We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay to your Saves list
Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5108 Eisenhower Blvd., Tampa, FL 33634 (Formerly Mainsail Suites Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Was there for a small trade show but this would be a great location for a High School Reunion, Family Reunion, Wedding Reception or similar event.
We were told this property was originally going to be an upscale apt complex but when owners had to sell the new owners converted into this conference center.
The main complex is where the registration desk, small gift shop, work out room, bar and restaurant are all located. The Pool is also adjacent to this building with a hot tub (outside). The food was very good, breakfast lunch and dinner all three days we were there.
We stayed in one of the one bedroom Queen suites/apts. All units have full kicthens. I only wish that some of the suites had king size beds. In each set of units there are rooms that can be set up like receptions rooms. We used on like this for our Vendor breakroom.
The Conference center had plenty of small meeting rooms down one hall as well as larger ball rooms that could be used individually or together. There is kitchen facilities at the center to be used to cater events separate from the main kitchen that serves the hotels restaurant. We stayed in the building right next to the outdoor pool and although we heard some noise occationaly from there later at night, for the most part we were not distrurbed by any outside noise including the air traffic from the Tampa International Airport located right acoss the Veterns Prkwy from this location.
Also easy to find right at the intersection of Hillsbourgh and Veterns Prkwy that runs parelle to Eisenhower Blvd.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    35
    41
    30
See reviews for
93
44
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after our cruise because of our flight times. It was very outdated, and the worst was there are NO ELEVATORS! We had to haul up our 5 bags plus carry-ons to the 3rd floor. We are used to staying in resorts in Orlando so this was a little bit of a disappointment. Also it is dirty! The carpets turned our feet black, keep your shoes on. Our confirmation stated we were checking in 6 guests yet we only had 4 bath towels and NO blankets (beds just have sheet and the old bedspread). We called and waited 5 hours - no towels. God bless the poor security guard who had to bring them to us at 11pm in the hot humid weather up to the 3rd floor. TV's are from 1980's and remotes didn't have batteries. It was advertised as a 2 bedroom suite with 2 double beds in each room. This was great except the 2nd bed in each room is shoved in front of the closet. Our unit was in dire need of a good paint job and some minor repairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel from 7/14-7/17 before we left on a cruise. We wanted a place where we could relax and enjoy a few days before the cruise. We were sold on the place because of the free shuttle within 5 miles and the park and cruise package for the ones of our party that drove. The hotel looks as if it was an apartment complex at one point. There are 10 buildings with 15-18 apartments in each. There are actually folks that live at this hotel. There was a lady across from us that was constantly telling everyone to be quiet because her husband was sleeping because he worked at night. The shuttle was sometimes hard to contact and use. There was only one for the entire hotel. There was nothing within walking distance of this place. We ended up using the shuttle to go to the hotel and renting a car so we could go to the store or to eat on our schedule, not the shuttles. The room was okay. It felt like a mediocre 2 bedroom apartment. You could also hear noise from nearby rooms. We did get free breakfast for 2 of our 3 mornings and a ride to the cruise for the other. The breakfast was good, with a buffet and omlette station. The pool area was nice during the day, but at night some of the "locals" came to the pool and it was much less family friendly. The pictures on the website are a bit deceiving. Most of the pictures are of the conference center and not the hotel. If I cruise from Tampa again I would not stay here, mostly because there are much better options that are a lot closer to the port..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This suite cost only 110.00 after taxes! it boasted two nice size bedrooms each with one queen bed and its own bathroom, a spacious living room and dining room, as well as a kitchen with all appliances. It is very close to Busch Gardens. The rooms were very clean and tge front dest staff was helpful and friendly. I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Special thanks to Gio, the best shuttle driver, very helpful and kind who helped us during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here with a group in early July. This hotel is basically a garden style walk-up 3-story apartment complex that has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are large, furniture is decent (I dont like that they had bedspreads instead of duvets). There is a small restaurant/bar in the lobby and a pool next door, although it is a little trek to get there (again, picture sprawling apartment complex). The location of the hotel is strange, I guarantee there is a good chance that you are going to miss the entrance. It is tucked into an office park next door. The staff seemed surprisingly pleasant. If you are traveling for an extended period of time or have a large family and need some space to spread out, this is a good place to book. However, if you are traveling solo or don't need all the space I would recommend staying elsewhere for better location and amenities for the same price.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were traveling here for medical reasons. I was already depressed and in pain. However, when we arrived at the MainSail, not only were we impressed with the beautiful grounds and atmosphere, but we were also greeted with smiles, warmth and professionalism. The superior level of customer service that your company and employees exudes is not easily found in today's business settings.

The food was excellent and the rooms were beautiful, spacious, and impeccably clean. Even with all of these great comforts, I have to say the shuttle drivers were amazing. Gio and Harry were great. But, Raymond was outstanding. I was sick and down most of the time but he always said something funny to make me smile. He is a caring and thoughtful person. Jewels like these are hard to find. I will come to Tampa again and my family and I will stay at the MainSail. It's like home away from home. Thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience.

With much appreciation and sincerity,

Ms. Kristie Jones

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainsail_Hotels, Marketing Manager at Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments. It is beneficial to the team to hear about the hospitality and services appreciated at Mainsail and uplifting to read such heart-felt words as yours.

Your message will be shared with Gio, Harry, Raymond and the rest of the team. Thanks again for your feedback - we'll be here for you when you plan your return visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay

Address: 5108 Eisenhower Blvd., Tampa, FL 33634 (Formerly Mainsail Suites Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainsail Suites Hotel And Conference Center
Mainsail Suites Hotel Tampa
Mainsail Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.