We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrecked Weekend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #65 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wrecked Weekend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was great. The room next to us had a lot of kids with no adult present. They bounced around and yelled really loud. No problem, as we had children ourselves and remember back then. At a little after 10PM we heard a lady come into the room yelled at the kids, must have put them to bed but turned the TV on very loud. After 11 PM I called the front desk and the TV went down for a while. Then the TV went loud again and the kids woke up and it was unbearable. I called again at 11:45 PM and said that we were either leaving or needed another room. We were moved two doors down and went to bed when all hell broke loose with kids again. We called again and the desk clerk came up. She agreed and knocked on the door for quite a while before they heard her. Finally they opened the door and a girl around 8 or 10 years came out and gave the clerk a big hug. The desk clerk yelled at them and said that things would be OK now. Seeing that She was probably babysitting two rooms full of kids We had enough and checked out at 12:25 AM and drove back to Kissimmee. No room refund or discount offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello Ronald.
Thank you for taking time to advise us about the noise situation that you experienced. I am looking at the phone service in that room to get it in better working order. In addition, I am in the process of refunding your room fees for the night. We certainly would like to think that our guests are respectful of their neighbors, however it seems that your experience did not reflect that. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future as your experience was not one that is normal for us. Please let me know personally if I can assist you further.
Sincerely,
Theresa White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
20
31
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Chicago, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I happen to travel a lot and cannot begin to say enough about Theresa White and her staff. I travel to this area a few times a year, but back in 2008/2009 I was there almost every week for 6-8 months and they made you feel like you were at home. Me and my team would leave early and Theresa and her team always made sure we had something to eat prior to us leaving before the breakfast area was even open.

I have choices but with this type of service i have no reason to book anywhere else.

Thanks,
Rick Gard

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the Republican National Convention. I was working during the convention and my employer booked most of the rooms in the hotel for my company.

I arrived late in the evening - around 1am. I was checked in quickly and efficiently. The room was a decent size.

Breakfast each morning was the typical hotel breakfast. Everything I ate tasted good, but I can't vouch for the healthiness of the food.

The hotel manager was always walking around and asking if everything was okay which was nice. You normally don't see a hotel manager so frequently. The hotel was clean and I have no complaints about the service.

I did use the hotel gym twice. There were several machines that served their purpose.

There was an iron, ironing board and hairdryer in the room... all things that I used every day and was appreciative for.

In the late afternoon / early evenings the hotel staff would put complimentary popcorn and fresh baked cookies out in the lobby. There was also an alcove in the lobby that housed all sorts of food for purchase... candy, chips, microwaveable foods, etc.

I liked the room's setup in that there was a desk and comfortable office chair where I set up my laptop. Unlike many hotels, there were many visible power outlets so I was able to plug everything in without moving furniture and crawling around looking for a free outlet.

The hotel internet access left much to be desired. I was traveling with my personal laptop and a company laptop. Most of us had trouble accessing the program that allows us to check our company e-mail. The wifi signal was strong and let me do everything else (surf the web, watch online videos, check personal e-mail), but something would cause the company e-mail to crash every few minutes. It got to the point where I would have to log in a dozen times in an hour which was a little ridiculous.

Unfortunately, there wasn't much close to the hotel. There is a Five Guys next door which I visited for lunch one day simply because I didn't have a company car and it was the only thing closeby. Our company provided hourly shuttles from the hotel, but we had to take cabs from the airport since this hotel does not provide an airport shuttle. (Cab from TPA was $47 including the tip.)

I doubt I will ever have a reason to stay at this hotel again mainly based on the location. There are hotels in more accessible areas that cost the same amount, so I would stay elsewhere next time. I didn't have a choice for this trip. The hotel itself was clean and adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello Debsfree7777!
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post your comments. It always helps to hear specific details about both positive things and items we need to work on. I hope you come back again soon!
Theresa White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was sufficient for our needs. But for over $125 dollars could of stayed beach side somewhere, but my sister was a Hard Rock winner so she paid, I played. This particular property did have a mildewy smell but only in the halls I thought. The staff were very friendly. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, hot cinammon rolls and a pancake station are different. This hotel is in a great location if going to the casino, and they have a shuttle bus so that sold us. I also enjoyed their toiletries. There lotion was very pleasant..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello Brandon Guest!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to post your comments. We appreciate the business and look forward to having you come back.
Theresa White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed one night and were very impressed with the hotel overall. The location is perfect if you're going to a concert or the casino. The shuttle is an added bonus. Our room was clean, the staff was fantastic, and they had more choices for breakfast than I expected! However, the best part was the bed. You won't find the typical flimsy, uncomfortable mattress or pillows here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Holiday Inn Express hotels are one of our hotels of choice but we were disappointed with our stay at this particular property. The hotel looks great from the outside but the rooms are very, very mildewy-musty smelling. Perhaps if we had had a room with an "even" number it could have been better as that was the sunny side of the hotel. It seems the air-coditioners continue to blow cold musty air as if they are in desperate need of cleaning. This hotel is in a great location as it is exactly across the street from the Fairgrounds entrance and they also provide a free shuttle to the Hard Rock Casino. If you decide to stay here, you will get a great breakfast, so ask for a room on a high floor with an even number.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear peanutsNewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you liked our location and you found our staff service commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology for the room issues you experienced. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I just took my son and his two friends to a rock festival at the Florida Fairgrounds located right across the street from the Holiday Inn. It was reasonably priced, although I worried what kind of neighborhood it was going to be in as it was so close to the Fairgrounds and it was reasonably priced (which is unusual for Florida hotels). I was pleasantly surprised. Firstly, it was right across from the Fairgrounds, so the boys could walk across the street to the Fairgrounds for the festival and then I followed them later in the day after relaxing in my comfy hotel room! The hotel staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms (we had reserved 2) were both clean and neat and well appointed, with a little microwave and fridge. It was perfect for our needs. Our reservation included a free buffet breakfast that included eggs, bacon, biscuits, bagels, pancakes and cereal. It was great that I could feed the boys before we hit the road in the morning. I should have known to expect quality from a great name like Holiday Inn. I am fairly picky about economy hotels, but I will definitely be staying here again in September for the next festival at the fairgrounds.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the main street, even numbers face the back of the property. There is no 'good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel
Holiday Inn Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.