We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food & Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tia's Tex-mex Grill - CLOSED

Tia's Tex-mex Grill
2815 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612
(813) 977-5025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second visit to this place over a two year period and I really like the environment and the food. Their adult beverages are great!

good food and service, you'll enjoy it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant has a cute outdoor patio and looked promising from the outside. We were seated promptly and had a very friendly, efficient server. Our table was a bit rickety and rocked back and forth.

Complimentary chips and salsa were served, but The chips were not served warm (like we get at most Mexican or Tex Mex places we frequent) and salsa was just OK. Both my husband and I ordered the chimichanga with rice and beans - I had refried and he had black beans. Unfortunately, everything was rather bland and the consistency was that of food that had been prepared in advance and reheated. The rice was crunchy and my refried beans had a "crust" on them.

We were in a hurry and didn't complain, so I can't fault the server in any way. However, it's doubtful we'd return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Definitely wont be back!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Menu was short as compared to other Mexican style restaurants. Food was bland with a hint of sweetness?? Not sure why that was but there was no spice or tex mex flavor for sure! The fries on the kids menu was about the only thing worth finishing. Overpriced for the portions. Ordered fajitas and there wasn't much meat and hardly any peppers- lots of over or undercooked onions :(-. Will not return!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“De.Lish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Found this place while visiting Tampa with my dad, and we enjoy it enough to go back every time we're in town. Great sweet tea, fantastic chips and salsa, wonderful service, and decent prices - this is still one of my favorite restaurants. I wish there were more (or at least one near me, ha)!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food--Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stopped here after getting off the plane and heading to our hotel. The food was amazing and the staff was awesome. From the outside, you might think otherwise, but once you get inside, you will return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia's Tex-mex Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia's Tex-mex Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.