We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly worth pricey tab” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Miami
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Possibly worth pricey tab”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything was in order and our room was clean and tidy. We found the front desk staff constantly giving preference to those on the telephone versus the line standing in front of them. Shouldn't these calls be handled in the back when they know the hotel is completely booked? However, the staff was helpful and pleasant when not making you wait on line while they tended to telephone calls.

The climate control fan was so noisy we never heard the Amtrak, trolley, or everyone coming and going on the elevator next to our room. Maybe that was a blessing.

The location is great to explore Ybor City, but the trolley doesn't crank up until noon, so transportation to downtown is limited to afternoon and evenings on week days. We did not use the hotel the shuttle as it did not extend to the location we chose for dinner.

On top of a pricey room for a Hampton Inn, there is an extra $8 charge for parking. If the hotel parking is full there is a dirt lot out back.

One nice thing about the hotel is that the breakfast room is large and has seating to accommodate most guests. We did not eat there - only had coffee - but, the presentation of food looked good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear pucgal,

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ybor City. Please be assured that we will follow up on your comments regarding our process for answering phone calls. Although we are a very popular hotel in Ybor City we can certainly do a better job of taking care of the guests who are at the hotel rather than on the phone. We will discuss your experience as a team and make the needed improvements.

Please feel free to reach out ot us directly and we can investigate the fan noise you mentioned. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    172
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
103
175
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This location offers a wide variety of eating experiences yet is away from the downtown area. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to most anywhere downtown so it's easy to get there without the hassle of being there. The room was excellent and the breakfast was excellent too. I'm not a pool person but it didn't look inviting anyway, the only knock on the place. Located on the west end of Ybor City it's easy to walk to all the great restaurants.

Room Tip: Not close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

As someone mentioned, it was an awkward surprise to realize we needed the room key to operate the elevator. It was also odd to be reminded everywhere (from the doors on the elevators to the sticky notes on the headboard) that linens are washed prior to your arrival. I would certainly hope so? I found it weird. The shuttle service was convenient as I stayed there for a conference at the convention center. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The location is pretty awful though. It is right near the train tracks, but also didn't feel a very safe place to go at night. Would not stay here again based on location alone. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear djenah79,

Thank you so much for your review! As you noted, our guest room floors are restricted to guests and staff only, a policy that is common in many hotels today. And we are glad you noticed the "Fresh and Clean" signage around the hotel. This is Hampton's new marketing message to announce that ALL guest linen is replaced for each new guest. Hampton is proud to have had this policy in place for quite some time in light of recent news articles.

We were disappointed to learn of your comments about our location. Many guests find us conveniently located in the heart of Historic Ybor City as well as just down the road from the Port of Tampa cruise terminal and downtown Tampa. Although we encourage the same safety precautions for our guests as we would in any large city we are very happy to report that crime in Tampa is down significantly and that Ybor City crime is down even further. We hope we can have another opportunity to have you as our guest and give you some personal recommendations on all that Ybor City has to offer.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to the Tampa area.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very comfortable and large room, good complimentary breakfast. Only wished they had told us we need to insert room key in elevator to get to our floor. Should have told us that at check in. Otherwise great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Interesting layout for a Hampton hotel (previously a cigar factory). Rooms and breakfast were excellent. More expensive then I would expect to spend for this area. Staff were great. Kim who worked the breakfast when I was there was amazing and helpful. Layout of building was odd. I was on the 4th floor, the last room down the hall and had issues with internet connection (very slow loading). Didn't complain because I really didn't need it. But check your room when you go. If it's an issue I'd complain if you're there for work.

Parking was sketchy and tight, not many parking places at hotel. Narrow turns and limited spots. Plus you have to pay extra for it. Which was weird since the area around has tons of vacent lots!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent front desk service when we discovered one of us had left a wallet in our taxi upon arriving at the hotel. The company was immediately contacted by Hampton's front desk staff and the wallet was returned within 8 minutes. By a stroke of luck, I had noticed the driver's name and was able to provide it to the cab company. Thanks, Ebony! You rock! Excellent meal at the Tampa Bay Brewing Company a few blocks away, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It must be busy in Tampa. This Hampton Inn is ok but cost $200 for one night. My first room absolutely stunk but they quickly moved me to another room which was much better. Other than the stains all over the desk chair. Breakfast was disappointing with no fresh fruit to be found. Parking is tight and a bit of a rough neighborhood. And being Hilton honors silver level gets you absolutely nothing extra not even a bottled water.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Bigfishlaw,

Thank you for your feedback. We were very disappointed to learn of your experience and have followed up internally to ensure it is not repeated. Although our "in season" rates are in line with the Tampa Bay Area please be assured that our "out of season" rates are lower.

Additionally, the Hilton HHonors program does provide for some benefits for the Gold and Diamond members that are not available to others. The program has recently changed and we hope to have you as a Gold member soon. And of course our staff will provide water when asked regardless of a member's status.

I do hope we can accommodate you again as I am confident we can provide the Hamptonality that all Hamptons are known for.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#27 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.