We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tampa Hotel stay before and after cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Florida Aquarium Package
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, United States
1 review
“Tampa Hotel stay before and after cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of construction at the hotel. Very loud in the morning. Machines woke us by 7:00am pounding and loud machinery. We Waited over an hour for our shuttle back to the hotel from our cruise. Others tried to take the shuttle and push us away. Needs to have a better system. Rooms clean, staff friendly. Breakfast yummy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Camille J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brandon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel undergoing renovation so a bit rough around the edges at this point. However, renovated areas very nice. I was the first occupant in my room. Very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Walking distance less than 5 mins to all the Ybor sites and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON CENTER, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Warm cookies in lobby were fantastic !- friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet even though they have construction going on at this time. Restaurants within walking distance . shuttle to pier all good . Shuttle from pier was a little slow but for the price to park - it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very close to many of the attractions we were interested in visiting. However, it is also close to some of the unsavory areas of town. Two of the three nights we stayed, we were either kept awake or awakened in the middle of the night by the construction workers who were staying at the hotel. The workers should be assigned rooms away from regular paying guests especially since many seem to work long hours and are returning to their rooms when most of the guests are already sleeping. Due to the construction, breakfast was being held in a conference room. The first two mornings, the tables were covered in tablecloths and it was clear that efforts were made to make it look nice. The third morning, everything was placed on nasty looking tables. Also, it would have been nice to have ice and ice water as the first two mornings the juices were warm. While we were aware the hotel was under construction when we booked, we would definitely rethink this in the future. We also requested a room close to the elevator, however our room could not have been any farther. The folks working the front desk were very nice. The man who checked us in was fabulous, the most helpful of any of the staff we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nclcrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Needed a hotel in Tampa for a couple nights while I had a medical procedure done. Hampton Inn was recommended by the clinic with a small discount. This is a very nice hotel that is under renovation (summer 2013), but we were fortunate to get one of the renovated rooms. VERY nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Super location for Ybor City, right on 7th Ave., the main drag. Only 6-7 blocks to the Columbia restaurant. Also very convenient to downtown, the port, the convention center, the Florida Aquarium and Tampa General Hospital and their shuttle bus will take you anywhere for free within a 3-mile radius.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SoFlaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was in the middle of renovating both some of the floors and the main lobby/breakfast area, but they appear to have made every last effort to make up for it, and to minimize any impact that it had on its guests. We stayed on an already-renovated floor, and the renovations were impressive. A few other highlights: -breakfast was fantastic as always -Yuval (and all other front desk staff) were extremely helpful. Yuval even allowed me to print out some documents for a presentation that I had, saving me the trouble of finding a local print shop. -complimentary shuttle made our stay that much more convenient, saving us fares for multiple cab rides -security was top notch, as that might be of some concern given the rowdiness of Ybor City. Only downside: parking was $8/day in their garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came to Tampa because I needed to have an outpatient surgery at the Tampa General Hospital. I am glad I choose this hotel. First, the hotel has a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a three mile radius. The shutlle was able to take me and pick me up from the hosptial after my proceudure. It was a wonderful relief (for my family and I) not to have to fight trafiic and parking spaces at the Hospital. The hotel itself is in the Ybor City section of town- think of it like a Cuban New Orleans. Tons of resturants within walking distnaces and nightlife\bars. I really liked the cobble stone streets in the downtown part. The beds were so comfy, plenty of space in the bathroom, and of course, a great breakfast spread!! All the staff that we came in contact with were so helpful. This hotel does have a laundry faciltiy as well. During our stay, there was a renovation of the breakfast area- but we had no complications with noise\paint smells, etc. Once you check in and park your car- you don't need to move the car. Everything is within walking distance\or take the free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaY858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing