We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer Selection is Limited” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Mad Dogs & Englishmen
4115 S Macdill Ave, Tampa, FL 33611-1936
813-832-3037
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: English, Irish, Continental, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beer Selection is Limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I did not eat there but stopped for a beer while my wife got a pedicure next door. I was hoping for a broad selection of beer. Guinness, Newcastle ,Bass and and Boddingtons were on tap along with some other domestic beer. I was hoping for a wide selection of imported beers. Was disappointed in the selection. I guess I am now a beer snob. Go elsewhere in Tampa if you are looking for a selection of micro brews (Datz is just up the road) and imports.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The menu here changes every few months and the chef likes to put some Indian dishes in the mix. You can always get a burger and the salads are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A real British pub - not one trying to be a British pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Being a transplanted Brit, I get really annoyed by "British" pubs that are staffed by people in kilts/tartan miniskirts who aren't from Britain, and the interior doesn't look anything like a normal pub in the UK.

Mad Dogs and Englishmen doesn't try any of that. It has a lovely patio area for drinking and eating, as well as seating inside. Good selection of beer and wine, and British pub food that is well prepared. Another reviewer mentioned that it is "nothing special", which I would disagree with. This genuine atmosphere is hard to find: sitting outside at a sub-tropical bar that does what it does well. 5 stars!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Fries EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

So I ordered fish & chips. The proper thing to do at a pub right? YES! The fries were the best I have ever eaten! My friend (the Tampa local) said that they fry them twice to get them so perfect! Crisp on the outside I mean that perfect crunch and then so creamy and smooth on the inside! The fish was good too but the fries stole the show! We sat on the porch and enjoyed the shade... the humidity was low so it was very comfortable out there! Overall a great pub!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Waiter was knowledgeable and courteous. Service was quick and complete.
The menu had many different items. Price was reasonable. And the food was
delicious, fresh and different. The salmon was tender and moist. And the salads
were crisp and fresh. Well worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Dogs & Englishmen also viewed

 

Been to Mad Dogs & Englishmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Dogs & Englishmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.