We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful 3 day getaway"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epicurean Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Epicurean Hotel to your Saves list
Epicurean Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1207 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
McSherrystown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful 3 day getaway"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I wanted to take my husband somewhere where he could just relax for 3 days. My great niece had just been hired as a physical therapist at the Evangeline Spa, which is located in the Epicurean complex. She suggested the hotel as I had booked a massage for my husband and a couples massage for the two of us at the spa. Both massage experiences were more than we expected, just awesome! The hotel is beautiful and had only been open a few months. The Epicurean has a theatre where guests can attend a wide variety of classes ranging from mixology to a specific cultural cooking class. We actually registered for 2 classes during our stay. The first was learning about whiskey and our second class was how to do wine and cheese pairing. Both were quite enjoyable with the guest speakers being connoisseurs of their individual expertise. The hotel offers complimentary bikes which my husband and i took advantage of, riding the 2 blocks to the bay. We plan to return for a longer stay where we can take advantage of all the hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: We actually did not require a specific room and were more than satisfied with ours, located on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    52
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
135
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel's location is its primary asset, as it allows you to enjoy the wines and the steaks at Bern's without having to drive home. The hotel is nicely conceived with a variety of options, such as a comprehensive wine shop and several eating venues. When we were there,the hotel had been open for about four months, but although the staff was exceedingly friendly,an air of uncertainty seem to be in the atmosphere. People had to consult one another to find things or how to perform certain tasks. When we got into the lobby at around 11 AM, the dining room stopped serving breakfast and it was too early for lunch. The coffee shop across the parking area was not open yet. Dinner the night before was great, the rooms are very nice, somewhat on the chi-chi side, the toiletries excellent, and when they get their act together,it will be a convenient place to spend the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are very happy to hear you stayed with us after enjoying Bern’s Steakhouse! Our team of Epicureans are always learning and growing in their positions to make sure they are providing the best service possible to our guests! We always love hearing praise for our restaurant Élevage! We hope you will return to stay with us again and experience our Spa, Evangeline and Patisserie, Chocolate Pi!
Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband "kidnapped" me for my birthday and took me to the Epicurean Hotel, a wonderful, boutique hotel. It boasts six different stores on the first floor--restaurant, bakery, classroom that teaches all about wines, a wine store and two others. Our room was on the patio level, second floor. You had a patio complete with two comfy chairs, a loveseat and a table, so you could relax on the patio if you wished. The hotel is across from Bern's Steak House and close to the interstate, but you never heard the traffic Our room was great, comfy bed, huge shower--wonderful!, and nice amenities. The decor was devoted to wines and vineyards. The only complaint I had was there was no dresser, so it was a good thing we only stayed a night. Wonderful heated pool, very large, bathrobes provided, it was great. The best birthday I think I've ever had, and it wasn't even a milestone. I would definitely return to this lovely haven, excellent service, it was great.

Room Tip: Valet parking is quite reasonable and the service is quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. We decided to go to Bern's Steakhouse, Tampa. Not wanting to drive home after a great evening of celebration. We decided to stay the night at the closest hotel. This hotel has recently opened and wow! What a great find!! We checked in and were escorted to our room by a front desk employee. We were shown our room and asked if it was to our liking. It far superceded our expections of an "in town" hotel. A true gem!

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the rooftop lounge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our daughter moved to Tampa so we've been flying down frequently and checking out the hotels and restaurants Tampa has to offer. Until this one, we'd not really found a place we loved enough to excite us in Tampa. We love the smaller boutique atmosphere - and everything here is new and fresh - (unlike even the nicer large hotels in Tampa, all of which seem to be badly in need of more than just the surface cosmetic updates some of them seem to be doing). The room rate was also the best we've gotten, and it's the closest to my daughter. The hotel is in a spectacular area of Tampa - short walking distance to a wide variety of places....Daily Eats, Bern's, Ciccio, Copperfish, etc and walking distance to Bayshore Drive - one of the prettiest drives you will make - or run. The rooms are nicely appointed with the stuff I care about - mini bar fridge with some room for your stuff, coffee maker with liquid creamer, good enough water flow in the showers (no bathtub if you need that), Wi-Fi included in room rate, and an icemaker right down the hall. We enjoyed good service at the mostly empty, fairly small pool area the last afternoon we were there, the gym is small but well appointed for largely aerobic exercise, but didn't get a chance to try out the food or lounge area at the hotel this trip as we were out and about in Tampa. And although my husband is, I am not much of a foodie so a little too frou-frou in the food department for my tastes, although Chocolate Pi looked tasty. The parking is convenient, the valet quick, and the service received at every turn was excellent. It seems to have quickly become quite a night spot, as we were seeing a steady flow of nicely dressed people arriving at the hotel and heading toward the lounge in the evening. We hit some great eating spots while in Tampa this trip....check out Roy's and Kona Grill for dinner, and Pinky's and Daily Eats for breakfast - highly, highly recommend each of them and will definitely return to each one. Also, have to give kudos to the historic Sacred Heart Church for the Easter mass downtown and to the beautiful historic Tampa Theater where we checked out a rather unusual movie. We do intend to return many times to this little city we have grown to love - and will be back to the Epicurean!

Room Tip: View out the hotel window not that great - we were looking out at Bern's and the street, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very unique new hotel. Great experience. They know how to make you feel special. Unique culinary ambience, Upon arrival, you are met at the door by a wonderful attendant with a great big beautiful smile. They have Ipads and do an automatic, on the spot check-in, which is super fast and terrific!

Extremely nice and comfortable beds,, linens and pillows. Oh yes, best feature of all -- double pull down --room darkening shades! We slept in, past our alarm...which we never, ever do! That says it all! A great choice for a fun evening. Celebrating a special occasion or just a getaway weekend.

They give you a quick "point to" tour and tell you of the amenities. Then walk you to your room to make sure you are satisfied. How about that for great service! Your private room--will have a doorbell. Another nice feature. Rooms are new and immaculate. There is a nice selection on wines available for purchase in your room and also an upscale coffee maker. Four elevators for use.

Most of the customers that we saw in the hotel were on the younger side-- young business professionals. We are grandparents but young at heart....we were fine and there were others our age also. In the evening,, I will have to say that though the food is suppose to be incredibly good...we did not eat here because the acoustics are designed, I believe, to enhance sound and maybe vibe--- and it is very loud. The rooftop lounge "The Edge" is edgy....beautiful views, nice staff. No covering if it rains. Music...and a college to young career age crowd. Beautiful group of people...but we were a bit out of place. I understand there is a limited drink menu or maybe I should say a special/select drink menu. Culinary classes are in the Theater room. There is a new spa. Chocolate and pastry shop. Hey, by the way-- Starbucks is outside the hotel, to the left about 6 blocks. It is in walking distance. Berns famous restaurant is across the street.

Overall, a great experience for the money -- well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very nice, unique hotel in Tampa and it's across the street from Bern's Steak House. The hotel is somehow affiliated with Bern's (for fine wine & spirits, at minimum) and it appears that they have facilities for cooking classes, etc. I was only there one night, but we enjoyed a couple of delightful drinks at the excellent rooftop bar and then walked across the street for a wonderful dinner at Bern's (be sure to try the collards).

All in all - a delightful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Epicurean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epicurean Hotel

Address: 1207 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Epicurean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore life's many flavors at the Epicurean, where your stay will be filled from beginning to end with experiences that activate all your senses. Relax in the urban chic comfort of our luxurious guest rooms and suites. Signature restaurant, rooftop bar, full service spa, wine shop and culinary classroom with a robust calendar of events. Awaken Appetites Unknown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Epicurean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicurean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.