We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers EVER!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakley's Grille

Oakley's Grille
17631 Bruce B Downs Blvd., Tampa, FL 33647
(813) 523-5075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 1,996 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gulfport, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Burgers EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I lucked into finding this cute, clean little spot in a strip mall during one of our trips. We couldn't believe our good fortune! The burgers were freshly cooked to order by the staff - and the best he's ever had, according to my husband. That's saying a lot, since he considers himself a burger connoisseur. The caramelized onions, in large quantity as requested, made the burger outstanding. We think these burgers outstrip even 5 Guys in size and flavor. The friendliness and great service of the owner are also a huge plus. Be sure to stop by, or even make a trip here just to sample the excellent food. We will be eating here every time we're in the area - guaranteed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Where have you been all of my life !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Man Im so mad that this diner has escaped my culinary radar screen for this long! I have missed out on some really great food and meeting a really great staff. Had the burger this past Saturday along my wife and we had an order of fresh cut piping hot fries in an overfilled basket. All of it delicious! Met the owner Keith, a real genuinely nice guy. He spent a lot of the time making sure we were comfortable, well taken care of, and knew his philosophy and what Oakleys offered its customers. The Burger was simply amazing, hot juicy, stuffed with toppings and flavor. Fries were excellent and perfectly salted. I wasnt overly excited with the drinks offered, never a big fan of what I call "fake" tea, (Peak, Lipton, etc.) I love homemade southern sweet tea and at the level of food being presented here agt Oakleys it deserves better.

So the food and experience was so good on Saturday I had to return with my wife and other family members and I had to try the Ribeye Philly Cheesesteak. It is easily the best cheesesteak I have ever experienced. We met the owners son Ryan, and Keith you can be very proud as he matched your level of service and communication with my family and other customers today.

We are now going to be loyal frequent return customers and you are really missing the boat if you don't give Oakleys Grille a try. This is a platinum operation and taste for sure.

Thank you Oakleys grille.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great family owned diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I tried Oakleys for the first time last week and were pleasantly surprised. We both had the burgers and they were amazing! Oakleys will cook your patty any way you like from still mooing to very very dead. The flavor is exceptional and the buns are fresh and delicious. Keith Oakley made our first visit wonderful. He was welcoming and ever so patient as we looked over the menu. We give Oakleys five forks! Give them a try. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Pride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Keith and his son Ryan Oakley have a reason to be proud... The food they serve at their establishment is of the highest quality... My Chicken Tacos (Hormone Free) was over flowing with corn and black bean salsa, feta cheese, avocado, cilantro and tomatoes, all for $7.49 My wife very much enjoyed her blackened Tilapia on fresh Cuban bread with lettace, vine ripe tomatoes and Chef Jayms homemade bourbon tarter sauce for an unbelievable price under $8... As though this wasn't enough the wonderful sweet potato fries coated with cinnamon with honey on the side for dipping was over the top... The owner Keith not only introduced himself to us when we arrived he came over to our table twice to make certain everything was okay... This is a hopping place that will be here for years...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great local eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I visited Oakley's Grille for the first time about a year ago. The greeting when you first enter couldn't be more welcoming. The owner has been there every time we have visited and is very pleasant. Not only does he introduce himself and make it a point to remember you but he also makes sure you have the best experience possible. The food is delicious. I would highly recommend this place and my wife and I will continue to go back to support a local grille with great food and even better people!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakley's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Oakley's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakley's Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.