We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL IF GOING FOR TGH SURGERY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
A TripAdvisor Member
“GREAT HOTEL IF GOING FOR TGH SURGERY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went there for a surgery at Norman Parathyroid Center in TGH. Transportation was great, friendly staff, and pretty good room. Only thing I didn't like was the area in Ybor, it wasn't too family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    148
    65
    17
    10
See reviews for
86
149
40
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from my stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Ybor City. First they do let you know that from July 1 to August 31, 2014 they will be doing renovations. That was fine with the group I had. The hotel was in a great location, with all of the bars, restaurants, and other stores along the block. We took the shuttle to a few stores within range of the hotel, and all was well. The hotel shuttle also took us to the Port of Tampa the next day and there were no problems there as well. I had two people on Thursday August 1, 2013 that needed a ride back to the hotel and again no problems at all. If I were taking a cruise from Tampa again I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of construction at the hotel. Very loud in the morning. Machines woke us by 7:00am pounding and loud machinery. We Waited over an hour for our shuttle back to the hotel from our cruise. Others tried to take the shuttle and push us away. Needs to have a better system. Rooms clean, staff friendly. Breakfast yummy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel undergoing renovation so a bit rough around the edges at this point. However, renovated areas very nice. I was the first occupant in my room. Very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Walking distance less than 5 mins to all the Ybor sites and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON CENTER, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Warm cookies in lobby were fantastic !- friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet even though they have construction going on at this time. Restaurants within walking distance . shuttle to pier all good . Shuttle from pier was a little slow but for the price to park - it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very close to many of the attractions we were interested in visiting. However, it is also close to some of the unsavory areas of town. Two of the three nights we stayed, we were either kept awake or awakened in the middle of the night by the construction workers who were staying at the hotel. The workers should be assigned rooms away from regular paying guests especially since many seem to work long hours and are returning to their rooms when most of the guests are already sleeping. Due to the construction, breakfast was being held in a conference room. The first two mornings, the tables were covered in tablecloths and it was clear that efforts were made to make it look nice. The third morning, everything was placed on nasty looking tables. Also, it would have been nice to have ice and ice water as the first two mornings the juices were warm. While we were aware the hotel was under construction when we booked, we would definitely rethink this in the future. We also requested a room close to the elevator, however our room could not have been any farther. The folks working the front desk were very nice. The man who checked us in was fabulous, the most helpful of any of the staff we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Needed a hotel in Tampa for a couple nights while I had a medical procedure done. Hampton Inn was recommended by the clinic with a small discount. This is a very nice hotel that is under renovation (summer 2013), but we were fortunate to get one of the renovated rooms. VERY nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Super location for Ybor City, right on 7th Ave., the main drag. Only 6-7 blocks to the Columbia restaurant. Also very convenient to downtown, the port, the convention center, the Florida Aquarium and Tampa General Hospital and their shuttle bus will take you anywhere for free within a 3-mile radius.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#32 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.