We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - average quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
2223 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-1411
813-830-9433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,964 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Boy Scout
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service.
Tampa
1 review
“Great service - average quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are "very fortunate" to be able to afford being selective where we eat... We decided to have lunch at Capital Grille before shopping at the Int'l Plaza. Unfortunately, the food quality was just average but the service was outstanding (very nice atmosphere). Overall, not worth the stop ($$$ lunch for a $ meal). We will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    105
    36
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Live in Lady Lake but went to Tampa for a hockey game, stayed the night, and went to the International Plaza and Capital Grille on a Wednesday. Had 5:30pm reservations and were greatly graciously and seated promptly. Can not remember our servers name but she was wonderful. Lobster bisque and a casear salad for an appetizer. Had a nice bottle of Malbec from Argentina throughout the evening. Bisque was great. Huge pieces of lobster and topped with a drizzle of sherry from my server. Swordfish for my girlfriend and surf and turf for myself with the lobster mac and cheese to share as a side. All were fantastic. Tasty swordfish, juicy and tender steak and lobster, and the side dish was perfect. Everyone has lobster mac and cheese on their menu but this was over the top. For dessert it was the chocolate hazelnut cake. Big enough to share and the rest came home. The atmosphere here is great. The decor is classy and the service is tremendous. Their menu changes often as we found out that seabass will soon be on the menu. We visited in late March and will be back very soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We had no plans on which restaurant to choose at International Mall, but decided to use valet parking since it was pouring rain. They told us if we ate at the Capital Grille, our parking would be free, so we decided to give it a try. Initially, we thought it may be too upscale for a large group of wet kids and parents just looking for lunch, but the staff treated us very well and the food was amazing! They make the best burger I have ever had and the truffle fries are a must! Everyone with us chose something different and everyone was pleased. Will definitely check it out for dinner next time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I took my mom here for her first time for lunch on Mother's Day. The food was great and the service was excellent. It's well-worth the price. My mom loved everything about it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

As far as high end steak houses go, Capital Grille would not be the one I would choose personally to go to. After having been to all that Tampa has to offer many times I like the others around town much better. The atmosphere is certainly nice and it does have that steakhouse supper club feel to it. It is sophisticated. I found the service to be sub par and the food is just ok with me. It certainly does not warrant the price tag attached to it. Give it a try like I of course wanted to do then you be the judge. If you are here traveling with limited time I would suggest one of the others. Capital Grille is all over . So you can catch it any time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.