We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like a Swamp Shack, Smells Worse, Terrible Parking, & Wait Staff ignores you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Mad Dogs & Englishmen
4115 S Macdill Ave, Tampa, FL 33611-1936
813-832-3037
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: English, Irish, Continental, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Land O Lakes, FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Looks like a Swamp Shack, Smells Worse, Terrible Parking, & Wait Staff ignores you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had heard good things about this place, got a coupon and decided to try it.

The best thing we can say is we only wasted the price of the coupon to find out that this place is a total dive. It is possibly the worst looking place in Tampa. It looks like a rundown shack in the middle of a swamp. And it smells worse.

The parking is a complete nightmare. If you go here you must hate your car. There are 3 spots in front and then a narrow alley alongside of the dive. If you venture into the alley you find a sign saying to park across the street. It might be nice if this sign was someplace where you could see it before trying to navigate the alley and tiny lot behind the dive.

So we then attempted to get a seat. You are supposed to wait to be seated. We waited 5 minutes and watched two servers wonder around the porch aimlessly without bothering to acknowledge we were even there. Once was carrying around condiments and appeared lost.

At that point we decided it was best to just leave.

If it looks that bad, parking is that bad, smells that bad and service is that bad we didn’t see a reason to stay.

I would rate it lower except it is possible if you actually get seated and don’t mind the smell the food might be ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“old place rediscovered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last minute decision to stop and eat at Mad dogs with the family. Had not been there in several years the good was terrific. My son and I split the Shepherds Pie, my husband had the shrimp and they both were wonderful. My daughter had the sweet potato fries and they were the best I have tried and I don't typically like sweet potato fries. I couldn't stop eating them. The service was a little slow, but since the food was fabulous we didn't mind the long wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“MadAs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived in the area (just bought a house in Vina del Mar) popped-in upon recommendation, and, allied with Hugo's delightful banter, enjoyed the best Fish&Chips I've had in the Country !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food is great, plenty of wine and beer choices, Hugo the bartender is funny and very well informed about movies, Nate, our waiter, was on his a game and made sure we were taken care of. The place is small, make sure to get reservations. Peking is a bit of a bother, but across the street, they have an agreement with Majestic Title to use the lot. We will come back over and over again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love, but needs more Vegetarian Foods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Love this place and the ambience. It is actually right around the corner from us, and we would love to eat there more, but I am always having the toughest time to find something to eat here as a Vegetarian. Would love a Vegetarian Option on their menu. Otherwise it rocks - have done drinks here for date nights often!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Dogs & Englishmen also viewed

 

Been to Mad Dogs & Englishmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Dogs & Englishmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.