We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is Key in this great area of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service is Key in this great area of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We make at at least one yearly trip to Tampa and had not stayed in in Ybor up to this point..... after disembarking from our cruise ship in Tampa, exhausted, we decided to bite the bullet and pay the extra 30+ to stay right there in Ybor. Now this may be our official favorite hotel! The beds are incredibly comfortable, the rooms have kickin' AC with individual thermostats, down pillows, clean and spacious. What really made the stay excellent was the staff- they were attentive, friendly, and sincere! They also have a decent breakfast and coffee selection in the morning. My favorite parts was the free shuttle that would take you all around Ybor and the fact that check out isn't until NOON! I recommend James Joyce Pub for a pint and some delicious Irish food, or the Columbia down the way- make sure you RSVP at the Columbia for the flamenco dinner show if you go (don't just assume because you have a dinner reservation you have a show reservation- we learned these are not one in the same).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    165
    69
    19
    12
See reviews for
100
170
48
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

7th Ave. in Ybor City has a lot of energy! Lots of fun. The Hampton Inn on 7th is a great place to stay. Clean rooms, extremely helpful staff, nice outdoor pool - the temp in July was 93 during the day. Nice big breakfast room with an excellent selection of food items.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

great stay -good breakfast-superb staff -clean rooms decent location in very old section of Tampa. Easy walk to food and drinks- shuttle service very quick and will take you to various locations. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future -easy access to Tampa general hospital and the riverfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The front desk staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. This hotel is very convenient to the Tampa Port. They had a package deal including one night stay, buffet breakfast, free parking and a free shuttle to and from the port. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Moved here from the HGI, Airport, Westshore. I've stayed at the HGI Yboy and wanted to change locations. This is a nice hotel, nice staff but again....just not what Hampton used to be. They say breakfast is up at 0600 but I leave at 0605 each day for work and they shoo you away from the area and with no other option....the grab and goe's are never out when I leave. Thats fine, I can stop somewhere for breakfast but its out of the way so I have to wake up earlier. Also, like Westshore, they seem to only provide housekeeping every other day. What is with that? .... constructive input...... clean the filters on your vacumes...the room smells like a vac bag. I went and bought lysol to make it smell better. I'm actually not normally a picky person but I can't remember being disappointed in Hampton/HGI/Hilton stays EVER... this month.... kind of am. Coming back in October to stay in Hilton downtown for a Bucs game...hope thats a better experience. As far as location this is perfect. Nice little pool. Nice little fitness center and so easy to walk. Ybor is a marvelous little community and I love it here.

Room Tip: Ybor is a great little town.... best place to stay in Tampa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I received more than I had expected by way of service, amenities, professionalism, food, parking, and the best coffee station. We were greeted by Angela who took care of our registration and explained to us about the breakfast area, coffee station and more. The shuttle service was to gem of all, we had no idea that that service was available to us. The drivers were great in picking us up to get us to the convention center on time. One morning Mike came in early to ensure we made it to our opening meeting. We were taken to restaurants that provided the best food ever. I highly recommend this hotel for reasons mention above.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my 2nd review of this hotel and it's still great!

We returned today from an excellent stay at this Hampton Inn. We came up from Naples for a 1 night stay to enjoy the 4th of July in Tampa with our 2 boys. We have stayed once before at this location and knew we would feel safe, even in the heart of Ybor City which becomes quite the party scene at night. We even walked back from Channelside after viewing the fireworks, since it was only a mile walk, and walking with a group felt safe. We felt even safer when we stepped inside the lobby.

The beds were signature Hampton Inn- extremely comfortable. Everything about the room was nice and there was plenty of room to spread out. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast and clean and bright breakfast area.

One of the best parts was the complimentary shuttle service. Although I don't remember the name of the young man who drove us to the Aquarium, he was very responsive to our request to be taken there and was happy to chat with us along the way.

All of the front desk staff was always friendly and quick to greet us every time we came in to the lobby. They all seemed happy to work there and the friendliness never seemed forced.

Overall, continues to be a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.