We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel in Centro Ybor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Florida Aquarium Package
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel in Centro Ybor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I live in the Tampa Bay area, and love to go out in Ybor. I stay at this hotel at least once a month because this affordable hotel is cheaper than a DUI.

The hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly. My room seems to always either smell of smoke, or paint for whatever reason. The room is always clean. The breakfast is always over run with guests, and the staff have difficulty keeping the good replenished.

Parking can become an issue, and you will have to park across the street. Not a horrible think, just a pain.

This hotel is super close to all the Ybor has to offer, is secure, and clean. And for me, cheaper than a DUI, so I am a fan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
High Springs, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are going on a cruise. Shuttle service and safe parking are excellent. Hotel security is excellent with a room key needed to gain entry and use the elevators. A walking tour of the famous Ybor City is a must see, also just a few blocks fro the hotel. Plenty of good restaurant choices and you can watch cigars being made while you are there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Parking was somewhat of an issue once we went out for dinner. The location is excellent for walking around. Close to nice restaurants and places of entertainment. Hotel is also shor drive to downtown and the Hard Rock Casino. We felt very safe walking around the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If your going to Ybor City (Tampa, Fl) this is the place to stay. Everything is within walking distance, and it is a very nice place to stay. Love the strip, look forward to it every year. The food is great and the drinks not bad at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Doing most of my travels in Central America I was very happy to stay here. I had erred in my reservations but the staff were prompt in correcting the problem. Also let us check in early to a beautiful room and very clean. Hotel was right in Ybor City and on the street car line. The place was a little rich for my blood(did mention I usually travel in Central America).Super place, will stay there again and would recommend.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank samnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean rooms, nice staff, breakfast is nothing special. Right on 7th ave, walking distance to everything Ybor city has. Very clean, updated hotel with all the amenities you could need. If your looking for a place to stay in Ybor this s it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times. As always the hotel was very clean and service was nice but has declined sharply since my last stay. Check in was time consuming with me being checked into a dirty room with a messy bed at first. I then left to explore the city. Upon my return, I was not given the room I booked. It was very odd how long it took to get me into the correct room. The front desk simply seemed confused like they did not know what to do causing me to stand at the front desk annoyed for much longer then necessary. After the long wait, I still did not get the room I booked, but it was close enough. When I used my shower for the first time there were about 10 small flies I had to kill. They were just hanging out in the enclosed shower and not able to escape. That was kind of gross. For two days in a row the water pressure in my shower was a literal trickle of water at times. There wasn't even enough pressure to rinse my face off for several minutes at at time. I could tell each time someone started their shower because I lost more water pressure. The front desk offered to move me but could not guarantee the water pressure would be any better because this was not a common issue. This was not an issue for me on my previous visits, so I was surprised as well. Considering this hotel was just remodeled I was a little shocked at the out dated and moldy shower in my room. I hope the showers and plumbing will be fixed the next time I visit Ybor. If I didn't have so many great stays at this hotel, I'd never return. I know this hotel is usually excellent in every category, so I will use this hotel the next time I'm in town and hope the hotel will be on top of things as they have been in the past. This hotel is close to everything in Ybor and very convenient. The parking garage is clean and has plenty of parking. A room key is required to use the elevator when going to floors with guest rooms, which is nice. The hotel has a very small gym.

Room Tip: Avoid room 513 due to poor water pressure. Make sure you are given the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkswave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#22 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing