We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experianceq” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #34 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Buford, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good experianceq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel always has great service. They always do their very best to please. Not so sure about the smell in the room hallways?? I like this location because there are many good places to eat within walking distance. The area may not be very kid friendly depending on what your cultural tolerance level is. I find it to be great people watching. The area is very central for Tampa if you are traveling for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    139
    59
    17
    10
See reviews for
78
130
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta ga
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent one night at the Hampton Inn Ybor City. I usually don't stay in Ybor because of prices but this time I got a good rate so I decided to give it a try. So Glad I did. I did not realize they were going thru a renovation... I assumed it was in the final stages of a Grand Opening as everything looked Brand New. The lobby, and the Common area for breakfast is Beautiful.
I was upgraded to a suite which was very nice. Everything again felt brand new. I almost wondered if I was the first to stay in this room. Hell I even wondered if I was the only one in the hotel a couple of times.
As the title says, the only reason I did not give a perfect score was the fact the construction and workers were there all afternoon and evening working.
The pool area was small, but nice. The gym was small but the equipment looked to be new or almost new and in good shape.
Good security makes you feel safe and secure in the hotel. Room keys needed to access just about any door that leads outside.
My Room was comfortable and clean and overlooked the Ybor City Trolley Station. Kinda cool.
I will definitely stay here again when I come back if the rate stays competitive. Can't wait to see what it looks like when they are done.
And they DID NOT charge the parking fee since I am a Diamond Member, for all you Road Warriors out there.
Also, recommend you go to Spaghetti Warehouse for dinner. Really Good !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

While the entrance may be a bit confusing, you can see the hotel from 7th Avenue and the location is perfect to witness the Ybor City revelry. Check-in was super fast and the staff went above and beyond to pamper you. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went there for a surgery at Norman Parathyroid Center in TGH. Transportation was great, friendly staff, and pretty good room. Only thing I didn't like was the area in Ybor, it wasn't too family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from my stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Ybor City. First they do let you know that from July 1 to August 31, 2014 they will be doing renovations. That was fine with the group I had. The hotel was in a great location, with all of the bars, restaurants, and other stores along the block. We took the shuttle to a few stores within range of the hotel, and all was well. The hotel shuttle also took us to the Port of Tampa the next day and there were no problems there as well. I had two people on Thursday August 1, 2013 that needed a ride back to the hotel and again no problems at all. If I were taking a cruise from Tampa again I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of construction at the hotel. Very loud in the morning. Machines woke us by 7:00am pounding and loud machinery. We Waited over an hour for our shuttle back to the hotel from our cruise. Others tried to take the shuttle and push us away. Needs to have a better system. Rooms clean, staff friendly. Breakfast yummy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel undergoing renovation so a bit rough around the edges at this point. However, renovated areas very nice. I was the first occupant in my room. Very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Walking distance less than 5 mins to all the Ybor sites and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.