We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experianceq” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Buford, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good experianceq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel always has great service. They always do their very best to please. Not so sure about the smell in the room hallways?? I like this location because there are many good places to eat within walking distance. The area may not be very kid friendly depending on what your cultural tolerance level is. I find it to be great people watching. The area is very central for Tampa if you are traveling for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
132 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent one night at the Hampton Inn Ybor City. I usually don't stay in Ybor because of prices but this time I got a good rate so I decided to give it a try. So Glad I did. I did not realize they were going thru a renovation... I assumed it was in the final stages of a Grand Opening as everything looked Brand New. The lobby, and the Common area for breakfast is Beautiful.
I was upgraded to a suite which was very nice. Everything again felt brand new. I almost wondered if I was the first to stay in this room. Hell I even wondered if I was the only one in the hotel a couple of times.
As the title says, the only reason I did not give a perfect score was the fact the construction and workers were there all afternoon and evening working.
The pool area was small, but nice. The gym was small but the equipment looked to be new or almost new and in good shape.
Good security makes you feel safe and secure in the hotel. Room keys needed to access just about any door that leads outside.
My Room was comfortable and clean and overlooked the Ybor City Trolley Station. Kinda cool.
I will definitely stay here again when I come back if the rate stays competitive. Can't wait to see what it looks like when they are done.
And they DID NOT charge the parking fee since I am a Diamond Member, for all you Road Warriors out there.
Also, recommend you go to Spaghetti Warehouse for dinner. Really Good !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taprennoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

While the entrance may be a bit confusing, you can see the hotel from 7th Avenue and the location is perfect to witness the Ybor City revelry. Check-in was super fast and the staff went above and beyond to pamper you. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went there for a surgery at Norman Parathyroid Center in TGH. Transportation was great, friendly staff, and pretty good room. Only thing I didn't like was the area in Ybor, it wasn't too family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank NathanC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from my stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Ybor City. First they do let you know that from July 1 to August 31, 2014 they will be doing renovations. That was fine with the group I had. The hotel was in a great location, with all of the bars, restaurants, and other stores along the block. We took the shuttle to a few stores within range of the hotel, and all was well. The hotel shuttle also took us to the Port of Tampa the next day and there were no problems there as well. I had two people on Thursday August 1, 2013 that needed a ride back to the hotel and again no problems at all. If I were taking a cruise from Tampa again I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank russ6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of construction at the hotel. Very loud in the morning. Machines woke us by 7:00am pounding and loud machinery. We Waited over an hour for our shuttle back to the hotel from our cruise. Others tried to take the shuttle and push us away. Needs to have a better system. Rooms clean, staff friendly. Breakfast yummy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Camille J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel undergoing renovation so a bit rough around the edges at this point. However, renovated areas very nice. I was the first occupant in my room. Very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Walking distance less than 5 mins to all the Ybor sites and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#18 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#23 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing