We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great hotel with superior cleanliness and service to make a worry free trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
“This was a great hotel with superior cleanliness and service to make a worry free trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel anticipated our every need to make the trip simple. We arrived late at night after an exhausting 15 hour drive and the desk staff greeted us with smiles and gave us directions to local restaurants and attractions for the next day. When we arrived to our room it was spacious and clean. The hotel was conveniently located near a lively downtown area and also close to the port of our cruise. The next day the shuttle provided transportation to the port. Then when we returned, the driver arrived quickly to the port and helped with our luggage. Then he went above and beyond and dropped us off by our car rather than just at the hotel door.

I would stay at this hotel again and hope to make it a travel destination rather than a quick stop in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    171
    70
    19
    12
See reviews for
102
174
51
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta,Ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a recent conference in Tampa and could not believe how accomodating and personable the staff was. I haved stayed in several different areas of Tampa and find this to be the best! Hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants, pubs and live entertainment on every corner! Fun area. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We and our friends stayed here the night before our cruise. The hotel's front desk, breakfast, and rooms were all excellent. We had a nice, clean, very large suite on the 5th floor. It was very quiet until around 3 a.m. when a bunch of "rowdies" got to their rooms after hitting the bars in Ybor City on a Saturday night!! But that did not last long. (Maybe that's why the hotel provides ear plugs!!). I didn't notice the train noise.

The hotel provides shuttle service to the pier which was great. By the way, Tampa has the best pier facilities for cruisers.

We wanted a restaurant within walking distance, and the desk clerk suggested "The Laughing Cat." This was a fabulous Italian restaurant. Be sure to try it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotels closer to the Convention Center were booked and I was a little leery of staying in Ybor City as some of the reviews mentioned "bad elements". Nevertheless, it was the free shuttle that drew me in so I booked. We were so glad we stayed in Ybor City as the Hampton is right in the middle of things within walking distance of excellent restaurants, shops, and the van drivers were sooo accomodating and friendly. The breakfast, business center, van, proximity to great eateries, etc. We were all extremely pleased with the hotel and the service from all staff was very, very accomodating and friendly. Thank you for helping to make our first visit to Tampa a memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is great! It is in a prime location for all things Ybor! There is a street car station less than a minutes walk which is a plus. The streetcars run every 15 minutes until 2AM on the weekends. It's Perfect to be able to relax and hang out at the many bars and clubs and get home safely by streetcar or by foot. The hotel is located at the end of 7th Street which is where all the Ybor action is.

Check in was a little slower than I have expierenced, It seems to be always crowded and having one attendant present to help everyone. We walked in and out quite a bit through different times of the day.

The room was clean and comfortable. Be warned that there is a $7 + tax charge to park at the hotel. You are issued a car placard to put in your car and I then in the morning they slip the bill under your door that it was charged to the card. The check-in personnel did not mention this to us, but did ask if we drove a car in and wanted the vehicle information, the charge was CLEARLY marked on the sign & the placard. I'm one of the type of person who never assumes, and reads everything carefully - I know a lot of people aren't the same way and are surprised!

There was a pool and a nice outside area to relax in but it closed at 10. You need a room card to use the elevator or get anywhere besides the lobby, so its safer since the neighbor hood can be rough in some areas.

There is free hot breakfast which we did not take advantage of, and inside the room was a larger than a mini-fridge but smaller than a standard fridge, microwave, and coffee maker and free internet via plug, not wifi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed here in January to attend a conference... be careful when you are booking and make sure that you consider the fact that the hotel is located RIGHT NEXT to train tracks, and the trains run at all times during the day and night... my room was actually facing the tracks, so I could definitely hear them when they passed, but if you are on the other side of the hotel perhaps things might be a little different. The breakfast was excellent each morning with waffles, eggs, fruit, pastries, toast, and various fruit juices. And every once in a while we would come down stairs and there would be fresh cookies and milk in the lobby and eating area, which was awesome. The location was great in that it literally sits at the edge of all the action in Ybor City, so that makes for a really easy walk to any bar or restaurant that you might be considering going. The rooms were comfortable, but the furniture seemed a bit old and some stains could be seen on the carpet, walls, and chairs. All in all, I was satisfied despite the few issues.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

My daughter and I were taking a cruise on the Holland America Lines, which docks in Tampa. Coming from Boston, we didn't want to find ourselves on a late-arriving flight only to discover our ship had sailed away. Thus we looked for a hotel close to the cruise terminals where we could stay the night prior to our sailing.
All the really close (within walking distance) hotels were booked so I had to look further away. I found the Hampton Inn in Ybor (pronounced "ee-bore") City. I liked the fact that they offer quick shuttle service to the terminal.

From the minute we arrived, on Jan. 15, we were warmly welcomed by the man at the front desk. He gave us suggestions on where to have dinner (I can't remember!) where we had an excellent dinner in a lively place just down the street (7th Avenue). All I knew about Ybor City was its manufacturing of Cuban cigars. Wow, it sure has changed. On Saturday night the bars and restaurants were busy; the streets were filled with people, some in drag, out and about. It was quite a spectacle. Nonetheless, we never felt uneasy, two women alone, as we would back home on the Boston streets. Back to the hotel for a wonderful sleep on the feather pillow/mattresses. If we ever take another cruise from Tampa (and everyone says it's the place for departures), we'd again stay at The Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tap into Tampa's bountiful resources of culture, nature, and adventure that co-exist harmoniously in this Gulf Coast metropolis. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 138 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.