We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, United States
1 review
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I thought the location was awesome, right on the 7th Ave, the main drag of Ybor City. The hotel itself is decent, nothing special or exciting, especially if you take the location out of the equation. I felt the room felt and looked generally clean, but there were some greasy marks on the headboards, some creepy stains on the carpet near the beds, and some big black scuffs on the walls. The room was pretty quiet, except for the occasional train and trolley outside. The staff were all great and took strides to ensure our happiness. The pool is decent, but on an overcast day, was really cold, even when the high had been over 80 that day. The pool is situated between two tall buildings, so I doubt it has much chance to warm up through out the day. A solar warming system on the roof would help a lot. The beds were comfortable and clean, but the pillows were like marshmallows! They were big and fluffy to start with, but once there was a bit of pressure on them, they collapsed. The towels in the bathroom were falling apart and left little bits of fabric all over you after drying off. They also had a musty smell to them. After the first night, we requested new towels and they were definitely better, but still felt cheap. The shower was kind of sad, with poor water pressure and a nearly non-functioning shower head. While trying to change from a misty shower to a rain-like shower, I inadvertently pulled the whole shower head right off the spigot! Anyways, overall, the hotel was a good experience. I would recommend it to anyone who isn't too picky and plans on spending most of their time out and about. The beds were nice and the staff were great, there were just a few things that need to be fixed up to make this a "Very Good" hotel instead of an "Average" one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Richard H.,

We are happy to hear you liked great service and location. I apologize that your room was not in great condition and would like to follow up directly with you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in Historic Ybor City! We are confident you will have a great experience on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    216
    83
    19
    15
See reviews for
125
218
59
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
biloxi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very clean bed and room. Also convenient location to tampa. Staff was helpful in finding me a chinese restaurant. Breakfast waffles were awesome! Parking garage fills up fast. Get there early or you have to park across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn a day before my Carnival Cruise. The location is great. It is a quick $25 taxi ride from the airport. The hotel staff are friendly. They have a shuttle to take you to the port, and also to local sites. The gym is lame, but the PowerHouse gym is great (its free with your stay). Breakfast was typical. Rooms are good too. Its a worth a stay before your cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located in the funky, historic, downtown Ybor City area. The area resembles the New Orleans French Quarter or possibly Austin with a Cuban flavor. The hotel was very clean, with a great comp breakfast, free shuttle and close to the late night club scene. Trolly is close by and the cruise port is minutes away! Pool area looked great (we didn't use it) and parking is easy (though we did not have a car). Staff is friendly, helpful and courteous, no negatives for us here. very enjoyable, thanks again Hampton...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here recently for my birthday. The location was great, right of of 7th Ave in the heart of Ybor City. The king room with whirlpool was very spacious. The fitness center could have been better but overall I had a good experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great staff along with great service. Clean hotel room and felt very safe. Very convenient, friendly shuttle service and close to everything. Will be back and recommend to other co workers and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ybor, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The area wasn't my cup of tea. But I am sure if I were younger and into party and stuff this would be a good place to visit. I was there for business only. The hotel was exteremly clean and all staff were friendly. It was just the surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.