We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go out of your way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lettuce Lake Park

Lettuce Lake Park
6920 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33637
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lettuce Lake Park opened in 1982 and quickly became a hub of activities. The 240-acre site offers something for everyone. Wooded picnic areas and a playground are family favorites. A 1.25 mile bicycle path/jogging trail, complete with a fitness course, meander through the park. Lettuce Lake is also a haven to study nature. An interpretive center, featuring exhibits, leads to a 3,500-foot boardwalk and an observation tower where visitors can view an extensive variety of wildlife. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent to visitors to experience a wholenew side of the Park.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“don't go out of your way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We read all the reviews and went to this park. Unfortunately, we were sorely disappointed. Observation tower closer. Can't rent a canoe/kayak unless you have a local cell phone (which we didn't as Canadians). Didn't see any staff other than the person collecting the entrance fee. Lots of boardwalk through beautiful swamp/forest but we didn't see much for birds or other animals the day we went. If you are close by, sure - pop in. But we drove 40 minutes from our hotel and regretted it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    119
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Got to see the Florida of long ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I agree that Lettuce Lake Park was our favorite experience in Tampa. We got to see a side of Florida that is not built up and retains its natural beauty. Our time was limited, so we were only able to stroll the boardwalk that leads over the swamp and through a forest of old cypress trees. We had to walk quietly in order to not frighten away the wildlife that we wanted to see. We saw large turtles, snakes, swampland birds (egrets, herons and others), and small alligators. They are well camouflaged in their natural habitat, so you have to watch carefully and walk slowly in order to spot them. There is a viewing tower over the swamplands that was being renovated and was therefore not available to the public. There are many other activities in the park that we were not able to enjoy because of our time limitations, but the boardwalk through the swamplands was well worth the trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nice boardwalk which gave us the chance to see habitats in Florida not always seen by tourists. Both the boardwalk and the paved trails were very suitable for people in wheelchairs as well. People were very helpful about pointing out wildlife along the boardwalk, and we got great views of many species of birds and a good-sized water moccasin. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent and we would love to have gone out if we had had more time. Lots of pretty spots to picnic and a good playground as well - a really nice park for all ages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I live nearby so we visit quite often. It has a great boardwalk and places for kids to explore. Also - good photo opportunities!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Park - Not An Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is an outstanding destination for a couple of hours of leisure - enjoying nature and an excellent park facility. The boardwalk beside the lake and through the swampy areas is a fantastic way to stroll through nature. See other comments on wildlife to be seen. Nice paved jogging or walking trail. The shelters/pavilions "looked" to be great though we only watched people using them. Overall it was a great experience for our first afternoon/evening in town when we had little time and just wanted to relax from a day of traveling. Cost $2 per car to get in. As I said this is just a very very nice park. It's not a destination that I would drive hours to see but if you are near this place do yourself a favor and spend an hour of your life relaxing!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lettuce Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lettuce Lake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.