We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Joplin, United States
1 review
“Great location and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited Hampton Inn at Ybor City before and after our Carnival Cruise. It is in a great location with free shuttle service to and from the pier, and was quite speedy. There is a Italian and Pizza place that delivers quite quickly to the hotel with very reasonable prices. The breakfast was very good and they have a 24 hour coffee station. We enjoyed it very much! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    228
    83
    19
    15
See reviews for
134
223
59
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Close, but not too close, to Ybor City. Clean hotel, layout was a little weird and parking wasn't great, but we were very happy with our stay in general. The staff was nice and gave us a good recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was a great place to spend the night prior to going on a cruise. Parking was in an enclosed garage and had no problems at all. Shuttle to Port of Tampa was efficient and speedy. Breakfast was a nice bonus and overall I would return there for the same deal. Hotel was undergoing renovations at the time. Didn't do much but sleep and leave the car there but the rate was a decent deal as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great little Hampton Inn in a location convenient for access to downtown for business and Ybor City for an excellent selection of restaurants. The staff is outstanding! I've stayed here several times and every staff person is consistently friendly and helpful. I'm impressed!

The breakfasts are good. The parking area is small, but convenient. The security measures are sufficient enough to make me feel comfortable when traveling alone.

This is my hotel-of-choice in Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We could not be more pleased with our stay. It is located on the main strip in Ybor where all the action is at night--pubs, restaurants, discos, etc. We loved that there was hot daily breakfast as well as a swimming pool. What made our stay even more pleasant was the incredibly concerning and amicable front desk staff, namely the various black women who were/are simply the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in town for a small surgical procedure at Tampa General Hospital and selected this hotel at the doctor's recommendation. We were there for three nights, combining a little pleasure with our primary purpose. The facilities are top notch and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was exactly as expected, very good. The shuttle driver was most accommodating. The streetcar stop was right across the street. The decor reflects the Ybor neighborhood history. It was very easy to get around the city from here. All in all, we had a most comfortable stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I spend one night with my family of 3 before leaving the next day on a cruise. The hotel is in great location and easy to get to the port. The hotel provides a free shuttle for drop off and return. Coming back from your cruise make sure you go to the parking area for buses/vans (pick-up is across the street from the cruise terminal near the garage). I had a longer wait than normal because I was not in the right area. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the port. You can even leave you car parked at the hotel for an extra fee. Look for the special on the hotel website.
The room was clean, the breakfast the next morning was the normal Hampton Inn breakfast, but a lot people if you wait to eat right before they close. Check in and out was easy.
If you have time and want to experience Ybor.. You are right at the gate to the “city”… the streets are full of fun and some great sights. Not recommend you take small kids to some party hubs.

Room Tip: Coming back from your cruise make sure you go to the parking area for buses/vans (pick-up is across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.