We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #22 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top notch facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in town for a small surgical procedure at Tampa General Hospital and selected this hotel at the doctor's recommendation. We were there for three nights, combining a little pleasure with our primary purpose. The facilities are top notch and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was exactly as expected, very good. The shuttle driver was most accommodating. The streetcar stop was right across the street. The decor reflects the Ybor neighborhood history. It was very easy to get around the city from here. All in all, we had a most comfortable stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    192
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
114
194
54
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I spend one night with my family of 3 before leaving the next day on a cruise. The hotel is in great location and easy to get to the port. The hotel provides a free shuttle for drop off and return. Coming back from your cruise make sure you go to the parking area for buses/vans (pick-up is across the street from the cruise terminal near the garage). I had a longer wait than normal because I was not in the right area. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the port. You can even leave you car parked at the hotel for an extra fee. Look for the special on the hotel website.
The room was clean, the breakfast the next morning was the normal Hampton Inn breakfast, but a lot people if you wait to eat right before they close. Check in and out was easy.
If you have time and want to experience Ybor.. You are right at the gate to the “city”… the streets are full of fun and some great sights. Not recommend you take small kids to some party hubs.

Room Tip: Coming back from your cruise make sure you go to the parking area for buses/vans (pick-up is across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am a real person and not some computer generated prompt writing some flowery review or fabrication. In all seriousness, this hotel reinvigorated my faith in the ability of hotels to put out a quality product altogether. Everyone was helpful, the staff was on point, and the convenience of the hotel cannot be beaten. I would highly recommend this hotel to a person traveling to Tampa. It is close to the restaurants and shops in Ybor and only a few minutes away from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uartsstgmgr
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night before our cruise because of their "park & cruise" and we had a wonderful time and will be doing this again every time we cruise out of Tampa OR are looking to stay in Ybor. The hotel was clean the staff was wonderful and my husband who is picky beyond belief when it comes to bacon and usually won't eat it since it is NEVER crispy enough to his liking went back for more...I think he would come back for just the bacon. We had a wonderful stay and we want to say thank you!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We traveled to Tampa on August 1st for a wedding chose this hotel due to the location of the wedding and in the heart of Ybor City. We also went to Comicon at the Tampa convention center on 8/2/14, about 2 miles from the hotel.
You will pay $ 8.00 dollars to park your car at the hotel garage with an elevator to the lobby.
immediately after entering the elevator the employees greeted our party with smiles. Every employee thereafter smiled and greeted us, I miss this from other hotels. Quick check in to our room #225 great room Very quiet the whole night not a sound. Clean and the beds where very comfortable. We walked to the entrance to Ybor City right out of the hotel lobby. We did'nt use or need the shuttle, you have to go to The Tampa Brewery Yum! and The Brick a restaurant with fresh organic very tasty food.
The breakfast was so fulfilling and fresh, oatmeal, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, bagels, juice, muffins, fresh hot coffee. Clean pool, extra towels and plenty of SUN.
Plenty of places to eat and shop around the corner.
Your really going to like this hotel.

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room far from the side of the trolley station next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is charming, very secure, near little eclectic shipping district and no major commercial stores. Offers free shuttle to port so that's why I chose it. Took $30US for two people to get here from Tampa airport. Breakfast is comprehensive and hot. Complimentaries in room were Neutrogena. Complimentary coffee downstairs. Pool was clean. The bad: the hotel itself is so moist that the air is thick and damp. The room was so moist that the carpet felt wet under our feet and disgusting as if it was soggy and squishy under our feet. Tv didn't work but guy rigged it to work. Coffee maker, microwave, fridge. Had to wait nearly 15 minutes to check in, even though we were the only ones in line, bc the girl had to go use the restroom and the breakfast lady was manning the desk. On the whole, we'd stay here again only if they fixed the 85%+ humidity in the building.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I'm a hilton honors member, fact for years, but you won't take my cash when my friend is way too drunk, and I need to get her in a room at last minute? You charge her credit card, in lieu of US currency? What the hell is wrong with you guys? While I understand you want a card, when someone, who is a long standing honors member, wants to get a room. When did US currency become obsolete in your eyes?

Room Tip: It's a great hotel, but bring your credit card as they don't accept cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We apologize that our policies did not meet your needs and your comments will help us to improve our processes. We value your loyalty as a rewards member and apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#18 Family Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.