We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This hotel had a very nice, comfortable, homey feel. The staff was very helpful! I loved the lounge area. And they had a free hot breakfast in the morning. The con-you have to take a cab to get to the hotel/rent a car. The pro-they had a shuttle to take you around Ybor City and also to the cruise terminal (we stayed there the day before our cruise). The rooms were clean and very nice.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — no shuttle from airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    171
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
174
51
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

The Hampton Inn Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown was an average stay in a location that has some good points and some bad points. First, while the location is technically inside the historic Ybor City entertainment district, it is really about 3 or 4 blocks away from any of the restaurants, bars, and nightclubs at the heart of the area. If you happen to get a lower floor, you may end up with an unpleasant view of profanity laced graffiti over boarded up windows and doors of neighboring abandoned warehouses. A positive about the location is the trolley stop nearby, providing easy access to the heart of Ybor City and to downtown for $2.00.

The room itself was sufficiently clean, with the exception of large smudges on the window, and quiet with a comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was a bit lacking compared to other Hampton Inns & similar hotels. There was no waffle maker and no meat of any kind on the buffet; mostly bland pastries and some cereal. The staff overall were quite friendly and informative, however. We booked a "cruise package" that included up to seven nights parking and shuttle van to and from the cruise ship terminal (about 2 miles away). The shuttle driver was friendly and very helpful. When we returned from the cruise, he was very prompt in picking us up.

Overall, the hotel was not one of the better ones of the Hampton Inn brand, but was an acceptable stay nevertheless. I would stay here again, but I would definitely look at other options first.

  • Liked — Staff, overall condition of the hotel
  • Disliked — Location is disapointing; actual Ybor City area is several blocks away
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kissimmee florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

So I took my best gal pal to Tampa for her birthday this weekend. Neither of us have been to Ybor so we were siked to find out our priceline hotel was in Ybor and not far away from the fun. We arrived in Ybor before 10 am which means no check in but they did allow us to get our parking pass and park in their lot while we waited for checkin. We got breakfast even though officially we were not checked in yet. Breakfast was good a large selection is available and the staff is friendly. We came in and out of the hotel for hours before we could check in and no matter how many dumb questions we had the staff was always friendly and very helpful. The hotel is right on the trolly line so we enjoyed the city until checkin. Checkin was painless and quick. The room was nice! We had decided to take a quick nap before our crazy night out. we only planned on an hour nap and then off again. Well the beds are so freakin' comfortable that we slept for FIVE hours!!! I wanted to take the bed home with me. Luckly we didn't miss dinner. We arrived back at the room at 3 am and decided swimming would be nice. Now the sign says it is closed at 10 each night but we learned if you are quiet no one even notices you are in the pool. The pool is small but great for singles and couples. They have a noon check out which is awesome after a night out and check out is painless. We did not hear anyone else in the hotel until 10 am when we woke up to our alarm and then heard our neighbors alarm going off as well. Other then that it was nice and quiet. The view is not great the room and service is. The area around the hotel is well lit and clean. The only bums we saw where outside the clubs 5 blocks away. The two of us felt pretty safe walking home by ourselves. Over all our Ybor city experience was good and we would totally stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location,the bed and the Pillows!
  • Disliked — You have to pay to park there and you have to pay to watch TV! Isn't the $100 I paid to stay there enough?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAINE
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

This is a very clean hotel and just the right place for the bachelor/bachelorette parties that seemed to be happening on that weekend. Walls were paper thin, so don't expect much in the way of privacy. The neighborhood did not seem very safe from the outside. I never would have found the place without explicit directions from the front desk.

  • Liked — Easy distance to Busch Gardens and Aquarium
  • Disliked — Did not look very safe from the outside
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hampton in Ybor City. We were a bit disappointed in some aspects of the stay though the staff seemed to be trying very hard. Still, there was a bloody fight between two drunk men on the floor above us, the staff forgot our wake-up call, and the view of the graffiti covered wall was less than thrilling. We also were disappointed with the unheated pool. Most FL hotels heat pools by the Spring if not year-round.

Highpoints? The breakfast staff do a good job and even gave the kids in the room coloring books and markers to keep. The room is simple, yet comfortable. The location by the trolley line is handy. The Tampa Bay Brewing Company in the Ybor Centro is a few blocks away and had good food and home brewed root beer and was really very family friendly.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — safety concerns
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnecoManatee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We specifically chose to stay at the Hampton, Ybor City, because of it's location. There's a trolley stop right by the hotel which will take you to Channelside, the Aqarium and other sites. We had a lovely clean room and the staff was very accomodating. When we got to our room we found the toilet did not work properly and within 2 minutes of calling the front desk maintenance was there to correct the problem. We took advantage of their shuttle service and their driver was a blast! With getting the Triplet package we got to take in the Lowrey Park Zoo and the Tampa Aquarium in one day and then in the evening we got to enjoy the sights and nightlift at both Ybor City and Channelside!!!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again then next time we choose to go to Tampa!!!

  • Liked — the staff!
  • Disliked — didn't really find anything we didn't like
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

This hotel was great, nice clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, decent free breakfast, friendly staff and in what was once a great location. The nieghborhood is still safe and historic, but the night life that used to be available here has all but vanished. There are still plenty of clubs and bars to visit, however you may be nearly alone at any of these establishments, even on a friday or saturday night. Dining options have been severly limited as well......however there is an excellent sushi place called the blue samarai. There is a trolley that will take you to downtown/channelside which is where all the action was the weekend I was there(happened to be Gaspirilla, a huge mardi gras like celebration, only with pirates instead of jestures).

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.