We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Macon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited this hotel on the night before departing for cruise. Located in Ybor city and close to the Cruise port of Tampa. This hotel is a great stop before or after your cruise, or anytime to visit Ybor City. The hotel has ample parking and for a fee you can leave your car there and take the free shuttle to and from the cruise port. The breakfast is included and great quality also. It is located at the end of the main street in Ybor City which is a hopping spot for night life with many bars just short stroll down the street. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    159
    68
    19
    12
See reviews for
100
161
45
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night before our cruise. Had a great time in Ybor City. The shuttle to the port was quick and efficient as was the pick up after the cruise. We left our car in the hotel's covered parking area and it was fine. Good value for the convenience it offers cruisers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed at the hapton inn in ybor city, florida because they were close to the cruise terminal and they offered an amazing deal of stay and cruise. our car was left there for an entire week and when we got back it was just fine. We loved the room and the location and will be back again to stay and explore Ybor City!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a excellent place to stay ,I would return and also I will be telling my friends and family to stay there.The staff was so helpful from the door to the desk, housekeeping ,and Breakfast room.Very clean and just Beautiful and relaxing room very clean . If you stay here you will not be dissapointed....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the best that Ybor City has to offer. All the staff was friendly and accommodating, the hotel seemed brand new, the bed very comfortable and I felt totally rested next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ST LUCIE, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great value for a hotel with great location. Easy access to restaurants and entertainment without the congestion of Tampa. As a female traveling alone I felt very safe and was able to work from the hotel without any internet problems. Room was modern, comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I was glad to see you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This property is a pimple on the face of the Hilton Hampton Inn franchise. Although the Managers on duty tried their best to accommodate, I think they were truly embarrassed by the staff that works there. So, I'm not faulting the Managers on Duty...they were the only professionals in the house and I thank them for their efforts.

However, the staff (housekeeping, security, breakfast) were abominable!

First, my room was never attended to (outside of simply putting the duvet cover back on my bed): garbage was never removed, bathroom left unattended, coffee maker & cold/hot cups left without replenishment, etc.

Second, the hotel is on the edge of the trendy Seventh Avenue night scene, near some Youth Centre with nasty street urchins acting like little punks (I got sprayed with some beer by one); and in the hotel, some teenyboppers were all over going to other floors of the hotel when they were obviously not guests (a room key was necessary to operate the lift)...and where was security? Stuffing his face and chatting with some folks in the eating area, looking at something with these guys on their iPads.

Third, the icing on the cake: went for breakfast (breakfast is included with the room rate) the next morning...the serving area was a shambles - waffle batter all over the place, waffle machines inoperable, coffee urns empty, scraps of dried up food left, and no staff in site. I muttered to myelf, "ENOUGH!" I had breakfast at a nearby eatery, coming back later to make yet another complaint and the MOD was resting (heck, he was pulling a double shift and made to work on a night his religion prohibits) and when I told the front desk person about the teenagers milling about, all I got from her was, "kids will be kids"

I left (no, RAN!) to another hotel in the Hilton family a few blocks away. So bottom line, if you want a nice place close to the action of Ybor City, yet far enough to have a nice quiet evening...THIS AIN'T THE PLACE!

Room Tip: book at the Hilton Garden Inn instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I do want to truly apologize for the problems you experienced with the room cleanliness, breakfast & security. I can assure you that I have spoken to my Director of Housekeeping and Operations Manager regarding your stay. As the new General Manager here I will take the steps to correct these issues immediately. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#29 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.