We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park for a nice walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lettuce Lake Park

Lettuce Lake Park
6920 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33637
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Lettuce Lake Park opened in 1982 and quickly became a hub of activities. The 240-acre site offers something for everyone. Wooded picnic areas and a playground are family favorites. A 1.25 mile bicycle path/jogging trail, complete with a fitness course, meander through the park. Lettuce Lake is also a haven to study nature. An interpretive center, featuring exhibits, leads to a 3,500-foot boardwalk and an observation tower where visitors can view an extensive variety of wildlife. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent to visitors to experience a wholenew side of the Park.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Park for a nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

Lovely park for walking the trails and overlooking the Hillsborough River. You can pack a picnic lunch or have a cook out..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    79
    22
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice park in the middle of the big city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 NEW

Nice park in the middle of a big city. Plenty of wildlife to observe. We walked the boardwalk and enjoyed seeing turtles, birds, and alligators of all sizes. There were several families that were quite loud and that makes it hard to see the wildlife since they get scared off by loud noises. Would be nice if people could keep the shouting and VERY loud talking to the playground. We found ourselves trying to hurry past the loud families in order to see any of the wildlife before they came and scared it off.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique Nature Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ranger Diana Kyle led us on an excellent trail walk! This knowledgeable and engaging naturalist had something for everyone! Price was right at $2.00 for the car that held 5 adults. This was a unique experience, one worth the time! The park charges $5/person for guided tours. We'll definitely be back!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a nice park with a boardwalk trail. You can also rent canoes and kayaks (we didn't). We walked the length of the boardwalk. It was so pretty. There are some huge cypress trees. You can take all sorts of pretty pictures of the lake and the trees. The day we visited we saw some snakes on the ground/plants under the boardwalk, we saw a baby alligator sunning itself, an owl perched in a tree and numerous squirrels. The tower was open so we went to the top and had a very nice view of the lake and surrounding area. It is quite shady so we didn't get too warm. There is also a playground for the kids. Best of all, it only cost $2 for our car load (4 adults, 2 children) to get in. We really enjoyed it and will definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nature trail with so much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went to Lettuce Lake on 6/17/14 and loved it. We saw dragon flies, fish, turtles, birds & alligators. It was exciting to see the animals in their natural habitat. It was only $2.00 per car to go. The only thing is that I wish they had given us a map or some information at the window, there is a sign with one but of course we didn't have that with us after we walked on the trail. Overall we had a great time and we would return if we are in the area again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lettuce Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lettuce Lake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lettuce Lake Park to your Saves list