We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Ybor could not have been better!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #29 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Florida, Uruguay
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Our visit to Ybor could not have been better!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Finally getting some vacation time and usually traveling to Europe, we we43 looking forward to actually staying in Florida. As a prelude to a long overdue trip to Busch Gardens, we decided to Drive to Tampa from Fort Lauderdale (our home) and spend the night before in Ybor. I had been to Ybor years earlier and remember the Hampton Inn as being in a great location and the restaurants and night life being alive, but not out of control. On a Tuesday night, there was actually a lot going on. We arrived at 6pm, and were pleasantly greeted by Brittany, who informed us that as a Diamond, I was upgraded to a suite (thank you) and parking was complementary (thank you)! The room was clean and spacious, and had a nice view of a beautiful historic brick building. The pool and fitness centers were also very nice. The restaurant Bricks right down the street was also convenient with great food which for me was heart healthy (excellent salad with seared ahi tuna), and the late night farmers market was across the street and open until 10, serving organic veggies, hand crafted natural soaps, gourmet coffees, etc. There was a lot going on after this, but we had to catch some sleep. The breakfast in the am was great with many heart healthy options including fruit and egg whites. This was fantastic and was a great prelude to the rest of our trip to Tampa that week. Thanks Hampton Inn for serving as our hub in Ybor city and offering a great beginning to our Tampa visit.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite if possible. Also ask for an upgraded view of some of the beautiful h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    155
    66
    19
    12
See reviews for
94
158
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friend and I drove to Tampa in March 2013 to see a Yankees spring training game. We wanted to stay in an area with bars and restaurants within walking distance and so based solely on Google Maps, we opted for Ybor city which is about a 25 minute cab ride to the stadium. 7th avenue in Ybor was exactly what we wanted as there are a lot of bars packed into this strip. Over the course of two nights we probably went to a dozen places and had a great time. I'd love to go back to the area.

During our research, we saw only 4 or 5 hotels in the area, many of which were fully booked so we went with the Hampton Inn. The hotel is about a block away from the nightlife so the location was perfect. However, we had to pay about $220 per night for a bare-bones hotel room so we were likely paying for the location and because of the lack of competition. When we arrived, we found out we also had to pay $8 per day for parking in their lot, so we felt further gouged. They do have a free continental breakfast but we didn't wake up in time for it so I can't comment on it.

The room itself was a plain hotel room and certainly not worth $220 per night, location aside. Both of our room key cards failed the first night and had to get them re-scanned at the front desk. There really isn't much else to say about the hotel. It's just a place to crash while visiting Ybor and while you'd probably have to pay a similar rate at one of the other local hotels, it's simply too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Perkeo73,

We were happy to hear you had a great time in Historic Ybor City as well as at Spring Training. We agree that being the only hotel located on 7th Avenue is a huge advantage to our guests when they visit the Tampa area. We were disappointed to learn that your keys did not work properly at one point and that you could not enjoy our full breakfast buffet. Hopefully we can make that up to you on your next visit.

Pricing in Tampa, as well as most of Florida, is seasonal with January through April typically being the busiest months. We understand that Spring Training occurs over that time period but we hope that you can visit Ybor City at other times during the year when the area is less busy. There is plenty more to do in Tampa and we would be happy to give you some suggestions.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Like most Hampton Inn's the hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the area.
The breakfast was a little less then expected with Hampton Inn, but it was good, the breakfast attendant needed another helper it was really busy and she had trouble keeping things refilled.
The Internet was terrible, if I had been traveling on business it would have been an issue, but was on vacation with family so it wasn't a big deal, but very bad connection and speed both days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

me and my friend vacationed with my family we stayed two nights in ybord with luck we got a rooms at the Hampton inn it was the first time me and my friendpayed for our own hotel room. it room was awesome very clean beds were super comfortable .we went it the first night and loved that we were within walking distance to everything all we did both nights was walk the strip and go out . but i have a question what kind of room spray do y'all use the first thing me and my friend noticed is that our room smelled amazing so did our entire floor its smelled similar to fruit loops it was AMAZING! i actually kind of miss that smell me and my friend are planning another visit to ybord and will definitely stay here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The receptionist on the night shift was Rude beyond words. She would not smile under any circumstances and seemed very upset that we interrupted her personal phone call with our check-in. Once in the room we realized that the Internet access was lousy: it was incredibly slow and would drop every couple of minutes.
On the plus side, the location is very good for all things Ybor City and the staff in the day shifts was reasonably friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Go with the lower numbers, they are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear EJS,

We apprecaite you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the conduct you experienced at our front desk and we will follow up internally to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are happy to report that our internet bandwidth is being increased at this time and that our internet speed should be much faster very soon.

Please feel free to contact me personally on your next visit to the Tampa area. I know we can do better at displaying Hampton hospitality.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel without knowing Tampa. As with most Hampton Inns it was very clean, the staff hospitable and the rooms very comfortable. The Ybor City location was a pleasant surprise for us. We spent several hours checking out the area. Bought a couple of cigars, there looked to be several fun bars in the area and it looked as though the area really could come alive at night. Not in the mood for my first tattoo at 54 I didn't check that out. We felt very safe in the area even at night. Parking was inexpensive, convenient and secure. Our reason for stopping in Tampa was to visit Bern's Steakhouse and it was a $15+ tip cab ride.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Another fine weekend staying at the Hampton. Easy to get to and everything is right on 7th street. This is a great location and the staff is great. This is the second time I've stayed there this year for parades. Will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#29 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.