We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time good menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
2223 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-1411
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,976 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Seafood, Barbecue, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Boy Scout
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch time good menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The same great service and food but with a diferent menu. Lunch entries are lighter and include the side potato or vegetales.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Four of us went here recently to celebrate a birthday and our reservations were for 7:30 on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was very busy, even during this off-season, but we had a terrific experience. One had the eleven ounce filet, another had the steak Diane, a third tried the rack of lamp and the fourth had lobster bisque and an appetizer. Everything was wonderful and we all agreed we had enjoyed one of our finer restaurant meals ever. The steaks were done just right. Usually, there are some scraps on the plate, but these were absolutely licked clean. On the lamb dish, a few lonely but clean bones were left. The a la carte vegetables, a potato dish and some creamed spinach, were fabulous. We expect a lot when we dine at a Capital Grill, and usually we enjoy a very fine meal, but this was truly one of the best. The service was outstanding and the wine list, which is particularly broad and deep, was great. We had two bottles of a South African wine that was as complex and delicious as we've had in a long time. The wine prices were not at all outrageous. With four meals, sides, two desserts and two bottles of wine, the tab was about $100 per person, tip included.
We look at the three chains of fine steak/chop houses (Ruth's Chris, Morton's and Capital Grill) as 'expense account' restaurants. They are simply more expensive than most and have earned their own reputations. We find Morton's to be obscene, if only for the family-sized meats and baseball bat asparagus tips, and we are always overwhelmed by the gaudiness. Ruth's Chris has always been very good in our experience, and we almost always enjoy dining there. But this trip to Capital was truly magnificent and while we don't dine at these places often, we will make it a point to go back to the Tampa location one day soon. It is worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank writer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, LA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food...better service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

starting with the calamari....portioned for a group of 3 or 4, i threw most of it away. the lobster roll had an amazing amount of lobster in it, but it wasn't creamy as i anticipated and the herbs gave it a flavor not expected in a lobster roll. However, service by Sam (Samantha) at the bar was second to none. will definitely sit at the bar and not in the main seating area, because you could NOT get that kind of attention by a waiter with attention spread over too many tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank Senor_Ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Top 5 place to eat in all of Tampabay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

You will not be disappointed! Located in International Mall right beside Tampa Intl Airport. They have a superb wine list and some really great steaks and seafood. This place has some private rooms you can reserve and the decor is historic and political. The bar area is like the ultimate man cave. Some favorite dishes I always enjoy: Lobster Mac, Wedge salad, Bone in Kona sirloin, Filet Oscar, & the lobster.

Great place for an occasion or nice business dinner. Watch your wine consumption though, dinner here can get pricy! But worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank jderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary last night and was completely amazed with the service and attention to the smallest details. Our table was decorated with rose petals and little red hearts and there was a very nice "HAppy Anniversary" card signed by all staff, 2 complementary glasses of champaign and everyone was smiling and wishing us the best. I was really touched. Service was perfect, our waiter was very attentive , had a great knowledge of wines, we really liked the wine he suggested.i had lobster bisque and my husband had oysters- delicious ! For main course We had sea bass and Delmonico steak with porcini rub - great! We got complimentary double desert - small cream brûlée and chocolate cake- loved it! This is our 4th time at Capital Grill, we usually saving this place for special occasions . Highly recommend !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Roromashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing