We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felicity made the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Felicity made the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here February 23rd thru the 24th 2012. This hotel is quite nice. The hotel is situated in a great location, room was clean, nice property with a beautiful lake view.

What made the difference for us was Felicity at the front desk. She was very helpful and caring, she has a great personality and went out of her way to help my wife and I in explaining the amenities of the hotel, directions to grocery stores and helped us arrange shuttle to and from the Tampa Cruise Terminal. The others we dealt with at the front desk did not seem caring or concerened, But, Felicity's care, concern and service was above and beyond. We hope that Felicity is recognized for the level of service that she provide's and her truly caring attitude.

She truly made the positive difference in our stay.

Sincerely,

Fiorentino/ Herrera

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    67
    38
    23
    15
See reviews for
49
49
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A disappointing stay. The carpet in our room was dirty with large stains, and the bench in the room was stained as well. There were even stains on the curtains that were reddish- who knows what that might have been?! The linens did seem clean but the beds were awful! Mattresses were lumpy and no support. Seemed like the A/C was not cooling the hallways and it was stuffy.

The hotel lobby has what looks like it was once a waterfall wall and a very dead scraggly plant adorns it. Nasty. The fee breakfast had a juice dispenser and the orange juice was not juice, it was light orange water- and rubbery sausage patties that tasted awful! The television was only fair and the wireless internet was sporadic and very slow. I would not recommend staying here if you have other options.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I love this hotel. It is great because it is worth the price you pay. I come here on business all the time but I also bring my family for the weekend once every few months. It is a brand new hotel and everything is just so clean with a friendly staff and a great atmosphere. It has a outdoor pool and hot tub which is great. The continental breakfast is amazing because it has every single thing you can think of and its free. Complimentary shuttle to anywhere you want near the hotel which is great because there are so many places to go. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have been a HI Express customer for years, and I can honestly say, this is the worst HI Express I have stayed in for many years. First, I will give you the good points. The place is clean, and the housekeeping staff does a good job. Also, the pool area, which includes a heated pool, is great. Now the bad part! The decor in this hotel is BEYOND dated, and considering what I paid, there is no excuse for them not to renovate. Also, the normally wonderful HI Express mattresses were nowhere to be found. Instead, we had a matress more in line with what I would expect to find at the most basic budget motel chain. Finally, the lobby is very cluttered with a food retail section right next to the front desk. It just made the lobby and the whole place look that much cheaper.

I would definitely spend the night somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed here when I came down to see the Yankees during spring training. It is within walking distance to the stadium so it's a great value for the money. The breakfast buffet was very good and the lobby was very nice. I thought the rooms were very comfortable and spacious. There's a small pond in the back of the hotel which is nice to walk your dog around. In summing up, I was more than happy with my stay. I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was ok the room was looking run down (321). Beds are clean. Internet is almost useless 0.12 uploaded speeds. It is free and I still want my money back. Staff was frienldy rooms were ok. Exercise room had broken equipment, tVs are old, and the Internet is bad!!! I am use to a little better in a HIE. I am not feeling smart today.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times previously for business (it is located near the airport and my customers). The hotel is not holding up well at all and it is not indicative of the HI Express brand standard. I have had excellent stays here in the past and perhaps with some attention to the cleanliness, maintenance and brand they will be able to return to a hotel that represents an excellent value.

Front desk agent at check-in and over our 2-night stay was terse; very bothered by our mere presence as if she were home and we were interrupting her. Had trouble connecting the internet and was told that no one else had complained so it must be fine. The agent on later in the afternoon (Anthony) took care of the connection issue right away.
There were many small physical plant issues which signal to me that a hotel is not being well cared for. The carpet in my room was not vacuumed well-plastic clothing tags, pieces of paper. All of the carpets (room and hallway) were lumpy as if they hadn't been installed properly. Water feature in the lobby was not functioning. House phone haphazardly placed in the breakfast room. There was always garbage on the floor in the lobby and common areas. Grout in the bathroom and elevator floors poorly done and tiles moving. Pancake maker not working.

Only one garbage can in the guestroom (bathroom, not under desk). The only amenities in the bathroom were soap, shampoo and conditioner. Totally all that you need but not the typical HI Express set-up in the bathroom. The pillows were horrendous. I almost tore them up so that they wouldn't be given to another traveler. One, marked "firm" was the lumpiest thing I have ever experienced.

On the plus side the room was large (233) and very, very quiet. The bed and covers were comfortable. The location was great for me and the breakfast is convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport

Address: 4750 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area, Tampa s newest Express hotel.We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legend s Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees.Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum, are just a 5 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa Stadium hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 5:30 am and 12 am.The Holiday Inn Express Stadium Airport Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free Deluxe Breakfast Bar, High Speed Internet Access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center.Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph s Hospital, General Motor s, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stadium Airport Area Tampa s newest attraction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.