We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton to Port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #26 of 159 hotels in Tampa
marietta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hampton to Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent shuttle service from the hotel to the cruise port. The shuttle service took us quickly to our port and was there within minutes of when we called for service back to our car at the end of our cruise. Very accomodating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    155
    66
    19
    12
See reviews for
94
158
41
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for what we needed. We needed a hotel near downtown tampa with free Internet access and free breakfast. This hotel is right in the middle of Ybor. The staff was friendly and helpful. All the staff members I encountered were polite, friendly, and knowledgable. We did not really like the area. The drive in was a bit scary. If you have children that like fast food be prepared to drive because those restaurants are not in walking distance. Otherwise, the hotel and room were clean. The bed was super comfortable! I would certainly stay here again , when I have an appointment in Tampa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were staying just the night prior to travelling to Orlando, but we wanted to explore the nightlife- definitely the place to stay. The location is great as we were able to walk to restaurants and bars within a very short time. The breakfast is the morning is also a plus.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay with good shuttle service and great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in this area- or for those getting a cruise. The rooms were great and the free wifi was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Myself and friends stayed here last week before an upcoming cruise. The hotel itself was great. Everything was clean and the rooms were above average! The free breakfast was also really good. The desk clerk, Bonnie, however; was a different story. She was hateful and sarcastic everytime we came in contact with her. Everone else on staff went above and beyond to help us. When we returned from the cruise I called the desk to ask about the shuttle back to our vehicle and cringed when Bonnie answered my call. She was, once again, rude and sarcastic when I asked my question. I really wish I could give this review the 5 stars the hotel deserves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kim P,

We are very happy to hear you found our hotel to be great. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Please be assured that we will follow up internally with the employee you mentioned as we get great feedback from our guests regarding her. Whether it was an off day or not I apologize that the interaction produced such a negative response.

Please contact me directly on your next visit to the Tampa area. I would be happy to personally arrange for your accommodations.

Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Ybor City not only is in a fun location, but the cruise and park special makes it a great deal! I stay here whenever I leave out of Tampa for a cruise - it works out so well! I stay and enjoy the sites of Ybor City for the night, then take the hotel shuttle to the cruise port and back. My vehicle is parked in a safe location and the convenience is unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in April for one night before I cruise,the location could not have been better.the hotel is at the end of the strip filled with restaurants Bars and clubs anything you need it's here.now back to the hotel the rooms were a nice size and very clean the staff was very helpful with things to do where to eat and so on.then in the morning the hotel shuttle takes you to the cruise port that only takes about five minutes to get to the port is that close to the hotel.so go have fun and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.