We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Mad Dogs & Englishmen
4115 S Macdill Ave, Tampa, FL 33611-1936
813-832-3037
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 1,878 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Irish, British, English, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When you enter you take a step back into England. Antiques abound and in the informal pub style you relax immediately. Outdoor seating is wonderful in the cooler months. The fish and chips are superb. Between 3 and 5 there is a limited menu only.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic accents & shepherd's pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

One of our favorite places in Tampa, Mad Dogs offers an English Pub atmosphere, complete with British accents and bitter ales. The food is eclectic and delicious, includes steak in various manifestations, fresh seafood, and good old stand-bys, like shepherd's pie and even pizza. Sitting outdoors is best there. Umbrellas cover most of the tables to block excessive sun, and there are radiant heaters for the cooler nights in fall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love this spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Love the atmosphere! It is really like an old English pub. Great beer selection. Food was awesome. And such a nice variety.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming, low key and dog-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We combined a Sunday lunch to Mad Dogs with with a visit to Davis Beach Dog Park accompanied our English Staffordshire Terrier and our Boston. We arrived just before noon and were seated at a prime table on the porch under an umbrella with gentle breezes from a fan. The neighborhood is lightly commercial--spa next door, assisted living nearby, other small businesses. The property is surrounded by foliage, shading it from the street, with sufficient parking offstreet. Bar is beer and wine only, but there are plenty of draft and craft-brew beers and an un-cliched list of wines by the glass. Brunch was still available, but I had a rare, thinly sliced steak sandwich with caramelized onions and a Stilton fondue and my husband had a curried chicken wrap--both excellent. Wait staff was prompt and cheerful. I gather it's a lively evening destination.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very great place in South Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I eat here at least 3 times a month. Heads up - on Friday and Weekend Dinner - you must have a reservation after around 6pm or you won't be seated. Great all around "small" place to eat and drink and relax. Plenty of outdoor seating with fans and covers. Very nice inside - it's kept cool, but not overly cold. Hands down the best Fish and Chips available in the Tampa Bay area. Ice cold New Castle ale on tap along with many other selections. Surprisingly the Hummus Wrap is my wife's favorite. Very friendly wait staff and the owner is a super English gentleman. Parking can be a pain around weekday lunch hours - but that is common for South Tampa as its close to MacDill Airforce Base. I can't recommend this place enough for any place south of Kennedy Blvd.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Dogs & Englishmen also viewed

 

Been to Mad Dogs & Englishmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Dogs & Englishmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.