We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #29 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Like most Hampton Inn's the hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the area.
The breakfast was a little less then expected with Hampton Inn, but it was good, the breakfast attendant needed another helper it was really busy and she had trouble keeping things refilled.
The Internet was terrible, if I had been traveling on business it would have been an issue, but was on vacation with family so it wasn't a big deal, but very bad connection and speed both days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    148
    65
    17
    10
See reviews for
85
148
40
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

me and my friend vacationed with my family we stayed two nights in ybord with luck we got a rooms at the Hampton inn it was the first time me and my friendpayed for our own hotel room. it room was awesome very clean beds were super comfortable .we went it the first night and loved that we were within walking distance to everything all we did both nights was walk the strip and go out . but i have a question what kind of room spray do y'all use the first thing me and my friend noticed is that our room smelled amazing so did our entire floor its smelled similar to fruit loops it was AMAZING! i actually kind of miss that smell me and my friend are planning another visit to ybord and will definitely stay here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The receptionist on the night shift was Rude beyond words. She would not smile under any circumstances and seemed very upset that we interrupted her personal phone call with our check-in. Once in the room we realized that the Internet access was lousy: it was incredibly slow and would drop every couple of minutes.
On the plus side, the location is very good for all things Ybor City and the staff in the day shifts was reasonably friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Go with the lower numbers, they are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear EJS,

We apprecaite you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the conduct you experienced at our front desk and we will follow up internally to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are happy to report that our internet bandwidth is being increased at this time and that our internet speed should be much faster very soon.

Please feel free to contact me personally on your next visit to the Tampa area. I know we can do better at displaying Hampton hospitality.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel without knowing Tampa. As with most Hampton Inns it was very clean, the staff hospitable and the rooms very comfortable. The Ybor City location was a pleasant surprise for us. We spent several hours checking out the area. Bought a couple of cigars, there looked to be several fun bars in the area and it looked as though the area really could come alive at night. Not in the mood for my first tattoo at 54 I didn't check that out. We felt very safe in the area even at night. Parking was inexpensive, convenient and secure. Our reason for stopping in Tampa was to visit Bern's Steakhouse and it was a $15+ tip cab ride.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Another fine weekend staying at the Hampton. Easy to get to and everything is right on 7th street. This is a great location and the staff is great. This is the second time I've stayed there this year for parades. Will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff is excellent and friendly. The place is really clean. I had reservations at another hotel and ended up unable to stay there. I was giving this hotel from the hospital patient services. The shuttle service was great and a huge savings. The shuttle drivers were very prompt & kind. The breakfast was good and the woman overseeing breakfast was sweet & more than helpful. All though this hotel was further than some others, I'm glad I stayed here. Very Good Job!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed one night here, but had an excellent experience. The location was extremely convenient to the restaurants, bars, and shops along 7th Ave. We walked to dinner at the Columbia Restaurant (also a great choice in Ybor City!), stopping for a drink at a bar on the way. Everyone at the hotel - from front desk, to housekeeping, to breakfast buffet staff - was extremely friendly and clearly focused on providing authentic customer service. Room and hotel were clean and quiet, and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. We will definitely return to this hotel if/when our travels bring us back to Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#29 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#29 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.