We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lettuce Lake Park

Lettuce Lake Park
6920 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33637
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lettuce Lake Park opened in 1982 and quickly became a hub of activities. The 240-acre site offers something for everyone. Wooded picnic areas and a playground are family favorites. A 1.25 mile bicycle path/jogging trail, complete with a fitness course, meander through the park. Lettuce Lake is also a haven to study nature. An interpretive center, featuring exhibits, leads to a 3,500-foot boardwalk and an observation tower where visitors can view an extensive variety of wildlife. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent to visitors to experience a wholenew side of the Park.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ran here for the first time. This is a beautiful park nestled in Temple Terrace, FL. I jogged to the entrance gate and asked if I could run in the park. Normally, there is a charge for admittance into the park. However, since I was on foot vs. in a car he stated I could run in the park for free. I really enjoyed my run through the park. The paved loop is 1.25 miles long and is shaded with overhanging trees. An extra benefit on a hot Florida day. I stayed on the paved path but did see trails and bridges that are a viable option for exploring or extra mileage. Definitely recommend for either walkers or runners.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    119
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We took my sister and brother-in-law there over Memorial Day weekend and we all loved it! We saw so much wildlife and the views from the observation platform were gorgeous. We stuck mainly to the boardwalk but hope to go back and explore a little more. Definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Walk in Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Take a break, get away from the city, seems like you are in the Everglades. Peaceful, shaded, boardwalks among swamp like vegetation allows you to cleanse your mind or city life and get back to nature.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great for kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful park nestled in town near Univ of South Fla. It is so wild, you'll forget you're close to civilization. Rent or bring your own canoe, the staff is friendly and helpful. We saw baby alligators on the dock where the kayaks launched and heard wild boar grunting on the shoreline. Lots and LOTS of butterflies. Bring plenty of water, and mosquito repellent just in case. Nice shady boardwalk for hiking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great place to walk, beautiful views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Last time I was here was over 20 years ago, so since I'm now a regular runner, thought I'd check it out. Not too much trail to run (1.25 mi) but the boardwalk is such a great place for a beautiful nature walk along the water. Very peaceful here and great for canoeing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lettuce Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lettuce Lake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.