We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome park and handicapped accessible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lettuce Lake Park

Lettuce Lake Park
6920 East Fletcher Avenue, Tampa, FL 33637
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lettuce Lake Park opened in 1982 and quickly became a hub of activities. The 240-acre site offers something for everyone. Wooded picnic areas and a playground are family favorites. A 1.25 mile bicycle path/jogging trail, complete with a fitness course, meander through the park. Lettuce Lake is also a haven to study nature. An interpretive center, featuring exhibits, leads to a 3,500-foot boardwalk and an observation tower where visitors can view an extensive variety of wildlife. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent to visitors to experience a wholenew side of the Park.
Selden, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome park and handicapped accessible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very special park. Walked every inch of the boarwalk stopping several times to see all sorts of birds. Also saw a small, maybe 8 foot, gator! I was told he is a baby but I'm from New York so he seemed big. Tons of photo ops here. I usually scope out a park first for my wife who is handicapped. She is not in a wheel chair but you definitely could fit one on the boardwalk. I passed a couple wheeling a stroller. I was able to photograph tons of birds and fauna. There are Herons of all sorts, cranes, owls, cardinals, turtles and of course gators. The observation tower is closed for renovations and doesn't appear to be opening any time soon. Too bad, it looked pretty awesome. Very serene and peacefull. There is also a kayak/canoe launch onto the Hillsboro River. Rentals are very reasonable or you can bring your own. I will definitely return to this park as my son is in Temple Terrace. It is right near USF so if your a student or have children attending USF it's close. There is also a paved path you could ride a bike or rollerblade on. Good for the family ride. The are also shelters that you could have a party at. All in all a great park and well worth the $2 (per car) entrance fee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    93
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bird photographer's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I went there to hike and photograph birds. We were delighted with the wonderful boardwalk through hammock and swamp. We saw a roseate spoonbill up close and got great photographs. A night heron sat and stared at us from just feet away. The place is serene and very special.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“Great nature trails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This park combines conventional picnic areas with playgrounds, a nature center and great nature trails. The nature trails are elevated boardwalks above the wetlands and one of them leads out to a multi-storey observation platform overlooking Lettuce Lake.

The lake is alive with wildlife, particularly water birds, usually roosting on the opposite shore. It is very commonplace to see alligators in the water below the boardwalks. Note that it is a violation of Florida law to feed the alligators. Feeding them tends to increase their aggressiveness toward humans.

This is a delicate subject, but there has been homosexual activity in the restrooms. Do not let your children go to the restrooms unescorted.

This park is a great place for family fun.

Like all county parks, they now charge an admission fee, but it is moderate.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nature Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Been here a few times and i really enjoy the beauty of nature here,its very relaxing,great for walking,running and beautyful nature trails.if you enjoy nature,you will enjoy this park.a most do when visiting Tampa.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Love that the park was right off the interstate and near our hotel. Very cheap entrance fee and loved the boardwalk and wildlife viewing. The only part that was disturbing was that people were throwing their trash in the water but that had nothing to do with the park just people. It was a nice place to relax especially after having tests done at the hospital.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lettuce Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lettuce Lake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.