We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #49 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here with family for a few days.The room/suite has two double/queen beds and a couch sleeper. The sleeper converts to a full, I think. There is a small kitchenette area with a coffee maker, sink, microwave, and small refrigerator. The room was clean and there was more than enough space for us. Towels, too. The free breakfast was an added bonus since we traveled with children. The pancake maker and cinnamon buns were a hit with the kids. All in all it was a great value and a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 313 faces the Tampa Fairgrounds. The lights at night can be a little bright at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTravelsforAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms and the complimentary breakfast. We are grateful for your patronage and hope we can host you again if you return to Tampa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The property is in a convenient location to I-4 on the East side of Tampa.
The check in with Lauren was outstanding, she was able to put me in a room away from the road and elevator (quiet!). She was very helpful and more than happy to help with faxing a form to my office. Great Employee!!

The room had all the necessities like a comfortable bed, refrigerator, micro and a flat screen to watch NBA playoffs.

Breakfast had the normal Holiday Inn Express choices but was kept up better than average by the attendant! Things were well stocked and hot!

There is a burger joint on one side and a wing restaurant on the other, so if you'd like to walk to eat, it's in a great spot!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank robaconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. Lauren is thrilled that you mentioned her by name and that she was able to help you. We are glad you enjoyed your room and were able to relax. I have passed your comments on to the breakfast attendant and she pleased you mentioned her as well. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great room. King executive jr suite with sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express which was adequate. They offer complimentary shuttle service to the casino.The only down side was the extremely small pool. I would definitely stay there again when we go back to the Hard Rock Casino.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet. No parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the shuttle to the casino. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds. It served its purpose for us.

Location: It was easy to find. Right off the highway.

Customer Service at Checkin: The front desk staff at the time of check-in were extremely friendly. That's rare. I personally think that customer service has a major impact on how your trip will go.

Room: we were upgraded to a suit. There was a microwave ,fridge and free wifi. It was very clean. Not the Ritz Carlton but I feel I can bring my children here for a weeks stay.

Amenities: They have a gym and free breakfast. The gym is small..but most people are not going to work out on vacation or a business stay.

Breakfast was a little more than a continental breakfast. Bacon, eggs, pancakes, turkey sausage. It was very good.

Overall I enjoyed it. I hope the Holiday Inn reward the staff for keeping a nice clean and friendly place to rest. It can't be done with out the staff.

This was my first post ever on tripadvisor. I plan to do more. This site helps me a lot when choosing places to stay.
Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kcash25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review and for complimenting our staff. We are grateful for your patronage and glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a large group. We had over 10 rooms and every room had stains on the carpet. The rooms smelled musty, AC loud, bright street lights shining in room, elevators were slow, hotel staff was not friendly. The only positive thing is the location of the hotel. Our group will never stay in this hotel! It was a disgusting place to stay with our family! This hotel is in desperate need of updating, especially the carpets. Very unhappy with hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdblsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drgoldin90
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This last weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near the fairgrounds. The location was perfect for us. The room was spacious and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Included breakfast was varied and everyone found something to eat. Appreciated the "to go" coffee cups. Note to management - you need better signage out front. It is very hard to find your way into the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drgoldin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your positive comments regarding our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your room and breakfast. Our staff is happy that they made your stay enjoyable. I apologize for the poor signage out front. Thank you again for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

As we arrive at the hotel was nice, we call front desk for an extra towel because we're 4 and the we're only 3, so Dorothy at the front desk ask my husband why we need extra towel if we just arrive REALLY? I think that was very unprofessional as a front desk person, that's why you there to help us not to ask about every single request. Well at breakfast Theresa greet everyone and ask about our stay, really nice the Hotel I'm very picky and this hotel meet all my expectations, I recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SPiCYGiRL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
0.8 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds / Casino
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#47 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing