We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #26 of 159 hotels in Tampa
sedona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Tampa/Ybor City because I was having minor surgery at Tampa General Hospital. I came to Tampa (from Arizona) as the surgeons for Hyperparathyroid Disease are renowned in Tampa. The hospital recommended the Hampton Inn for people traveling from out-of-state; it is under 2 miles away.

When we first arrived, admittedly we were skeptical. The parking situation is VERY confusing. We parked in the underground lot and in order to get up to the lobby (via the elevator) you needed a room key. Well, we didn't have a room key yet! We didn't realize the check in/lobby entrance was on the upper level of their parking lot.

In order to get to ANY floor/room you need a room key. This is actually a nice security feature. But just make sure to always have your key on you/accessible when you are getting into the elevator.

The next small issue I had was the initial room they assigned us smelled like smoke. It's challenging for hotels because once someone smokes in a non-smoking room, the smoke is still in furniture/carpet/walls. I am highly allergic to smoke and asked for another room. Brittany at the front desk could not have been more helpful. We did find a room that met our requirements.

The room is fairly standard in size for a Hampton Inn (2 Queen Beds). The refrigerator is VERY spacious/large. And the rooms have microwaves as well. I was able to rest very comfortably before and after surgery. Brittany also recommended the Carne Chop House, which we LOVED (dined there 3 nights in a row).

The surrounding area is a bit sketchy at first glance. But as you walk around, you realize it is "funky"! Great little shops and restaurants. I wish I had been here feeling 100% so I could have taken advantage of the area more!

It's our last night here and the guests on our floor are a bit loud; seem to be in a party mode. Again, this is not the hotels fault. We have yet to go to sleep; I am certain if we need to report the noise, the front desk will handle it

We did take a nice walk on Bayshore Blvd. (a 10 minute drive away). Really nice to be off the water; especially since we live in Arizona.

My boyfriend and I agree: Next time we are in Tampa, we will stay at the Hampton Inn Tampa/Ybor City! I hope to see Brittany again! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    153
    66
    18
    11
See reviews for
94
156
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Ybor City for a short weekend trip. Parking was a little frustrating; there just aren't enough spots in the deck. When I arrived, there was nowhere to park, even in the "15 min for check-in only" spots. Therefore, I had to park in the overflow lot and pay the $5 to park because as I was not yet checked in, I didn't have a Hotel hang tag. This however, was the only negative aspect of my stay.
I stayed in a king suite which was quite serviceable. It was very clean upon check in. The bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning functioned well. I didn't notice the mustiness that others have mentioned.
The wifi functioned well the little bit that I used it. There was no in-room safe, but I guess that's not common in hotels of this class.
There is a trolley station around the corner from the hotel, and the hotel is within an easy walk of the heart of Ybor.
I will definitely stay here the next time I visit Tampa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We departed Tampa for our cruise. Wanted to stay close to ships docks as we know nothing about Tampa. Ybor city is a funky area with LOTS to see and do. Hotel staff was very helpful with directions and guiding us to a place to eat. If you can get in, try the Laughing Cat for fresh Italian food and their amazing Sangria! I dream about it. The hotel room was new, sparkling clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet that is included in the room rate was yummy and perfect for people rushing to their cruise ship. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to the ships docks and they are very in tuned to guests that are cruising. I would highly recommend this quaint hotel. If we cruise again out of Tampa, we will definitely stay at The Hampton Inn Ybor City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I was sad that this place seems not all that safe at all. I was annoyed that the book in the rooms says there is room service claims you cam get food until 10 but when I called thy said they wouldn't come after 9 because of safety. If the paper said ten that would be fine but it said 10. Also a hotel in such a crappy area should be less than $100. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean though at least. Oh also not too fun foe kids. Nothing to do in ybor with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear abellona,

We are happy you found our staff friendly and the rooms clean. We were very disappointed to learn that you had a problem with our room service provider and that you felt the area was not safe. The Ybor City merchants, as well as the Tampa Police Department, have put in a lot of effort to ensure our visitors are safe. This week TPD announced that crime in Ybor City is down 83% in the 10 year period from 2002-2012. Some crimes were down 97%. Although we always recommend our guests take the same precautions here that they would take in any large city we can confidently state that we are much safer than most other similar cities.

We wish we could have made some recommendations to you for some family friendly things to do. We are located within a historic Ybor City trolley ride or our own shuttle can take you to the Florida Aquarium. We are within walking distance to GameTime at Centro Ybor where you can enjoy interactive games and simulators. And during the year there are various kid friendly festivals that can be enjoyed by all.

We hope a future trip to Tampa will allow you to enjoy all that Ybor City has to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit.

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Uruguay
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Finally getting some vacation time and usually traveling to Europe, we we43 looking forward to actually staying in Florida. As a prelude to a long overdue trip to Busch Gardens, we decided to Drive to Tampa from Fort Lauderdale (our home) and spend the night before in Ybor. I had been to Ybor years earlier and remember the Hampton Inn as being in a great location and the restaurants and night life being alive, but not out of control. On a Tuesday night, there was actually a lot going on. We arrived at 6pm, and were pleasantly greeted by Brittany, who informed us that as a Diamond, I was upgraded to a suite (thank you) and parking was complementary (thank you)! The room was clean and spacious, and had a nice view of a beautiful historic brick building. The pool and fitness centers were also very nice. The restaurant Bricks right down the street was also convenient with great food which for me was heart healthy (excellent salad with seared ahi tuna), and the late night farmers market was across the street and open until 10, serving organic veggies, hand crafted natural soaps, gourmet coffees, etc. There was a lot going on after this, but we had to catch some sleep. The breakfast in the am was great with many heart healthy options including fruit and egg whites. This was fantastic and was a great prelude to the rest of our trip to Tampa that week. Thanks Hampton Inn for serving as our hub in Ybor city and offering a great beginning to our Tampa visit.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite if possible. Also ask for an upgraded view of some of the beautiful h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friend and I drove to Tampa in March 2013 to see a Yankees spring training game. We wanted to stay in an area with bars and restaurants within walking distance and so based solely on Google Maps, we opted for Ybor city which is about a 25 minute cab ride to the stadium. 7th avenue in Ybor was exactly what we wanted as there are a lot of bars packed into this strip. Over the course of two nights we probably went to a dozen places and had a great time. I'd love to go back to the area.

During our research, we saw only 4 or 5 hotels in the area, many of which were fully booked so we went with the Hampton Inn. The hotel is about a block away from the nightlife so the location was perfect. However, we had to pay about $220 per night for a bare-bones hotel room so we were likely paying for the location and because of the lack of competition. When we arrived, we found out we also had to pay $8 per day for parking in their lot, so we felt further gouged. They do have a free continental breakfast but we didn't wake up in time for it so I can't comment on it.

The room itself was a plain hotel room and certainly not worth $220 per night, location aside. Both of our room key cards failed the first night and had to get them re-scanned at the front desk. There really isn't much else to say about the hotel. It's just a place to crash while visiting Ybor and while you'd probably have to pay a similar rate at one of the other local hotels, it's simply too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Perkeo73,

We were happy to hear you had a great time in Historic Ybor City as well as at Spring Training. We agree that being the only hotel located on 7th Avenue is a huge advantage to our guests when they visit the Tampa area. We were disappointed to learn that your keys did not work properly at one point and that you could not enjoy our full breakfast buffet. Hopefully we can make that up to you on your next visit.

Pricing in Tampa, as well as most of Florida, is seasonal with January through April typically being the busiest months. We understand that Spring Training occurs over that time period but we hope that you can visit Ybor City at other times during the year when the area is less busy. There is plenty more to do in Tampa and we would be happy to give you some suggestions.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Like most Hampton Inn's the hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the area.
The breakfast was a little less then expected with Hampton Inn, but it was good, the breakfast attendant needed another helper it was really busy and she had trouble keeping things refilled.
The Internet was terrible, if I had been traveling on business it would have been an issue, but was on vacation with family so it wasn't a big deal, but very bad connection and speed both days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.