We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasantly enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived and was impressed by Brittany who checked us in. She was warm, genuine and had her full attention on us. I am leary of older hotels in older cities and expected a tired run down place. Not so! We loved the room, (King bed suite with whirlpool) and every thing every where was very clean. We met a couple who were staying prior to going on a cruise. They told us they always stay at this Hampton when they cruise because of the service. We experienced the same~ every employee we encountered was very friendly and accomodating. The management should be very proud of their staff! My only complaint: Christmas is over, so replace the arrangement in the front lobby! Lol!

Room Tip: King suite with whirlpool!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    171
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
175
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed a night as a place to crash after a concert at the Tampa Bay Times Forum. We thought it would be nice to enjoy Ybor City post-concert, rather than staying at the hotels at Channelside. If you are not familiar with Ybor City, it does make some uncomfortable with the appearance of a "bad neighborhood." I've been many times and never had a problem. There is a lot of interesting history here and great nightlife.

The Hampton is clean, staff very friendly, and the breakfast was rather good for a budget motel. Our room, a King suite, was quite large, with two huge windows overlooking the trolly station. The room had a mini-kitchen area, a microwave and refrigerator. The only issue we had, which was minor, was a full parking lot upon our late return from the concert. The hotel was full, and there just were not enough parking spaces. There is plenty of street parking in the area, so no worries - just don't leave valuables in the car. Parking fee for this hotel is $8 - more than reasonable for the area. If you are attending a concert or sports event at the Forum, you do need to drive - it's too far to walk. The nightlife of Ybor City is walking distance however.

Room Tip: Our room 306 had two oversized windows making it very bright and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Coming to FL for a cruise with 2,000 close friends (Buckeye Cruise for Cancer) my husband & I came to town 2 days early. We decided to stay close to the Port of Tampa and have never had time to experience YBor City. After researching, yes using Tripadvisor, we settled on the Hampton Inn & Suites/YBor City/Downtown. We we first saw it we were concerned, the location and key carded locked doors surprised us..After checking in, saw the room and headed up town all our concerned quickly vanished. The area has a feel I'm sure of what Cuba would if they had a tourism area we could visit. The shops, people and food was very inviting and fun. When we returned to the hotel, it was very clean, quite, nice workout room, clean pool area and "Miss KIm" at the breakfast area was a treat! We would stay there again any time...

Room Tip: Close to the elevators is the ice machine, otherwise it's a long walk, but it's excersize..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This will be the only hotel I'll consider for my next trip to Tampa's Ybor City. My check in was fast and friendly. My room was very clean and parking was plentiful. If you read my hotel review's, you'll see that I'm very picky, but fair. I chose this hotel because I planned on hitting the bars and wanted to be in the middle of everything without having to drive. I couldn't have picked a better hotel. In the afternoons I drove 35 minutes to Clearwater Beach. In the evenings I walked to great restaurants and then drank at friendly an fun bars. I didn't eat the breakfast at this this hotel because I was out too late. If I did go, breakfast would have been free. I enjoyed talking to the front desk staff. They were very helping with driving directions and recommendations about area attractions. Housekeeping was very thorough. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you plan on hitting the bars and want to be in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: I always request a high floor so I don't have to hear street noise. If you get a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Cove
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have never been to Tampa and were looking for a hotel close to the Times Forum so we could go to an NHL game. I picked the this Hampton Inn because of it's name and the location. The shuttle was perfect and the room, hotel, and service lived up to the usual, PERFECT. We/I enjoy Hampton Inns because they think of everything for the traveller. This site had ample parking, including a covered garage, clean spacious rooms, and a good breakfast for people on tight schedules. The next time we are in Tampa, this Hampton Inn will be our home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,N.Y. USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel was up to standards of other Hamptons, except for the hot food provided with breakfast(sausage,eggs,home fries) which were horrible,bordering on inedible. Definately not of the quality of the numerous other Hampton Inns in which I have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Every staff member I encountered during my 3 day stay were great. Very friendly and helpful. The hotel needs a refresh in the common areas and rooms. I had problems with the air-con in my room and was moved to a new room the next day. Super comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear AussieInDallas,

Thank you so much for the nice comments regarding our staff! I would like to personally follow up on your A/C issues. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I can get some further information.

We would forward to seeing you again in Ybor City!

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.