We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ybor City - Tampa!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Southeast Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ybor City - Tampa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Needed a hotel in Tampa for a couple nights while I had a medical procedure done. Hampton Inn was recommended by the clinic with a small discount. This is a very nice hotel that is under renovation (summer 2013), but we were fortunate to get one of the renovated rooms. VERY nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Super location for Ybor City, right on 7th Ave., the main drag. Only 6-7 blocks to the Columbia restaurant. Also very convenient to downtown, the port, the convention center, the Florida Aquarium and Tampa General Hospital and their shuttle bus will take you anywhere for free within a 3-mile radius.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    171
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
174
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was in the middle of renovating both some of the floors and the main lobby/breakfast area, but they appear to have made every last effort to make up for it, and to minimize any impact that it had on its guests. We stayed on an already-renovated floor, and the renovations were impressive. A few other highlights: -breakfast was fantastic as always -Yuval (and all other front desk staff) were extremely helpful. Yuval even allowed me to print out some documents for a presentation that I had, saving me the trouble of finding a local print shop. -complimentary shuttle made our stay that much more convenient, saving us fares for multiple cab rides -security was top notch, as that might be of some concern given the rowdiness of Ybor City. Only downside: parking was $8/day in their garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came to Tampa because I needed to have an outpatient surgery at the Tampa General Hospital. I am glad I choose this hotel. First, the hotel has a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a three mile radius. The shutlle was able to take me and pick me up from the hosptial after my proceudure. It was a wonderful relief (for my family and I) not to have to fight trafiic and parking spaces at the Hospital. The hotel itself is in the Ybor City section of town- think of it like a Cuban New Orleans. Tons of resturants within walking distnaces and nightlife\bars. I really liked the cobble stone streets in the downtown part. The beds were so comfy, plenty of space in the bathroom, and of course, a great breakfast spread!! All the staff that we came in contact with were so helpful. This hotel does have a laundry faciltiy as well. During our stay, there was a renovation of the breakfast area- but we had no complications with noise\paint smells, etc. Once you check in and park your car- you don't need to move the car. Everything is within walking distance\or take the free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

With the renovations the hotel is not safe. The one door is held open by a rock. Anyone from the street can come in...and did. The breakfast is not the best. The food seemed stale and when it runs out it is hard to get refills!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is a little gem especially if you are going on a cruise. Very friendly service, small but well maintained pool, free shuttle to ships. The rooms are nicely done and very clean. It is at one end of Ybor City, but still a nice walk to the restaurants and clubs. One note: Ybor City nitelife is a little to the wild side, so if you are easily offended, this may not fit your plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted to break up our drive to our vacation in Sanibel Island by visiting historic Ybor City and dining at the Columbia restaurant. We chose this hotel because of the value and our satisfaction with other Hampton hotels. We were not disappointed. Every staff member we met from the desk clerks to the maids were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and nice. We really enjoyed the fact that the hotel offers free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. This allowed us to enjoy the sights of Ybor City without having to use our car and worry about parking. We did not encounter any of the problems mentioned in some of the other reviews. Area was safe for walking and hotel is close to everything in Ybor..... really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff is able to keep up the great service standards of Hampton Inn, and are more than willing to provide information about the area. The hotel is clean and well-managed. Ybor City is a very interesting historic section of Tampa, and worth the stay. Not a lot of Florida communities can provide the walkable old-world atmosphere of Ybor. Sort of like a mini French Quarter. The parking fee is understandable considering the urban location. It takes a little doing to figure out the location, with one-way streets and some construction in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.