple miles of the interstate which was a blessing for me as I had to drive home. When visiting Tampa again, I would definitely stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone who has to be near the hospital.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I am very happy to hear that our hotel and specifically the staff helped to make your stay enjoyable in spite of the circumstances. We strive to provide excellent guest service to each and everyone of our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
47
44
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rooms are clean; Staff is helpful & courteous. Breakfast is good as at all Holiday Inn Expresses

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. Guest Service and room cleanliness are priority items for all hotel guests and I was happy to hear that we did well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I try to mentain my IQ by staying at Holiday Inn express from time to time :) But jokes aside, it is a good hotel if in Tampa for a game at the stadium. I would not consider it for a family vacation. Room, smelled like humidity. Size of room is adequate. Bathroom can use updating, but not bad. Front desk very polite and responsive. Free Wifi, parking, and a nice free breakfast, makes this hotel a superb value. Shuttle avaliable to take you to game but not back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I frequently stay at Holiday Inn Expresses. Not the nicest one ever but clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights for the Tim McGraw/Kenny Chesney concert and it was easy to walk.
Cold A/C and a nice big room. My only complaint is an old TV...time to upgrade to flat screens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the Tim McGraw/Kenny Chensey concert at Raymond James Stadium. Great location as it was about a 4 block walk and safe. I had the king suite, nice room, bed okay (little firm for my liking), breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fruit, muffins. I received $50 in vochers to Landers restauant next door as I paid $179 for the room (only one available when I booked). So glad I decided to use the vochers for lunch and cocktails before concert as the concert was over at 11pm and they close at 11pm, could have been $50 wasted as they expired the next day. I would stay here again for a concert or football game.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here when we went to watch the buccaneers play, with it been very close to the Raymond James stadium. We was going to start walking to the stadium when the receptionist told us if we waited 5 minutes the airport shuttle would be here, and he would drop us off at the stadium for a couple of dollars, which I thought was fair enough.
It was a very pleasant stay, very clean and would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week during spring training so we could see the Yankees every day. I was a little skeptical after seeing some negative reviews, but the hotel was very clean throughout. The fountain in the lobby didn't work but so what, we were not there for a fountain. Our room was huge, had a nice big bed, the bathroom was very clean too. We used the pool one day and it was also very clean. The best part of the hotel was the walking distance to the stadium (although the hotel runs a free shuttle to and from before and after the game--we took it back once or twice because it was late at night). The front desk staff was always nice, as was the shuttle drivers and the buffet staff. Every Tuesday through Thursday (or Friday?) they hold a little social in the dining area of the lobby where they serve some kind of dish (chili one night, some other mexican dish the next) and soft drinks, beer, or water. We went every night right before the game and loved it. It was included in your stay and we tipped a few bucks for the beers.
Previous reveiws about the breakfast not being healthy are right on. No fresh fruit (the day we left they had bananas), just eggs, sausage, muffins, biscuits and a panake maker that never seemed to work. Normally I would've been all over it but I've been watching the carbs the last few years and I put on a few pounds during the week. Good coffee though, plenty of juices and milk.
The restaurant in front of the hotel is okay. We ate in the bar area and it was nice and quiet. I liked my steak dinner and my wife said hers was just average. The bartender was also the waiter for that area and tended to us very nicely. When my dinner came with a lobster tail and not the shrimp like I asked, he said keep the lobster and brought me the shrimp also. He just earned his tip! Beer on tap was good too. One meal there won't kill you, I wouldn't do it every night though.
If you're staying in Tampa just for spring training I'd highly recommend this place. It's one of 2 hotels within walking distance of the stadium. (Also a good place to stay for Bucs games, they play across the street) We did check out the Comfort Inn right next to it to see if they had a better breakfast buffet (yes we were going to do that) and it was absolutely filthy. Kids were walking around in the dining area with no shoes on, it wasn't very kept up and nothing was being filled. We walked right out.
Overall a very good experience, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.