We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epicurean Paradise, almost...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epicurean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Epicurean Hotel to your Saves list
Epicurean Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1207 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Epicurean Paradise, almost...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Epicurean was a fantastic place to stay before our cruise set sail. I cannot say enough about the courteous staff, ease of curb side check-in, amenities and the accommodations. The decor was absolutely original and spot on for the Hyde Park SoHo district. Did I mention that it was a foodie paradise? With Elevage in house and Bern's Steakhouse across the street, your culinary senses might just overload. We enjoyed an excellent meal and bottle of wine.

Now for the reason I am not giving an excellent rating- Edge Social Drinkery. To get to the Edge, patrons must travel through the hotel up the elevators, to the floor where our room was located. My husband and I wanted a nightcap and to take in Tampa scenery from the rooftop. Big mistake. This place was oozing with young girls on the prowl, taking the elevator (up, down, up, down, up, down), talking loudly through the hall about wanting hot boys only to return back to the elevator a short while later. Needless to say, this was not our scene as we much prefer a more sophisticated environment like Mansion on Forsyth Park or Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. What a juxtaposition from earlier in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to be, as you said, a foodie’s paradise. We are proud of being a part of the Bern’s legacy and love when our guests are able to experience both our restaurant, Élevage, as well as get the entire Bern’s Steak House experience. Thank you also, for your kind words about our staff. I just love hearing great things about them. We hope you come back soon!


Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
86
3
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the moment we pulled into this hotel we were happy with our choice. Even the valet guy was nice! The hotel is very nice. The hotel is all about their food/wine so the decor is modern and very nicely put together. They have wine tasting that can be found all around the hotel. Free bikes to explore the area. They have an impressive "theater" where you can learn to pair drinks/food. Their dinning area is very nice and all the food we tasted was delicious! The rooms are everything you see in the pics. NO fake pictures on this hotel. The fitness center has all brand new exercise machines, the pool / hang out areas are nice. Everything in this hotel was nicely put together. It right across the street from the landmark Bern's Steakhouse. It was a great experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I think more importantly.... we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
It is so great that you were able to take advantage of a lot of what the Epicurean has to offer! We are always mixing things up and can’t wait for you to stay with us again. Thank you for your kind review and I’m sure we will see you again real soon!


Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Epicurean, by definition, is a person who indulges in the pleasures of good food, wine, etc. This hotel caters exactly to this type of person. From the explosive phenomenon that is occurring with craft beers to the finest wines and no holds barred dining, this hotel lived up to every aspect of an epicurean experience.

Apparently, we learned during our stay that the hotel opened in December, which explains why all the amenities are in tip top shape. No complaints about the building whatsoever. The rooms were extremely comfortable. If I had to mention something its that the bathroom in our room (room 256) did not have a lock, which could pose a problem if you are not traveling in couples. The mini bar is stacked with non-traditional local and healthy options. The service was spectacular everywhere we went in the hotel (lobby staff, valet, Elevage restaurant, etc.) We could not visit the rooftop lounge called Edge because it rained every evening and they had to close it down, but we will definitely be returning to this hotel and checking back on that rooftop lounge!

TIP: Check the schedule prior to your visit as the hotel features the "Epicurean Theater" where they hosts classes and seminars on everything wine, food, beer related.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tampa. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms will have music from the pool party on Sundays after 12:30PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
All of the Epicureans here are excited to hear your wonderful review! The greatest compliment we can receive is a recommendation from our guests. We hope you come back soon to check out EDGE Social Drinkery and a class in the Epicurean Theatre. Classes and menus here are always changing!

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've been visiting my family in Tampa for over 20 yrs. I decided to try a more boutique experience and found this fine property. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern, sleek and innovative in style. The shower is incredible with powerful two head showers that make you want to just live in the shower. The bed was dreamy comfortable, loved the privacy/make up room light switch that actually worked. Housekeeping did a fantastic job. The negatives are few and don't prevent me from giving this hotel a 5 star rating, but there are a few: 1) The restaurant tried really hard to serve innovative cuisine but misses the mark, and is far too expensive. Also, they play their music really loud; 2) We bought our own bottles of wine to he room. For some reason they just didn't want to replace the glassware without us calling -- weird; 3) Nice minibar BUT be careful. The coffee pods in the minibar are NOT free; the water bottle labeled "Epicurean Water", not free. A bit of a gotcha in my opinion. Nonetheless, the positives far, far out weigh these negatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our Epicureans take great pride in providing each and every guest with a wonderful stay. We all hope you don’t stay away too long!

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

They treat us like its our home. Every staff member we come in contact with is professional, accomodating and has customer service 101 perfected. We just love to stay here. We experienced the Epicurean Theater for a Wine Mondays presentation. Excellent educational process and the food the serviced with it was perfect again.
From Valet, to check in process (THEY TAKE YOU TO YOUR ROOM TO CHECK IN and don't do it at the front desk), to the food, and the EVERYTHING is just what you would expect from a hotel of this caliper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is so great to hear you are a happy repeat guest! I am glad that we have met and exceeded the standards you would expect from a hotel. We all hope you return again and again. Thank you for your kind words!

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownresident
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a nice hotel. It is clean and the service is friendly. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. However it all seems a bit contrived in its strangely rustic minimalism. The best the hotel has going for it - perhaps really the only thing - is its proximity to Bern's. We stayed there so that we could eat and drink at Bern's without having to drive back to Sarasota.

Room Tip: I heard from the guy who checked us into our room that if you are bothered by noise, you should not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
I thank you for your complements and constructive feedback. We do have a fantastic group of team members who take pride in the Epicurean. Our décor reflects our part in the Bern’s legacy and our commitment to culinary education. Our hotel is a perfect fit for anyone wishing to dine at Bern’s Steak House across the street. Thank you again for your review.

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent the first night away from our son here fir a romantic getaway. First class service and excellent accommodations. We loved the proximity to Soho district and the fact it's across the street from Bern's. The bakery was a nice addition. You can tell a lot of thought went in to creating this place. Well done!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary words! Our hotel is the perfect place for a romantic weekend. We take pride in every detail of the Epicurean. We will see you again soon!

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Epicurean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epicurean Hotel

Address: 1207 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Epicurean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore life's many flavors at the Epicurean, where your stay will be filled from beginning to end with experiences that activate all your senses. Relax in the urban chic comfort of our luxurious guest rooms and suites. Signature restaurant, rooftop bar, full service spa, wine shop and culinary classroom with a robust calendar of events. Awaken Appetites Unknown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Epicurean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicurean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.